We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further ...”
Review of Castille Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castille Suites
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Look no further ...”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

... if you want self-catering accommodation in Valetta. This was our first visit to Malta; we stayed in apartment 4 and found everything to be just as presented on the web-site. It was excellently situated for partial harbour views and the Upper Barrakka Gardens plus easy and fast access to all local amenities (including the bus station) and sites of interest. This part-serviced (no washing-up or tidying / cleaning of personal possessions) apartment was a perfect blend of ancient and modern, with a great shower room (including body wash, loo rolls, floor-level night lights and frequent towel changes), comfortable beds (linen changed weekly) - a part-screened double on the main floor with two singles on a mezzanine (up a spiral staircase) but be aware that access to the shower room is via the main bedroom area. Good basic kitchenette facilities : a two-ring hob (plenty of cook pans provided) but no oven / grill or microwave (not an issue as eating out is reasonably priced or, with the availability of fresh local produce, home-dining is easy and enjoyable for a change). Everything was very clean and comfortable and the daily servicing kept it that way. Franck, the owner, met us on arrival (he had arranged free transfer from the airport and also organized a taxi for our return journey) and spent some time telling us what to find and where, both in the apartment and in the immediate area, e.g. food shops, restaurants, travel facilities etc; he could not have been more welcoming or helpful and could be contacted by `phone or e-mail throughout our stay had we needed him - most reassuring. The free WiFi was very useful and much appreciated; also the satellite TV. Although we didn`t need them, both air-con and heating were available for use. We toured the island quite extensively during our fortnight`s holiday (the hop-on, hop-off buses [tip : buy tickets before boarding for a discount] covered a lot of ground and were excellent value for money, including a free harbour boat trip) and at no point did we see any place where we would have preferred to stay. If we paid a return visit we would again base ourselves in Valetta (central location, peaceful and quiet out of normal hours; full of history in its own right but with fast and easy access to the rest of the island - the bus service is very good) and would have no hesitation in going back to one of Franck`s apartments; we have already recommended them to friends and family if they should be considering a break in Malta. All in all, a memorable holiday which was perfectly complemented by this excellent accommodation - well done Franck and thank you!

Room Tip: Make sure that you use the on-line facility to contact the owner when booking if necessary, e.g. to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonington3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Malta and a very last minute booking only 2 days notice in peak season but Franck the owner took care of everything for us. Met at airport excellent free taxi service to door. Apartments are in excellent location for city centre, bus terminal and cheap and excellent services to rest of Island but also the beautiful Barrack gardens and wonderful Grand Harbour. We had to swap apartments mid week to accommodate us for the week (as we agreed prior to booking) and Franck stored our suitcases and assisted wherever he could. Free wifi is a great bonus and daily cleaning. On arriving home I discovered I had lost a special neckless and emailed Franck. He ordered a search if the apartment and it was found by honest housekeeper. Franck went to endless trouble to return it safely to us and I am extremely grateful for all his care.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms without balcony or terrace due to late booking availability. If we went again I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This small renovated apartment is well located close to centre of town, main attractions and Valletta bus station. Simply furnished in modern style with basic air-con. The kitchen is basically equipped for simple stove top meals and snacks. It was quiet and the Upper Barrakka gardens (our favourite place) was just next door. We would use them again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked the Malte apartment for 3 nights in May through holiday lettings. Franck replied quickly with the price confirmation, and again once he'd received the deposit. He then e-mailed the week before arrival, asking for our flight details as he provided free transfer from Malta airport. we were duly met by his driver who took us directly to the apartment block where Franck was waiting for us. He showed us around, took the balance in cash & booked us a return taxi to the airport - he couldn't have been more helpful.
The apartment was quite compact - a small entrance hall, where we stored our suitcases, and where the spiral staircase went upto the 2nd floor. This was tight and could prove a challenge for some. There was an area with hanging space & a chest of drawers, and a full-length mirror. The bathroom was cosy, the shower was good though. The bedroom had a small table either side of the double bed & a small shelf with a "distressed" mirror. I did find the apartment a bit dark & the mirrors & lighting a challenge come make-up time!
The 2nd floor was lovely - a small kitchen area: fridge, microwave, 2 ring hob, kettle and a small table & 2 chairs. A lounge area had a coffee table & settee. Another couple of steps up from the spiral staircase led out onto a terrace that held 2 sunbeds (cushions in lounge) and a table & 2 chairs - the view was great, overlooking the 3 cities and Barrakka gardens to the rhs. Easy to get everywhere, this is a good place to stay in Valletta

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at Castilles Suites for 5 nights all together and had the chance to see two of the apartments/suites.
The building is made of these typical stones from Malta and has a lot of charm; it is perfectly located, just a few hundred meters from St-John, right next to the Saluting Battery.
Inside, you directly notice that it has been recently renovated, the common spaces as well as the apartments ally the old wall stones and the modern equipment perfectly (elevator, bathroom and kitchen equipment; ect). Everything is always super clean.

I particularly recommend the penthouse apartments that have a terrace on the roof. the view and sun exposure are just perfect. Imagine a little diner on the terrace when the sun goes down with this view on the city, the harbor and the see; it's magic!

In addition, the service really is five stars! the owner always makes himself available and helpful, the personal airport transfer and the cleaning service are very professional.

I can only recommend this place for people who want to discover Malta for a few days. Couples will definitely love it but it's also suitable for family or friends.

It offers the comfort of a hotel with the discretion and the freedom of an apartment; all this at an affordable price.

Room Tip: the ones located on the top floor are the best; mostly thanks to the terrace. If available, I strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Castille Suites is in the old city of Valletta, in walking distance of the sights and also of the bus station which has buses all over the island. The street is quiet. We could have managed with our own face cloths, but would have welcomed some soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The towels were changed even more often than promised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were met from the ferry and taken to our apartment directly where the owner was waiting for us. We got a good overview on the facilities and where to go for food and stores for the first day. The apartment was a nice size and had everything needed to self cater in Valletta.

We had a great surprise as we got an upgrade to one of the two penthouses for the last two nights we stayed. Great views from the balcony over Grand Harbour in the evenings. Nicely presented accommodation with friendly staff service.

Room Tip: Top two penthouses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMBKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
0.0 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 15 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castille Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille Suites

Property: Castille Suites
Address: Battery Street | 314 St Paul Street (office), Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1211, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Valletta
Hotel Class:3 star — Castille Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castille Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castille Suites Malta/Valletta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing