We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guze

Guze
Ranked #8 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: g u z é in the capital Valletta combines the perfect balance between a modern, chic environment that is yet also classic and quiet. You will be dining in a 400-year-old historical building built by the Knights of St John.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've never written a review before but feel moved to after a fantastic lunch today. Starter of antipasto was excellent, especially the Sicilian hard cheese and the rabbit parfait. Far too much for the pair of us to finish but the waitress was more than happy to let us take the rest away with us. Service was attentive, friendly and well informed. One of the best meals we've had. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,201
    280
    70
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avignon, France
2 reviews
“Worthy of a second visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had read good reviews of this restaurant and decided to try it out. The attentive staff were delightful, and the food was wonderful - so much so that we paid them a second visit. We were warmly welcomed and treated with special care.
It is well worth seeking out this secluded gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a fantastic meal! Very special and personal service. Amazing food. Superb atmosphere. This is an awesome place to dine. Go. I guarantee you'll love it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeAYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was a gem - lovely historic cellar with centuries of atmosphere, with a knowledgeable and very friendly owner and service staff, and excellent food. We started with wonderful Malta bread and various dips. The starter of a cheese/cold cuts plate was varied, and far too large for 2 of us. The entrees were superb- my rabbit and my husband's steak were both perfect. Sadly, no room for dessert - but we'll be back to Guze if we someday return to Valletta.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were recommended Guze by Ta Peppina as a great place to eat fish. What a find! The food was delicious. We shared mussels and clams as a starter. My only sadness was that i couldn't finish the delicious sauce/stock. Afterwards we had the fish - brown meager- beautifully cooked, followed by a truly wicked chocolate fondant pudding. There were also delicious pots of pesto and oil to go with the bread and a taster amusee bouche.
The chef/joint owner worked at the five star hotel where we had our wedding breakfast. The taste and attention to detail shine through. I recommend Guze for the quality of the food, atmosphere (a beautiful building) and the great service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsAnn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guze also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Guze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing