We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the entrance fee - definately visit”
Review of Lascaris War Rooms

Lascaris War Rooms
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lascaris War Rooms consist of an underground complex of tunnels and chambers that housed the War Headquarters from where the defence of Malta was conducted during the Second World War.This secret complex contained operations rooms for each of the fighting services from where not only the air defence of Malta was coordinated, but also some of the greatest battles fought in the Mediterrean during the war. In July 1943, the Lascaris War Rooms served as the advance headquarters for the Invasion of Sicily (Operation Husky)by Generals Eisenhower, Montgomery, Alexander and Clark and Air Marshal Tedder and Admiral Cunningham. It went on being used under different forms by both the British services and Nato up to 1977.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a fascinating place to visit and one that I will return to in the future as they open and restore more sections.

Having followed the various tunnels to get to the entrance I was greeted by the tour guide and taken on a private 1 on 1 tour as I was the only one there at that moment, which was a nice change as I feel other places don't think it's worthwhile unless they have a few to take, meaning you have to wait around.

First I was left to watch a Pathe newsreel describing the war at the time and Malta's response to it, which was very interesting. The tour guide then took me through the various rooms, describing in detail what happened in each and how it helped the war effort.

A fascinating place, hosted by a very knowledgable tour guide.

1  Thank Perch_Original
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you Perch_Original for your vote and review.
We are trying to provide the most personal experience as posible to our tourists, also we believe that for showing you a historical place, you have to be involved on it. That's the reason we have tours with experimented and knowledged guides, giving you a good tour and not only showing you the stuff we have, also telling you about the history of the place, and even in some of our places with re-enactments everyday, like in Fort Rinella or Saluting Battery and personal tours at Lascaris and Malta at War Museum.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 383 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 204 reviews
"follow the signs"
in 30 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 35 reviews
"enthusiastic guide"
in 25 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 48 reviews
"come alive"
in 33 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 44 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 28 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 36 reviews
"saluting battery"
in 111 reviews
"short film"
in 26 reviews
"history buff"
in 25 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 26 reviews
"george cross"
in 39 reviews
"upper barrakka gardens"
in 42 reviews
"tony"
in 177 reviews
Filter

2,445 - 2,449 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Definitely worth a visit. It isa great history lesson on WW II history. The restoration is very well done and very much in keeping with the period.

1  Thank NickCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of the FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you NickCayman.
We are trying to do our best in every site we have in trust.
Please, feel free to check about our news on our websites and Social Network pages, including Twitter with some offers for our visitors.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of the FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Under Upper Barrakka Gardens, you can see all the original maps and the way they won the war with clever systems to stop the Germans. Was nail biting hearing the ecellent guide explain how the Maltese withstood the bombing. What a find only opened in 2011. Great 1 hour guided tour and unseen Pathe footage

1  Thank AmeliaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you AmeliaBoo for your vote and comment
Also, if you'd enjoyed it, search for our other sites in Malta, in our website, also, you can join us going trough the links, on the Social Netwoks pages we have.

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Another must see. Visit in the morning then walk along to the lower Barracca gardens to see the 1200 chiming of the bell. Then to the Malta experience and hospital.The cafe here is good. Also the war museum and Fort St Elmo

1  Thank WFDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you WFDScotland
Another good idea is going to Lascaris, then at midday to the Upper Barrakka Gardens for the Noon Day Gun Salute as you mentioned from the Saluting Battery, and really soon open to the public with a tour, and then go with the lift to the Waterfront, catch the Water Taxi and in less than 10 minutes be at Birgu for enjying the Malta at War Museum, with a lot of stuff of the IIWW and visiting the bomb-shelter, and at 2pm be at Fort Rinella with the bus number 3, taking only 10 minutes, and enjoy the full animated tour with the Largest Muzzle-loaded gun in History and a lot of re-enactments.
For more information visit our website

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Followed the signs and after thinking got lost eventually found amongst all the building work on Valletta gate.

Got there as it opened ( my advice) so got 1 to 1 tour.

The Sicily invasion wall and the way they handled keeping malta air-covered are wonderfully told by the guides with a real pride.

Makes you want to go away and find out so more about what happened in Malta 70 years ago.

A must for anyone with the faintest interest in history

1  Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yulius888, Custodian and guide of FWA at Lascaris War Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you TigerTimUK
If you want to know more about Malta and its History, you can also visit our website, or visit our other sites if you come again to Malta

Xulio Vazquez
Custodian and guide of FWA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lascaris War Rooms also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Kalkara, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lascaris War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing