We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”

Valletta Waterfront
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.91*
and up
Valletta and The Three Cities Harbor Cruise
More Info
$17.91*
and up
Valletta: Two Harbors Cruise by Night
More Info
$35.82*
and up
Valletta Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #4 of 90 things to do in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We sat on our balcony on the Queen Elizabeth as we sailed into Malta. It was like a time machine had taken us back to days of the Knights of St John. The sun was setting so the walled city glowed. Valletta is a very walkable town right next to where we docked. Many interesting sites, shops and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank 49thstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    566
    166
    34
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Remarkable and Historic Deep-water Harbour / Fortress”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We visited Valetta and surrounding area quite a few times while on holiday in Malta in June 2011. The whole island is steeped in history and Valetta is well worth a visit, with lots to see from high vantage points overlooking the hugely impressive harbour to the winding narrow streets with numerous small shops, cafes and restaurants. Loved Malta and Valetta in particular .... definitely worth a return visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Waterfront”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

There is a lot of waterfront in Valetta stretching from the entrance to the Grand Harbour (a visit across the new bridge to the breakwater is a must) the old one being destroyed in 1941 by Italian E Boats right round to the liner terminal and beyond, All developments have been in keeping with the style and heritage of the area, forget the liners you could easily imagine Nelson landing in the late 1790s. Go for a walk espeically in the evening you will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Interesting place, lots of history. Nothing to dislike.
I never knew how important a part Malta played in history.

Now I know the history ofMaltese cross

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BROWNS is the BEST”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had lunch in Brown's restaurant on Valletta Waterfornt. the Maltese wine which our waiter suggested to accompany the most fantastic bouillabaise was just superb. Reasonably priced restaurant and wonderful location sitting outside by the water.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valletta Waterfront also viewed

 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Valletta Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing