We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmm good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron's Kitchen

Aaron's Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
sliema, malta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mmmmm good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I had been before so when a friend suggested it i immediately said yes. Everything we ate was very well prepared and tasted as good as it looked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pike7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    182
    44
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Maltese food with a good chef's hand in Valetta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found Aaron's when exploring Valetta's streets. We gave it a try and were so impressed that we booked again - twice in one week is an accolade from us. The staff are attentive and knowledgeable, particularly about the wine list, which is also excellent. The menu is varied and a mix of traditional with daily specials, so good that it's hard to choose. On our first visit we ate pasta, especially good for me as they serve gluten free options. Both our choices were delicious - mine with seafood, my husband's with meats. We shared our starters, a traditional 'widow' soup on our first visit and a fish soup on Saturday. Main courses of steak (for F) and an amazing baked fish (for me) served with prawns and fennel. Desserts to die for ended both meals - we had to save some space, as they are really special. A great atmosphere with friendly staff and popular too with locals. Well done Aaron and Happy First Year this week! We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynntmossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A DEFINITE yes YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Definitely one of the best eating experiences in the Capital.

I was there for the "Science days" a cultural set of events with a scientific theme. Valletta was unusually busy. And the new trend of eating outside in the narrow alleys is really giving an attractive look to the once dormant city.

I have been invited to this place by a friend, who said "I heard this place is good". I must confess it was the first time I had heard of it.

The place is normal, decor is not fancy nor distracting, simple, with few paintings hanging on the wall. The staff is very efficient and above all non invasive. We got the usual Maltese appetizer of spicy olives, and broad beans pathè.
Me and my friend ordered a duck salad with oranges and mixed green leaves, to be shared amongst us, it was enough for both of us and above all good. Meat cooked to perfection and the salad just fine.

I ordered tagliatelle with a langoustine, the cooking was done to perfection and the langoustine was fresh I really enjoyed it. Though I must confess that the cream in the sauce proved a bit too heavy. Nonetheless was good.

My friend got two fillets of fish cooked in slices of potatoes, yes good look and taste, not to mention the side potatoes and a caponata of red peppers and capers. The potatoes might have been too much.

The overall price resulted quiet cheap for a meal of that size.

PS. I must confess that the pasta was too much and I took it home. The next day I fried it with some oil until it was golden crispy an incredible crackling sensation that enhanced the flavour (Aaron please take note)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QDL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunchtime experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came upon this little restaurant by chance on a walk round Valletta and really enjoyed our light lunch there.
The waitress was charming and most attentive, the ambience simple and straightforward and the food good. One of our party enjoyed the fish soup and my friend and I enjoyed our pasta dishes with blue cheese and pears accompanied by a nice fresh salad. The fig ice cream was much enjoyed as well.
My only little criticism would be that the toilet is down a very narrow spiral staircase which would be tricky for the less physically abled and could do with some refurbishment to bring it up to the good standard of the rest of the establishment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyQdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lija, Malta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is a real joy to go to restaurants filled with foreigners who praise the food and the local wines. Aaron's Kitchen is one of the many excellent restaurants in Valletta. We went a couple of weeks ago. They just refurbished the place and it is looking fresh and pleasing. I had Calamari ai Ferri which was very good, tender and well seasoned and my husband had Carpaccio di Manzo pepato. For mains we had Ravioli Toscana filled with four types of cheeses, recommend it to any pasta and chees lovers and Gamberoni Maltesi. We finished off sharing a special of three mini desserts. Presentation throughout was impeccable, well done to the Kitchen Team and Chef Aaron. Also thanks to the lovely lady managing in the restaurant. Excellent service manners and she did the Maltese proud explaining the Maltese wines to a foreign couple who ended up ordering a full bottle white and a full bottle red. Thumbs up keep it up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aaron's Kitchen also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Aaron's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing