We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location & great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valletta Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valletta Studios
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location & great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks staying in 'Apartment 2' (62 Battery Street). I cannot recommend this studio flat highly enough. It is in a perfect location (about 5-10 min from the bus station, and 5-10 min from all the restaurants and places to visit in Valletta itself). When the Saluting Battery goes off at 12 noon and 4pm it can feel like you are under attack, but that's all part of the fun! There is a little balcony which looks out (sideways) over the harbour, and the Upper Barrakka Gardens are just a minute away with their amazing views over the Three Cities. The flat is tucked away in a side street and is very peaceful.

Michael is an amazing host - not only did he pick us up from the airport to save us having to get the bus in the rain, but he also gave us some great recommendations of restaurants and things to do in Valletta and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The flat itself has everything you'd need for your stay - a small but functional kitchenette with pans, crockery, cutlery, tea towels etc. (tea, coffee, sugar, salt etc was all provided, and Michael had also got us some bread, butter, jam and milk for breakfast). All the bed linen and towels are included, and there is also a TV, DVD player and a hairdryer. There's plenty of space to put clothes etc, and everything was spotlessly clean. The decoration was also lovely - lots of nice pictures and ornaments to make it seem really homely. The balcony has a hanging rack and pegs for drying towels, clothes etc.

All in all, I would highly recommend the apartment - yes it is quite small (it's a studio apartment!), but a perfect size for a couple and an excellent base from which to explore Malta. Many thanks Michael!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed one week in Valletta. Valletta studios was just perfect. It was unusually well equipped for a holiday apartment. We even did not have to bother about buying breakfast for the first day, as everything was already there. The view from the balcony on the Great Harbour was magnificient. Everything within Valletta could be done by foot and the bus terminal and ferries were reachable within 10 minutes. The owner of the studios was very nice, it almost felt as being a private guest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Voyage140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in apartment 2 and found it ideal for our needs. It's a great location for exploring the city but also close enough to the bus station for trips around the island. Michael is a dream host and couldn't have been more helpful and attentive - his local knowledge definitely led us to places which we probably wouldn't have discovered otherwise (especially the Maltese tapas restaurant which hardly advertised itself). The apartment itself is attractive, comfortable and well-equipped. The side view from the balcony over the harbour is stunning and we were glad of the shade provided by the building opposite. Basically, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Munster, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

me and my wife stayed a full week in flat number two .
we enjoyed the location : every morning we could see the beautiful port of la valetta and its boats.
It is located just below the upper garden and just two minutes from the center.
the flat is anice , confortable and open planned and and the location is beautiful and still wild.
Price are resaonable . we highly recommend the spot.

Philippe from Ennis Ireland

Room Tip: all flat are nice. we were in flat two
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterBaby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed in the small but lovely Apartment 3 for a week in Sept 2012. Close to the centre and five min from the station it was the perfect base from which to explore Malta by bus. The kitchen was well equipped and the owner, Michael, had kindly supplied some essential groceries and candles, and even dropped by with flowers for each apartment during the week. The view from the apartment is limited by the property directly opposite (which also keeps the apartment slightly shaded from the sun), however the small balcony is an attractive feature as are the arched ceiling and traditional barred window. I don't hesitate to recommend the Valletta Studios and would definitely book again should I return to Malta.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssssslilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in rural Victoria
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for several days and it is perfectly located for seeing both Valletta and Malta, as it is both close enough to the centre of town to walk everywhere, but also quiet, and close to the main bus terminal to get buses everywhere even to the airport. If coming on the ferry, it is also close to the lift up from the seafront (have to pay).

The apartment is small, charming and very tastefully furnished with one large room serving as a bedroom, lounge and kitchen. We had a small balcony as well with a limited view of the harbour because of the house in front, but this didn't worry us as even that small glimpse looked lovely, especially lit up at night. The kitchen was very well equipped, even with some basic ingredients. Michael the owner had made sure we had milk, bread and some other basics. He also did a load of washing for us one day. Wifi was great and we had plenty of hot water.

We did not have a car as parking in Valletta would be difficult and bus transport is so easy that we didn't need one. The apartments are essentially in a non traffic area, because the street in front is steps, which could be a problem if you were elderly, but then Valletta is quite hilly in parts, no matter where you stay.

Michael was a great host, very helpful and enthusiastic and very knowledgable. He was able to share information about restaurants and activities. We had a great time here and highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank learningitalianat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Unfortunately my husband and booked late so could only get two nights in Valletta Studios. When we first arrived I was surprised at how small the apartment is, however is has everything you need and the view is simply fabulous.

Excellent location in central Valletta. Apartment 1, which we stayed in, is the only one of the three apartments with unobstructed harbour views. Apartment 1 also has a small Maltese social balcony you can sit in and admire the views around you.

The apartment is simple and fairly clean. We found it to be nice and quiet except for when there was a band playing at the nearby upper barracks.

The owner Michael is very friendly and helpful.

Negatives:
The only negatives for us were the lack of a washing machine, small double bed, and low water pressure in the shower. The older style is probably why the kitchen is disproportionately large compared to the living/sleeping area.

Room Tip: Apartment 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valletta Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valletta Studios

Property: Valletta Studios
Address: 61A/62 Battery street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 01, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Valletta
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Valletta Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valletta Studios Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing