We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious....”
Review of La Giara

La Giara
Ranked #58 of 235 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Valletta
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious....”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

the food, the service, the ambience is all great, would have got a 5 if the chef had warmed the plates as it was a cold evening and had to change the table we chose due to a cold draught. Another suggestion to the staff is not to accept young children in the evening... highly annoying having a whining toddler next to you when they should be in bed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VallettaYozhik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    101
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went last Saturday for Dinner at La Giara and I must say it was a great dining experience. Anna is very cordial and welcoming. The free brischetta and olive pate bread were the most welcome as we very hungry. My stuffed Calamari and my husbands seafood spaghetti were delicious and also in good portion. When I asked Anna for chicken nuggets for our daughter I was pleased when Anna told me that they do chicken breast with batter and Anna was happy to bake them rather than having them deep fried. Very good service and child friendly staff.
Will certainly recommend and we will be visiting again when in Valletta.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good sicilian / mediterranean food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I went for a light lunch at La Giara. The chef and his wife Anna used to serve at Del Capo, which was in Sliema and now its closed......where we used to visit often. So I really wanted to find this restaurant. The food at La Giara is just as good. The pasta dishes are very good. As well as fish. The restaurant is all the way down Republic street.....it forms part of Casa Rocca Piccola.
The atmosphere is quite relaxed and the ambience and decor is lovely. Worth visiting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of London
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visited with friends for lunch. My risotto porcini was the best I have ever tasted full of mushrooms with a superb flavour. My wife had tortellini with salmon, again superb. Wine by the glass very good and top rate coffee not always easy to find in Valletta. Easy to find towards the bottom of republic street on the right next to casa rococo picolla. A must when visiting Valletta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkoBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value meal!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant during a trip to Valletta - and thought we'd give it a try because it was so busy!
Having reviewed the menu (pasta dishes around 12 Euro), we decided to order from the set menu (12 Euro) which offered a variance of main dish - and 4 courses - great value!
As the weather was so good, we opted to sit outside (effectively in the street) - the waiting staff were extremely attentive and gave us a great dinning experience. The actual restaurant area is very Italian in decor and was 'buzzing' - with a regular flow of new customers.
Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Giara also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing