We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Malta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Valletta Suites
Ranked #7 of 22 Valletta B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with every aspect of our stay in Palazzo Citta Valetta The owner, Franck was the most welcoming, interesting and interested host we have ever encountered on our many travels. From start to finish he made sure we were extremely well looked from the chauffeur driven car on arrival, a lovely bottle of wine and lots more in between. Our interactions with him enhanced our trip enormously. The spotless apartment furnished very eclectically and beautifully oozed history and charm, combining elegant antiques with modern amenities. Its views and close proximity to Valetta's key historic sites and some amazing restaurants elevated our stay in Malta from wonderful to unforgettable! There was so much to see and do. We would love to go back! Thank you Franck!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Being met at the aiport was a wonderful start to our stay in Valletta.

The Palazzo has been converted into apartments with great skill by the owner. We stayed in the first floor apartment, San Gwann, which is sophisticated, stylish and spotlessly clean. The balcony looks over an inner courtyard which is beautiful by day and very special lit with candles by night.

We were made very welcome, with lots of great tips on places to visit and good restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble.

The Palazzo is ideally located for exploring Valletta and the rest of the island. There is lots to do and see, but also the opportunity to relax.

We would recommend the Palazzo Citta Valletta without hesitation. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The San Gwann apartment is perfect for couples. The sitting room is stylish and comfortable, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CJCS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The friendly attitude of management made us feel very welcome and were extremely helpful, yet unobtrusive. It is the little things that make a stay at Palazzo Vitta memorable; the candles in the foyer; the recommendations from Franck. Thanks Franck. The apartment had an old world charm which we love and to be immersed in a historic building of 1622 is exactly what we look for when we travel; not interested in resorts. The apartment was well appointed and very clean within walking distance to Valletta city centre, great restaurants, St Johns Cathedral, the Palace and many other historic sites. One of our top 5 travel experiences and we have travelled to many places all over the world. There wasn't anything that disappointed us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 236RobertR236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have been to Malta many times and must say Palazzo Citta Valletta is the best place to stay by far. First off, Franck is a fantastic host-very kind, helpful and flexible with arrival/departure times if he is able. Secondly, the property - it's a beautifully renovated 16th century building with all the right things preserved and maintained plus all the mod cons in a tasteful style. It is in the best part of Valletta and all restaurants and shopping are in easy walking distance. Great price, too. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

From the moment we stepped into the communal hallway of this beautifully restored and modernised palazzo, we felt at home. Everything, from bathroom fittings to antiques in our sitting room was perfect and meant to be used and enjoyed. The colours are harmonious and calming. The contrast between modern and old works of arts brought pleasant surprises on the marble staircase. We had a first floor apartment with views onto a historic street. We could have made ourselves meals in the kitchen but it was easy to eat all our meals out, from breakfast with locals to late night drinks at a tiny bar nearby. It was quiet at night, and by day, a cool retreat from the bright sunshine. Our host added to our enjoyment, we were in his home, yet had space and privacy. He welcomed us with wine, bottled water, and advice on the best places for breakfast. We stayed for a week, the perfect length of stay as Malta has much to offer if you like small, interesting museums, megalithic structures, tiny shops and excellent restaurants. Sauntering in the evening around the softly lit stepped streets, bathed in the light of a huge moon, was very romantic and unforgettable. Valletta is a special city and the palazzo a very memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre (I can't uncheck the star rating above) but you get lots of exercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The first time I stay'd in a appartment when going on a holiday, was not dissapointed at all.
warm welkom by Frank, gave me a tour and some tips to eat, shop and drink. the Palazzetto is in the middle of valletta just around the corner of everything, busstation, restaurants, bars, cafe's etc.
The appertment was well equept with things you maybe need, airco, fan, wifi, kichen, frig, sat tv, etc.
The tansfer from the airport at arriving was includet, on arriving the driver was expecting me, on request transfer to the airport on departure where bookt.
can say annything bad about the Palazzetto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our apartment was beautiful and made our stay feel very authentic indeed as the building goes back to the 1600s! The communal areas are also a delight with the inner court yard decorated with hanging plants and other details. I would definitely recommend Palazzetto to anyone who wants some time out away from the hustle and bustle but bang in the centre of Valetta minutes walk from museums, cathedrals and the Grand Harbour! It was perfect for us and we hope to one day return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzette123739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coleridge
The Coleridge
#12 of 15 in Valletta
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Valletta Suites

Address: 314 St Paul Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1211, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range: $161 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Valletta Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Citta Valletta is a 16th century Palazzo located on the “High” side of Valletta, a much sought after location, on one of its principal streets. The house is one of the earliest to be built in the city when two smaller houses dating to around 1580 were joined and remodeled in 1622 in the understated Baroque style so typical of the buildings of that era in Malta.As is typical with most layouts of the time, the building revolves around a large central courtyard or patio. A door and hall large enough to take a coach and horses connects to the street. Cellars housed the stables, the ground floor the kitchens and the first floor the servants’ quarters. On the second floor called the “Piano Nobile” lived the gentry. Various important Maltese families have occupied the house and for a period of years it was also the headquarters of a leading commercial company. The house was locked up for numerous years until a careful and loving restoration was commenced some years ago under the direct supervision of the present owner. The result is a subtle mix of traditional and modern within an imposing structure albeit full of elegance and charm.Just one hundred meters from San Gwann Square the main square of Valletta, the Valletta fruit and vegetable market, food stores and 10 minutes from Malta's main bus terminal. The “Patron”’ of the house has opened the house to a few select guests wishing to relive the splendor of Valletta’s glorious past. A totally new concept in Maltese hospitality not unlike Riyadhs in Morocco, Paradores in Spain and Posadas in Portugal, a unique experience to share in the day to day living within an authentic 16/17th century “Maison de Ville”. Palazzo Valletta offers a high end lodging alternative to hotel accommodation in Malta, at very competitive rates.A total of only four suites ranging from a ground floor junior suite to a de luxe penthouse with panoramic views are grouped around the central patio, the heart of the house. Each suite comes with cotton bed linen, anti allergen pillows and mattress and silk bed covers, pure cotton towels, fluffy cotton bathrobes, cutting edge Italian design kitchen and appliances from a well known brand, Italian bright ceramic bathroom tiles.Daily maid serviced with regular change of towels, pillow cases and sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Valletta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing