We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Visiting the war rooms

After living for a year and a half in Malta, the War rooms were one of the things we had not seen... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sally J
,
Coin, Spain
via mobile
Ask for the guided tours and make part of history of WWII!

Loved the experience! For the ones interested in the history of WWII, the amount of... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
JoanaVMendes
,
Porto, Portugal
Read all 3,926 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Island of Malta
from $30.71
More Info
from $18.43
More Info
from $18.43
More Info
from $18.43
More Info
Reviews (3,926)
Filter reviews
3,926 results
Traveler rating
3,082
626
155
43
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,082
626
155
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour well worth a visit knew his stuff enthusiastic guide his knowledge fascinating place come alive fascinating insight excellent tour history buff saluting battery interesting visit george cross upper barrakka gardens invasion role tony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
923 - 928 of 3,926 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

We visited today and I have to say it was the highlight of our holiday! Our guide Steve Church was fantastic - very knowledgeable and really brought the whole experience to life. Would totally recommend waiting for the tour (which is free with the entry fee) as there is very little information on display to explain what you’re looking at (there is an audio guide but my guess is it won’t be anywhere near as good as hearing it from Steve!) Steve explained it all in such brilliant detail during the tour, and there was plenty of time afterwards for re-visiting the various areas we passed through to browse at leisure and take photos etc. The audio visual film about the Malta raids and its subsequent award of the George Cross medal for its wartime efforts is well worth a view. The attraction is not government funded so relies totally on visitors to keep its work going, but even so the entry price of €12 per adult is very reasonable and well worth it in my opinion. There is a very good value multi site ticket for the Lascaris War Rooms, the Saluting Battery, Malta at War museum and Fort Rinella for €25 per adult which if we’d had more time available we would definitely recommend as it’s so cost effective. All in all, an excellent couple of hours spent today which was enjoyed by the whole family (including two not-easily-impressed teens) and a nice cool respite from the heat and blazing sun. Would have loved to do the extra war tunnel tour for €15 per adult but sadly ran out of time - ah well, maybe next time as will definitely return, especially as they are still adding to the attraction by creating an extra museum of war time artefacts which aims to be completed later in the year.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank RCooper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Lots of history about Malta’s role in WW2, rooms were well restored and there is an ongoing project to extend this. Our guide, Craig, was particularly knowledgable and gave a lively tour. Tea room and gift shop on site, we would have tried but were a little too late.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Vee5ft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Even if you don't catch the guided tour and only get the audio guides, it's a great experience. Take your time in each room and bring a flashgun.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank zalanmeggyesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Both my husband I really enjoyed our visit. It is not rushed and very informative. A bit on the expensive side but all for a good cause i.e. renovating more of the war rooms.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Holly2854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Excellent guide, very informative. Worth a visit. The NGO, Wirt Artna foundation,
has done an excellent job.
Many stairs and comfortable shoes needed.
Anthony Charles

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank acharles2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews