We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Valletta Suites
Ranked #8 of 19 Valletta B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Attractive, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My mother and I stayed for a week in the San Gwann apartment over Christmas. We have been on the look-out for good quality self-catering accommodation of this kind in Malta for about 20 years! I was rather worried about not having the peace of mind of booking through a travel agency, and chose this apartment over others advertised on direct booking websites largely because of the independent reviews and contacts available on TripAdvisor. We were very happy with the choice. The apartment itself is attractively furnished, clean and comfortable; it looks into the inner courtyard garden of the house. The owner was very welcoming, and extremely helpful in answering various queries both before and during our stay. We can think of only very minor suggestions for improvements: a smaller saucepan and a frying pan would be useful in the kitchen, and perhaps an additional light in the kitchen/dining area. Then again, we are possibly the only guests who would attempt (and succeed) to cook Christmas dinner... We very much enjoyed our stay, and hope to return.

Finally, this review would not be complete without mention of Sam, sending her the very best of luck with the puppies when they arrive!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammefellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
81
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We spent a month (7 November-6 December,2010) in this beautiful penthouse apartment. It is extremely comfortable and in an unbeatable location. We were just a couple of minutes from St John's and the very heart of Valletta, a World Heritage city. The bus station was an easy walk and visiting all parts of Malta was painless and very inexpensive as most fares were only 0.47 Euros.
Frank was the perfect host always willing to give helpful advice on cafes, restaurants and places to visit while respecting our privacy. His recommendations were always spot on.
The apartment was really well fitted and very clean. It was fully serviced at least once a week and we were always being offered clean towels and linen. The inclusive wi-fi was excellent.
The weather was perfect (warm sunshine, clear blue skies) with just one showery day and we had breakfast on the terrace every morning! Watching the Queen Elizabeth come in below us as we had breakfast one Saturday was a highlight. We could then walk along to the Waterfront and see her at close quarters.
We simply loved Valletta. As well as recommending Valletta and, of course, this apartment we would also recommend that visitors book a visit to The Hypogeum at Paola (A UNESCO World Heritage Site) well in advance. We were fortunate to get a late ticket but even in November we saw so many visitors turned away. It was a memorable experience.
John & Wendy McGeeney Greenwich, London

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This was our third stay with the hospitable host Franck. We stayed in the San Gwann apartment on the first floor. It was a lovely spacious apartment with a kitchen/dining area, lounge room, bedroom and bathroom. It is beautifully furnished with antiques, while the kitchen has a fridge, cooker and stove top and all the necessities for making simple meals and breakfasts. As I have stated in my previous reviews this house is perfectly stuated for exploring Valletta and its many lovely restaurants and sites and an easy walk to the central bus station for the whole island. We will be back! (Again!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieoakley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We just had our second trip to the Palazetto, 5 days this time and we found that Franck had made a couple of modifications to the penthouse that now makes it completely perfect. The fire stairs are now completely enclosed and there is a door on the bathroom (not that that bothered us anyway) Franck is very hospitable and as usual made us feel very welcome. Valletta was as wonderful as we remembered and we found some new places to eat and visited some favourites. Had our usual diving fix and a day visiting Vittoriosia which is worth the bus trip across to the other side of the harbour and catch a traditional wooden fishing boat back across. We intend to be back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieoakley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Palazzo Citta is a modern penthouse flat atop a beautiful traditional old Maltese house in the heart of Valletta - two minutes walk to sights, shops and restaurants. That makes it special enough, but in addition there is a wonderful terrace with a fabulour view of the Grand Harbour. The apartment is light and bright and, although we couldn't sit outside much as it was February, we enjoyed sitting in the sun-flooded flat as we breakfasted at our leisure every morning. For a city apartment it was amazingly quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable - hence the late breakfasts! The owner, Frank, was attentive withoug being intrusive ,and we had everything we asked for and more. The Palazetto Citta was a new holiday experience - and one we enjoyed very much.
Margaret & Bob

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culverwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valletta
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#3 of 15 in Valletta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Valletta Suites

Property: Palazzo Valletta Suites
Address: 314 St Paul Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1211, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Valletta Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Citta Valletta is a 16th century Palazzo located on the “High” side of Valletta, a much sought after location, on one of its principal streets. The house is one of the earliest to be built in the city when two smaller houses dating to around 1580 were joined and remodeled in 1622 in the understated Baroque style so typical of the buildings of that era in Malta.As is typical with most layouts of the time, the building revolves around a large central courtyard or patio. A door and hall large enough to take a coach and horses connects to the street. Cellars housed the stables, the ground floor the kitchens and the first floor the servants’ quarters. On the second floor called the “Piano Nobile” lived the gentry. Various important Maltese families have occupied the house and for a period of years it was also the headquarters of a leading commercial company. The house was locked up for numerous years until a careful and loving restoration was commenced some years ago under the direct supervision of the present owner. The result is a subtle mix of traditional and modern within an imposing structure albeit full of elegance and charm.Just one hundred meters from San Gwann Square the main square of Valletta, the Valletta fruit and vegetable market, food stores and 10 minutes from Malta's main bus terminal. The “Patron”’ of the house has opened the house to a few select guests wishing to relive the splendor of Valletta’s glorious past. A totally new concept in Maltese hospitality not unlike Riyadhs in Morocco, Paradores in Spain and Posadas in Portugal, a unique experience to share in the day to day living within an authentic 16/17th century “Maison de Ville”. Palazzo Valletta offers a high end lodging alternative to hotel accommodation in Malta, at very competitive rates.A total of only four suites ranging from a ground floor junior suite to a de luxe penthouse with panoramic views are grouped around the central patio, the heart of the house. Each suite comes with cotton bed linen, anti allergen pillows and mattress and silk bed covers, pure cotton towels, fluffy cotton bathrobes, cutting edge Italian design kitchen and appliances from a well known brand, Italian bright ceramic bathroom tiles.Daily maid serviced with regular change of towels, pillow cases and sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Valletta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing