We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love it....”
Review of D'office

D'office
Ranked #96 of 324 Restaurants in Valletta
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are so proud of D' Office. We set ourselves a very high standard in food, wines, hospitality and atmosphere. Quite simply, d' Office is where you can go to dine, wine, relax and we are committed to giving great value for the experience. We are small and personal attention and service matters. We look forward to greeting you welcoming you to D Office.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been meaning to come here for a long time and my birthday seemed a great chance. Outdoor seating and able to book. Good menu variety.
Now the food was delicious. Great Maltese /Italian fusion. Delicious fried goats cheese, rabbit ravioli and my friends enjoyed the various seafood pasta.
Then there was the service. Oh dear..... We arrived and they we adding an extra table as we had called earlier to increase from 6 to 8. This was accommodating of them but that was the last proactive point of the evening.
Menu's were left on the tables and we assumed it was ready so we sat. And we sat. And we sat. Eventually the lost young waiter came to take orders. After a long painful time he took all the food orders and we had to stop him leaving as he had not even considered drinks and we had been there maybe half an hour at this point.
Food came and there was great confusion as my friend asked for a starter as a main but instead got 2 starters. Then the goats cheese was so good we asked for another and this was where it really went wrong.
My friend kept her 2nd starter to the side to have when we got mains and this confused them despite me explaining twice to clear away starters and send mains.
Eventually I went inside and asked why it was taking so long to be told you ordered an extra starter so now you have to wait more for mains. Baffled....
By the time we are mains we were so tired we didn't want dessert. Not that we were offered and chased down the bill.
Such a shame to have great food ruined by bad service.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Milehighchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was friendly and the setting pretty though very busy in the evening. However the food we ordered (2 mains) was not very good. The swordfish was overcooked and dry and the salad past its best - fries were good however. The tagliatelle with rabbit was bland, what taste the sauce had resembled a prepackaged spice mix. It seemed like a restaurant with a good location, a typical menu for the area but not respectful of its limits. Seems poorly managed - though a money-maker for the owners.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank FrancescoSaverio84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good place for dinner with outdoor table in a quiet street. Foods are not outstanding but of good quality. Service is fine but could be more friendly. Price are reasonable.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Xrayline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for lunch last week whilst on a day trip to Valletta. Great location and just starting to get busy when we arrived. We chose to sit in the lovely side alley. Waiter arrived quickly and we ordered water whilst looking at the menu. Five minutes later the water came back and took the starter and main orders as well as advising on wine which we accepted. All the food was lovely, wine very nice, service spot on and prices about right. Would definitely come back here.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDamBuilders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here during a recent trip to Valletta, and really enjoyed the local cuisine and the lovely relaxed atmosphere which we experienced sat in the street (aided by a violin playing busker!). The menu is good, with a mix of local dishes, and some Mediterranean staples - we enjoyed Balbuljata and Bruschetta starters and pasta main courses. The portions were...considerable and the quality good. The only small let downs were a small selection of desserts which looked less than appetising after such a high quality meal.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helvellyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'office also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to D'office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing