We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
63
18
8
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
63
18
8
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheeky monkey coffee machine gastro pub merchant street boutique hotel quad room interesting concept the location is perfect stay there again beautiful hotel big bathroom maltese balcony your doorstep great boutique superior room walking distance top floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 97 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2018 via mobile

Even if at first glance The Saint John looks a cosy and nice hotel: don’t go there if you are not prepared on having sleepless nights because of the unbearable noise made by the generator.
I’ve asked to change room and I’ve been told that there were not other available rooms and they even tried to tell me that the noise, in the night, would have decreased: believe me, it is totally untrue.
It is unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. And they didn’t do absolutely anything to reduce the horrible noise and make my stay just a bit better.
One of the worst hotel I’ve visited and I’m a business traveler, visiting around 40/50 hotels per year.
How can an hotel be granted with 4 stars with such an old electricity system which needs such a noisy generator for working???

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank CCitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Gingell, General Manager at The Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

Dear Nomad03913525604,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, however I can assure you that the hotel does not work on a generator and all the electricity systems are as new as the hotel that opened just over a year ago.

Having said that, we are looking into this issue such that it does not cause any nuisance to any of our guests in the future.

We hope you will consider staying with us again as I am sure that we will prove that this was a one off incident.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

It would be hard to imagine a better location in Valletta. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious if not particularly well laid out. The king bed had two pronounced sags (a staff member told us the hotel had been in operation only a year; hard to understand how a bed can sag in that length of time). Breakfast ok. Wifi fine.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gregoryp02539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Gingell, General Manager at The Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear Gregory P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The staff were correct to point out that the hotel has only been open for just over a year and we are looking into the issue with the mattresses in the rooms to make sure that this was just a one off as the life span of a mattress is greater than just one year, also keeping in mind that all our guests generally remark on how comfortable the mattresses actually are.

I will make sure that the staff are aware of the nice words you mentioned about them.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

We stayed for a week in September. We knew the bar under the hotel closed at 10pm during the week and 11pm on Friday and Saturday. We were allocated the room directly above the bar. The music in our room was loud enough to cause vibration on the floor due to the speakers in the bar being on the ceiling with no sound proofing whatsoever. The music went on well after 10pm on the Sunday evening despite no one being in the bar, other than one member of staff clearing up. The 3rd night this happened again. We complained and were told that it wasn’t load - again the bar was empty. The following day the closing times for the bar were changed online to 12. At this point I was prepared to move hotel. On day 4 we complained to the reception again and asked to see the manager again. We were then upgraded to the top floor. We didn’t speak to the manager, we were avoided and no explanation or apology was made. The suite on the top floor was quiet. The bathroom is open to the room and doesn’t have an extraction fan so this may not be to everyone’s tastes. The shower water in both rooms runs hot and cold. The breakfast is very basic, the staff do not speak very good English. The rest of our visit to Malta for the week was brilliant. I would rate this hotel zero if I could

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 500stephg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Gingell, General Manager at The Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear Steph G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It saddens us to know know that we did not meet your expectations, however may I kindly point out that the Cheeky Monkey bar does not advertise that it closes at the times mentioned by yourself as those are the hours that we stop serving food only and please appreciate that it is an independent business to the hotel and if we advertise a particular closing time we can't just close if the place is empty.

We still hope that you would consider returning as I am sure that we will meet your expectations next time round.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

This is a superb small and friendly hotel right in the heart of Valletta. The rooms are extremely comfortable, stylish and equipped with everything you could need, we particularly enjoyed having a kettle as they are harder to come by in foreign hotels! A full English breakfast was also on offer as well as a continental one and that was excellent. The location is great as it’s on one of the main streets just steps away from all the attractions but not surrounded by noisy bars and restaurants. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dottied68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Gingell, General Manager at The Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear dottied68,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Malta and for taking the time to review us with a perfect score.

Reading your review makes us want to strive even more to continue with the great product that we have on offer as it is clearly appreciated by our guests.

We truly hope that you come back to visit us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

A lot of complaints but to keep it short:
- too much noise from the central hallway and the elevator
- very poor and basic breakfast, never seen it so bad really!
- shower was switching every 10 seconds from hot to cold, yes seriously...
- the beds were very hard and the pillows were too soft
- after the first day we complained about the noise and the receptionist said there was nothing she could do... we were there 5 days and in that time, eventhough they knew we were unhappy with the room, the personel did ZERO attempts to compensate.

So to sum up, choose another hotel!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Vadim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Gingell, General Manager at The Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear Vadim H,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we appreciate all kinds of comments as we always strive to improve and offer the best possible experience to all of our guests.

Being a city hotel one needs to appreciate that the noise can sometimes be an issue for some guests especially in very old buildings so we apologise that this was an inconvenience to you during your stay. As was mentioned to you, the hotel was full during your stay with us and that is why we could not move you to a different room.

I hope that we still get the chance to accommodate you again in the near future such that we can prove that this was a one off bad experience.

Kind regards,

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews