We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place.”
Review of The Cage

The Cage
Ranked #22 of 327 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great experience. The burgers were perfect, the drinks also. Service was great as well. Nice place for dinner in the lovely little streets.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank kst_m_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reading all the positive reviews about this Restaurant we decided to go .. and we were so glad we did..Finding really great hospitality and ate the best meals ever .. Great homemade pasta cooked to perfection..Had Spaghetti with homemade pesto and shrimps and also special of the day which was recommended and it was superb with Italian sausage cooked in fresh creamy broccoli sauce . Other two of us had the homemade burgers which include also well cooked crunchy fries .. really yummy everything . The four of us we really thank all the staff for making our night out really great .. we highly recommend THE CAGE to who ever visits Valletta .

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank louisebonavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The tagliatelle alla Valletta was absolutely incredible. It had a tomato sauce and delicious sausage. The burgers here are excellent too. The pistachio cake was one of the best cakes I have ever had. There have been some really great restaurants here but so far this is the best. I will definitely be eating here again. I did not try the cocktails but they are known for them as well.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jbg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Found Papannis on TA and tried to get in on a Monday evening and failed. The waiter in Papannis recommended the Cage just next door, so we took his advice - and very glad we did. Very friendly staff looked after us on a table outside - the interior is nothing to write home about. However, the food definitely is!

Perfect pasta with a lovely heavy tomato sauce loaded with flavour and just the right balance of pasta to sauce. The chef is apparently from Naples and cooks superbly.
Had a very nice Italian "cake" selected from the cabinet inside - still overcoming the sugar rush a couple of weeks later.
Had a beer with the meal, coffee and a complimentary dark brown herby drink reminiscent of Campari to finish all for about €30.
Thoroughly recommended just for the cheery waiter and waitress. Seriously recommended for a superb meal.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saymwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Had a lovely gluten-free pasta seafood special. Free homemade lemoncella before we left. Good quality and reasonable price.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cage also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Cage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing