We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Malta”

Salvino's by La Pecora Nera
Ranked #21 of 242 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The recently refurbished restaurant is situated in the heart of Valletta under the new parliament plaza. Today, under the leadership of Chef Steve Mamo they lead their dynamic team in providing dishes with a modern and classical touch with all flavours staying true to themselves. Salvino's offers an extensive list of Italian wine, featuring rare vintages and other sought after selections which complement Steve's carefully crafted dishes, in addition to an outstanding dessert menu.
Mosta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in Malta”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Cosy and right in the heart of Valletta, the food was both excellently presented and also tasted great. Was definitely one of the best culinary experiences I ever had in Malta. Go for the steak!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antspiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    49
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, the old one.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great local cooking”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Prior to coming to Malta, we had some inside knowledge of where to go to eat. This was the first recommendation and we were not disappointed.

It is small – so book in the summer – but that compactness makes it all the more lovely and even mid week, mid winter, it was full. That really tells you everything you need to know.

The food is local and excellent. The wines include local and are also very good.

Great atmosphere in its setting beneath the square. Good service. Very good all round.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shower_Says_It_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We loved the food here! It truly was one of our favourite restaurant experiences! My husband ate the mussels and I had the pork belly to start with. Then we had beef and duck for main it was all to die for. Dessert was a little boring and not so impressive, but all in all we would love to return here for another meal. Service was also really friendly and nice. It is a bit pricy for Maltese standards but soooo worth it!! Cosy intimate place, perfect for a romantic dinner!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiFo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Visted Salvino’s a number of times - On all occasions we left happy.

All of the dishes are cooked well and properly seasoned.

Staff very helpful without being intrusive.

Will definitely visit again and recommend to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_S87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were the first time in Malta , we have decided to select this restaurant for pure case, and were very surpriced because meal was very special .

Another surprise is that were prepared by young people but with careless like older and deeper knowledge
Plates prepared by great hands...thanks
We will be back early.
Maurizio and Cinzia

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cinzia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvino's by La Pecora Nera also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Salvino's by La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing