We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat of a let down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legligin

Legligin
Ranked #16 of 226 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The quaint wine bar in Strada Sta Lucia in Valletta where the good flowing wine is exalted by Chris' unique culinary delights. Legligin is a concept restaurant and wine bar. Our €20 per person tasting menu includes Maltese and other Mediterranean dishes. There is no a la carte menu... Just sit back, relax, and let us feed you, the Legligin way. Open Tuesday-Saturday 1pm till late and Sunday and Monday 6pm onwards.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Somewhat of a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This unique restaurant has a great atmosphere and an excellent wine list. Unfortunately that is all the praise I can give. We decided on the taster menu, but were disappointed after we realized that it only included four extremely small tasters, that was it! We basically overpaid for 4 small (but tasty) bites and for a basket of bread (which ran out quickly as we had to fill up on it, and when we asked for more, the waiter informed us that they had ran out). I would still recommend this quiet restaurant for tourists looking to taste tasty Maltese foods, with the hope that ours was a one off experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanBonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    167
    38
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was my partner's choice of restaurant and I have to say I was initially rather unprepared for the experience!

We saw the signs for a Maltese and Mediterranean tasting menu and I thought we would probably go for that option but I didn't realise this was the only choice!

Like many of the restaurants in the side-streets off Old Bakery Street there is more than one door -I've still no idea which one you are supposed to use. When we walked in there was a member of the kitchen staff who ignored us completely, which threw us a bit. Then the host appeared and welcomed us to a table. Still being in the dark about the single-choice menu we were slightly confused when we were only given an extensive wine list but we picked something and asked if food was still being served. We were told it was and, shortly after, dishes started arriving one by one! Because a lot of restaurants bring a small taster while you wait for your order we only twigged after the 2nd plate arrived!

From watching other tables it seems that the initial bread, dips and cheese are standard but then you get ~3 dishes of whatever happens to be cooking at the time! We had stuffed gnocchi, a pork casserole and a mild chicken curry but the table next door to us had fish of some kind as they sat down after us.

I quite like the idea of this and it certainly randomises the meal which you get but I can't help feel that it might not be for everyone. My partner and I are quite happy to try new dishes but we weren't asked if we had any dietary preferences etc, I would guess that if you inform the host he will work around that but I would advise you to speak up early.

The food itself was very tasty and we enjoyed trying things we might not have ordered from an a la carte,

Overall an enjoyable dinner. Don't be put off by the ill-matched table-ware!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaos777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sept13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quirky and Brilliant!
Don't pass this place by. No menu as such just say you want food.
You will get numerous small tasting courses which are prepared on an individual basis from the freshest ingredients - super.
Wines good value and overall 11/10

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great find in a quiet Valetta side street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent a night in Valetta en route home to the UK from Gozo. This restaurant had been reccomended in a recent review in the UK newspaper The Independent. What is on offer is a Taster menu experience - similar to a Maltese Tapas - you can leave everything to the owner - a range of local cuisine and an excellent wine list.

This was a great evening - genuine old setting - small but cosy and engaging. The food was excellent - what was there not to like? The host - Chris - friendly and personable. We will certainly go back next tim ein Valetta - HIGHLY reccomended - make the effort to find and probably best to book. Thanks Chris.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UkBonViveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A magnificent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is a perfect place to go with a group of friends or better yet with a date. Every dish was outstanding especially the cheeses. This was the third time i came here and Chris the owner/chef would always leave me with a smile and a full belly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isaacvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legligin also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Legligin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing