We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the crown of Valletta!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Valletta Suites
Ranked #7 of 22 Valletta B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2011

After several emails we booked to stay here, feedback from Franck was excellent regarding our queries before booking.
We stayed for 2 weeks in the San Pawl, a spacious apartment, beautifully decorated, as is the rest of the building. Franck, the owner, organises transport from the airport and upon arrival there was a bottle of Maltese wine (very drinkable stuff!) awaiting our arrival. Tea, coffee, sugar also available + a loaf of delicious Maltese bread.
Only one comment - those who are used to king sized beds might find the 1,40 bed too small. There is a certain ammount of traffic noise since the San Pawl is situated on the street side (certainly didn't keep us awake though) but the other appartments won't suffer from that. We were invited to look at the penthouse, reached by a lift - super, modern, light and airy with a terrace overlooking the Grand Harbour. We ended our stay with 3 nights in the San Roccu suite on the ground floor, not as grand as the other appartments, more like a bedsit but better equipped than a standard hotel room.
During the course of our stay another bottle of wine appeared + chocolates. All nice personal touches. Franck should be nominated for best 'host' on Malta awards if they exist!Nothing was too much trouble for him and he has all the information one could ever possibly need during a stay on Malta. Leave the guide book at home!
The location is perfect - close to the cathedral and bus terminus. Valletta really is a fantastic city and worthy of it's World Heritage Site status and it was very easy to see the whole island using the buses. However, the traditional buses are to be replaced in July and new routes introduced so can't say what that'll entail.
One of the splendid things about Malta is that, as a tourist, you are unmolested by locals trying to get you to eat in their restaurants, travel in their taxis etc. etc. So refreshing when compared with other tourist destinations in the Mediterranean.
Very much hope to revisit one day.

Room Tip: The most splendid apartment is the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cityfan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

When you arrive in this narrow, cobbled street, the modern glass doorway gives no hint as to the wonderful renovation of these beautiful 17th century town house apartments. Franck's artistic eye and attention to quality details in the presentation of his house, which includes his own apartment, is a stylish blend of old and new, and definitely reasonably priced. To wake to the church bells of Malta in that beautiful room; watch the religious processions file past below the balcony; walk to the nearby delicious restaurants; wander the fascinating city streets, shops and fortified harbour walls; catch the local buses to explore the history beyond the city - it is all a magic experience with everything right on your doorstep. Palazzo Valletta will be one of the loveliest apartments in which you could ever stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed in the penthouse apartment at Palazzo Valletta, and were so pleased that we found this jewel of a place to stay. The apartment is full of light, with lots of windows, and a sun deck that has the perfect view over Valletta Grand Harbour and the 3 cities on the other side. We felt incredibly lucky to have found this place.

While we were staying here the Malta international fireworks festival was held, and we had ring-side seats. The fireworks were set off from the middle of the harbour and we couldn't have had a better or more comfortable place to watch.

The apartment itself had everything we needed, with a regular maid service to change towels and sheets occasionally. There is a lift that takes you from the internal courtyard garden directly into the penthouse. Franck the owner was also very helpful, arranging taxi's providing advice and a great welcome. He is often available as he also lives on the premises and leaves a handy note pad by the front door so that you can leave or receive messages.

This was the perfect base for our 11 day holiday in Malta. It is right in the middle of Valletta, which has so much history and interest there is plenty to explore, yet it is small enough to become familiar with quickly. We didn't need a car, as we could walk around Valletta, and get buses from the bus station 5 minutes walk away, or tours from the many bus and water based tour companies. We explored the entire island easily.

On a couple of occasions it rained while we were here, in fact there was a spectacular storm with thunder and lightening, which was great to watch from inside our flat. The rain was short lived and the majority of our holiday had wonderful hot sunny weather.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smileymelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Our week’s stay at the Palazzo Valletta was perfect. The accommodation, the location, and the host all made our visit comfortable and stress-free. All of Valletta’s rich history and architecture is easily accessible from its central address. Franck is a most gracious gentleman who knows instinctively when to help without ever intruding. He made reservations for us, gave us recommendations and advice, and shared wonderful anecdotal histories of the palazzo and his beloved country. One can easily see all of Malta when staying here, since the famous bus circle is only a few minutes away on foot. Not having to pack up every day was a big plus. We highly recommend the Palazzo Valletta.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKBD04859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

A Gem in Valletta. The Hotel were we usually stay was fully booked and this was our first experience with a self catering apartment. Having said that the excellence of service provided starts from the airport were we were met by a uniformed driver and chauffeured in no time at all to the Palazzo, which has been exquisitely refurbished by Frank (the owner) who was waiting at the door to welcome us and give a briefing on the sites to visit and recommend restaurants. We stayed in the San Pawl suite which has a fully equipped kitchen (which we never bothered to use as the Palazzo has several cafes and restaurants set a stone throw away.

We had a Very spacious & luxurious apartment exquisitely furnished with antiques, oil paintings, Wi-Fi and fine soft furnishings. Besides the bells We found the area to be very quiet especially considering we were right in the city centre, large areas of Valletta are pedestrian only and we were told that non residents have to pay a fee for entering the city limits so noise from traffic is limited. The Bed was clean & comfortable and the duvet provided meant we were always warm at night, An extra blanket was also provided just in case, saving us money on Heating that comes at an extra charge (which we were aware of since booking), The Palazzo has thick walls providing ample insulation and any heating would have been superfluous.

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, great value for money considering we got a spacious apartment, and all the personal attention one could wish for, at less than what we are used to pay for a hotel. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russellsammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a beautifully restored palazzo (much like a moroccan riad) and the owner,Franck is very hospitable and a mine of useful information. We stayed in the San Pawl suite which is a really good size with a large living,dining,kitchen with flat screen TV with sky channels. The bedroom is a really good size too with a double and single bed and separate modern shower room. There is a small balcony overlooking the courtyard and a juliette balcony onto the steet at the front.Although the weather was warm outside(tee shirt weather) it was very cold in the appartment(which I'm sure is a boon in the warmer weather). We asked Franck about heating and he told us that he would have to switch on the aircon at an additional price of 10 euros per day,I feel this should be made clear on the website as we ended up paying an extra 50 euros for the remainder of our stay. It took a couple of nights to get used to the St. Johns cathedral bells going off every half hour overnight and the builders working next door and over the street who started very early. The bed was comfortable but a little small for us as we have a very large one at home. Just a few little things,a new ironing board is needed as it has seen better days and I almost trapped my fingers in it! also,a cafettiere or similar would be nice. All in all though,I would stay here again but would probably request a room on the back next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gladysleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolfodurante66, Owner at Palazzo Valletta Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Not including heating is the order of the day with most establishments in Malta due to the vagaries of the weather, the different needs of different people, and the generally mild climate.
Central heating is to Malta what AIRCONDITION is to ICELAND.

Our heating charge is pointed out very clearly on all websites we advertise on and on our own website.

Below is a cut and paste from the site guests booked from

Additional information about rental rates
* NB:
Prices are for 2 people sharing, extra guests pay Euros 25 per night.

Included -
Arrival taxi / water and electricity / bedlinen and towels / final cleaning / large fan

Air-condition and central heating add 20 euros per night.
No hidden charges.

* Rates inclusive of water electricity bed linen towels coffee sugar tea arrival taxi.
* The suite may be occupied at 14.00hrs and vacated at 10.00 hrs. Guests with early or late flight arrivals/departures may wish to book extra days.

Below is my reconfirmation via email of what is included
Included
> arrival taxi
> water electricity
> bedlinen towels
> quilt and extra blanket
> final cleaning
> Sincere regards
> Franck

Below is a cut and paste from our website
SAN PAWL SUITE
Extra bed 25 Euros per person per night
Air condition/Central Heating Add Euros 20 per night

I charged guests 10 euros a night instead of 20 because the weather was very mild. The apartments are very cosy and are well insulated having 4 foot thick outside walls. It simply does not make sense that the inside can be colder then the outside. No one else required heating during these guests' stay.
The reviewer ebroadle stayed in the same apartment in January with a toddler and did not require heating.

Valletta is one of the quietest capital cities in Europe, hardly any traffic, non residents have to pay a fee for entering the city precincts, and large swathes are pedestrian only. We are spot on in the centre and considering guests were never up before midday then some amount of street noise waking you up is unavoidable.
The iron board is brand new, the bed is a standard UK double bed, and yes there is a church on every corner in Malta and commencing April a village feast every week with petards being fired starting 8 am.
Any other comment is superfluous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Just returned home from a lovely 4 night stay in Palazzetto Citta (Palazzo Valletta) and its superb San Angelo penthouse suite (one of the four apartments).
We loved it!

The perfect holiday is a combination of several details and choosing Palazzetto Citta helped a lot to make ours a perfect one. Great communication with Franck, he even warned us about the not so warm weather forecast!

Classy treatment from the beginning: a private, professional driver waiting you at the airport and giving you a complimentary, nice ride in a shiny MB to Palazzetto, Franck welcoming you at the entrance in the middle of the night and then the lift takes you up to the amazing San Angelo penthouse suite.

The suite consists of a cozy bedroom with shower & toilet + balcony, well-equipped, spacious, a modern kitchen & a tastefully decorated, bright living room with the terracce facing the Grand Harbour & 3 cities. The view is breathtaking.
You have another huge terracce to the street side and a bedroom balcony to the inner court yard.

Luckily (!?) the weather was not that good so we also left the penthouse:) Come the sunshine and warmth, hard to resist just to stay and enjoy the view. There is also a barbecue, so you can really "have it all" there.

Location is perfect, you are in the middle of the World Heritage site. There is so much to see and experience in Valletta itself, not to mention other parts of the island. We visited M´dina and Rabat, enjoying the ride in an old Maltese yellow bus. Usually we rent a car, but here it´s not needed (and frankly speaking, would create a problem finding a parking). The yellow buses take you around and ofcourse there are hop-on & hop-off buses available.

Loved the flavours of the Maltese kitchen. You don´t need to be hungry here, outside lunch/dinner hours there are plenty of pasticcerias & cafes. Try the pastizzis and a must is a hot Mqaret (date pastry) from the "Dates kiosk" at the bus station. Lot of nice restaurants in Valletta, "Rubino" is worth visiting, reservation recommended.

Franck is there to make you feel at ease, he will make necessary reservations, gives recommendations, tips etc. If he is not in, just leave a note for him to the desk at the beautiful entrance hall. Franck booked us transportation back to the airport, so convenient. Ofcourse you can take the bus 8 (0,47€) but we preferred the private driver.

Valletta and Palazzetto Citta charmed us totally, we are already planning a new trip later in spring! Thanks, Franck, see you soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tintin_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.3 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Falconeria
La Falconeria
#2 of 15 in Valletta
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coleridge
The Coleridge
#12 of 15 in Valletta
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Valletta Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Valletta Suites

Address: 314 St Paul Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT 1211, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Valletta
Price Range: $161 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Valletta Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Citta Valletta is a 16th century Palazzo located on the “High” side of Valletta, a much sought after location, on one of its principal streets. The house is one of the earliest to be built in the city when two smaller houses dating to around 1580 were joined and remodeled in 1622 in the understated Baroque style so typical of the buildings of that era in Malta.As is typical with most layouts of the time, the building revolves around a large central courtyard or patio. A door and hall large enough to take a coach and horses connects to the street. Cellars housed the stables, the ground floor the kitchens and the first floor the servants’ quarters. On the second floor called the “Piano Nobile” lived the gentry. Various important Maltese families have occupied the house and for a period of years it was also the headquarters of a leading commercial company. The house was locked up for numerous years until a careful and loving restoration was commenced some years ago under the direct supervision of the present owner. The result is a subtle mix of traditional and modern within an imposing structure albeit full of elegance and charm.Just one hundred meters from San Gwann Square the main square of Valletta, the Valletta fruit and vegetable market, food stores and 10 minutes from Malta's main bus terminal. The “Patron”’ of the house has opened the house to a few select guests wishing to relive the splendor of Valletta’s glorious past. A totally new concept in Maltese hospitality not unlike Riyadhs in Morocco, Paradores in Spain and Posadas in Portugal, a unique experience to share in the day to day living within an authentic 16/17th century “Maison de Ville”. Palazzo Valletta offers a high end lodging alternative to hotel accommodation in Malta, at very competitive rates.A total of only four suites ranging from a ground floor junior suite to a de luxe penthouse with panoramic views are grouped around the central patio, the heart of the house. Each suite comes with cotton bed linen, anti allergen pillows and mattress and silk bed covers, pure cotton towels, fluffy cotton bathrobes, cutting edge Italian design kitchen and appliances from a well known brand, Italian bright ceramic bathroom tiles.Daily maid serviced with regular change of towels, pillow cases and sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Valletta Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Valletta Suites Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing