We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucia Nova”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Valletta Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valletta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valletta Suites
Ranked #12 of 17 Valletta B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lucia Nova”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I just returned from my 9-night stay in Lucia Nova.
I have stayed in the other 2 properties of Valletta Suites, but Lucia Nova has got to be my favorite. (I sure hope Heaven looks likes Lucia Nova.)
The best part of staying here is the incredible amount of space. As you enter the building, you will go up a flight of stairs and be in the sitting room, dining area and a compact and efficient kitchen. I did not cook any meals but it was nice to warm up pastry in the microwave and store cold drinks and yogurt in the refrigerator. An electric kettle is provided...because sometimes you just want a nice hot cup of tea.
Go up one more flight of stairs, and you enter a beautiful bedroom. The walls have layers of paint from previous inhabitants to the house that show the beauty of time past. The colors are a soft blue, green and cream. Think of Monet's painting "Water Lilies" and you can imagine the Impressionistic coloring of the walls. There is a lovely Maltese balcony here that lets the sunlight stream into the room in the morning. But if you choose not to have sunlight come into the room in the morning, you can close the door to the balcony for less light. One day I slept late and was in bed with the sun streaming in and wondering why I should even get out this most comfortable bed, but then I figured I should at least do something that day.
The bathroom has a rainfall shower. In the morning and after a day of sightseeing, it was nice to step under the rainfall shower and have the very relaxing water wash over me. The toilet and sink are of a very high quality to match the bathroom.
Then you go up another flight of stairs to another lovely bedroom and bathroom. Because I was traveling solo, I just popped in for a visit to admire the lovely surroundings because I stayed in the first bedroom.
And this is one of the best parts - go up another flight of stairs and you will find a wonderful rooftop deck - and this is great - you have a water view of the harbor. It's perfect if you want to read or just have a drink.
There are several advantages for staying in any of the Valletta Suites' properties. There is no pesky maid knocking on your door in the morning to clean the room. You can linger in bed and get going at your own pace. Each of the properties have plenty of space. Because after all, most hotel rooms just provide you with a bedroom and a bathroom. With Valletta Suites, you have room to spread out which is incredibly more relaxing.
However, the most important aspect is the incredible customer service provided by the owners, Stephen and Brian. You will notice this first when you correspond with Valletta Suites. E-mails are answered promptly and thoroughly. If you ever need anything or have questions, just either call, text or e-mail Stephen or Brian while in Valletta and their help or advice will be prompt.
Valletta Suites provides such a high level of customer service that I will only rent from them in my future visits to Malta.
Thank you Stephen and Brian for another wonderful trip to Malta!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
54
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

First trip to Malta and chose valletta suites for our stay - Ideal base for exploring Valletta as is very central and lovely basic self catering facilities should you wish to cook a plate of pasta and then go out! - we stayed 3 nights in valletta nobile and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice to feel at home away from home - would thoroughly recommend and will use again on our next trip.
very helpful owner who even gave us map of recommended local restaurants which we thoroughl enjoyed. very easy to find and deal with
only thing to be aware of is with central location can hear some street noise on week end.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallettaSuites-Malta, Manager at Valletta Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Valletta Suites and for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor.

Our suites are located close to all the major places of interest in Valletta, and just 10 minutes walk to the bus terminus outside the city gate which gives easy access to the rest of the island.

We are glad you also enjoyed our recommendations for the restaurants, which I am sure made eating out a pleasant experience.

Thank you once again for your positive comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

A highly commendable suite, well located close to Valletta centre and arranged with a lot of taste, and a very warm welcome by the owner: an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodolphe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in Valletta Nobile for five nights over Easter and it was certainly well located to see the local processions on Good Friday and Easter Sunday.
We had a bit of a hiccup with the airport pick up which had apparently been contracted out to a local company who had the wrong name and then when we finally located him the driver had no idea where he was going so we went round the block several times while he talked to Stephen for directions!
Once we found the apartment we were met by Brian and Stephen and given a quick tour of the apartment which is just as shown in the photos on the website and full of interesting objets d'arte. They gave us a map of Valletta with the names of several recommended cafes and restaurants - the ones we tried were very good, in fact we went twice to La Mere which was just up the street.
The location of the apartment is great - turn left out the door and you are on one of the main streets and yet it was quiet and a good neighbourhood and easy to walk anywhere you wanted to go. The living area and bedroom is at the top of three flights of stairs so might not be so good for anyone with mobility problems and the bathroom is on the second level so perhaps not the best if you need to get up several times during the night!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Valletta Nobile and would recommend it to anyone wanting to live like a local in Valletta.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallettaSuites-Malta, Manager at Valletta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Valletta Nobile. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique Easter processions and church celebrations in Valletta, as well as the decor at Valletta Nobile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our first visit to Malta and we chose Maison La Vallette on the basis of previous trip advisor reviews and also we wished to stay in Valletta itself and to experience the city as a "local". The whole experience surpassed all our expectations!

We were greeted at the airport by Brian who took us directly to the house and we were met by Stephen who showed us around our accommodation. The maison is a renovated traditional maltese house which is over 400 years old and it so well located for ALL attractions within Valletta (and really the whole of Malta, as the bus terminal is 5mins walk away!). The house itself is lovely and is furnished in an eclectic and baroque style. There is a small kitchen with everything you need to prepare a small meal. The bedroom has an en-suite and the living room has an iPod dock for all your music needs. There was also wifi access available which was excellent. A phone was provided and if you bought a phone card, then you can call home at very low rates. We were provided with a map of Valletta detailing restaurants, sights and amenities - very useful indeed. Stephen was very helpful and recommended a hire-car company (who delivered the car to the house and can pick up from the airport).

The accommodation and Brian and Stephen made our visit to Valletta something special indeed. We felt that we were living within the city as locals (we made use of the local bakery and the greengrocers) and had greater appreciation for the maltese way of life. The accommodation was very good value and we can't wait to return to Malta to sample the other properties that Valletta Suite offers! This is truly a unique and wonderful way to see the city in all its glory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent several nights at the Lucia Nova suite in St
Lucia street. It is. Comfortable for 2 people only as is quite small even though over 4 levels. (The 3rd being the second bedroom). The location is excellent and noise only from the bar across the road on certain days. There is a baker, small food store around the corner, and several restaurants within walking distance. The negative is the bathroom, no shelving for toiletry bags, no shower curtain/screen so the water goes all over the bathroom floor. No toiletries are supplied and we asked for the towels/linen to be changed after the 4th day. There are no laundry facilities at all, not even a clothes horse to put on the terrace. If there are 4 people it would also be better to have the tv in the lounge rather than bedrooms. the lounge only has room for 2 to sit comfortably. The owner was very accommodating and friendly. With some improvements this place could be better bud recommendable nonetheless.

Room Tip: Most suitable for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallettaSuites-Malta, Manager at Valletta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Lucia Nova and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in this unique house and its location in the middle of Valletta.

The shower room, with its high ceiling, dark walls and overhead rain shower, was designed to create a sense of freedom and space. We are sorry to hear that this did not meet your expectations. Quality hair and shower gel,as well as hand wash, are always supplied. Egyptian cotton towels are changed every few days. We have taken note of your suggestion for more storage space for toiletries.

The living room at Lucia Nova is not designed as a TV room, hence there are 2 large 32" flat screen television sets in the 2 bedrooms with movies on demand, music and cable television.

We thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to accommodate you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Makes you feel like you've been living in Valletta all of your life. Amazing historic 400 year old house with all of today's 4* luxuries - the walls in the 2nd floor bedroom are out of this world. Overall great deal for the buck. Brian and Steven will not only make you feel like you are at home, but provide a detailed overview of all on-going cultural events and/ or give you a detailed background on anything historic in regards to beautiful Malta. Their idea of sustainable tourism, involving renovation and preservation of the historic Valletta and allowing 'us' a first hand experience in it, is priceless - go Valletta Suites!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor bedroom right above the kitchen and dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VallettaSuites-Malta, Owner at Valletta Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the history and unique design at Lucia Nova. We are very proud of the walls in the first bedroom and we are glad when guests like yourself enjoy the experience of the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Phoenicia
Hotel Phoenicia
#2 of 14 in Valletta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 14 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#9 of 14 in Valletta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valletta Suites

Property: Valletta Suites
Address: St Lucia Street, Valletta, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The philosophy behind Valletta Suites is to bring together small unique living spaces within the walled city of Valletta. Valletta Suites is the first 'diffused hotel' concept in Valletta since 2006. Beautiful suites that will make your stay in Valletta memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing