We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mere Restaurant

La Mere Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 227 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: La Mère is tucked away past the old 'Suq Tal' Belt'. Rustic wooden tables blend with Middle Eastern décor, matching the unique theme of two great cuisines - Indian and Middle Eastern. A small, intimate dining area, and flickering candles, give a warm, homely feel. However, the tables are spaced enough that you do not feel cramped. Servers are attentive and knowledgeable on the wide choice available in the menu. Here, our desire is to present a repertoire of authentic dishes, bursting with flavour, certainly a multi-sensory experience. The menu offers a broad selection of starters, allowing you to whet your palate with a Lebanese spiced lamb sausage, or enjoy mussels and chorizo in coconut milk. Mains are similarly varied, giving you a choice of curries, or perhaps king prawns or lamb chops cooked in the tandoor. Our new menu also presents a selection of main dishes with a fusion twist, such a marinated filet of fish wrapped in banana leaf. There is also a good choice of vegetarian, vegan, lactose and gluten free options. Besides we have introduced a menu degustation, an extensive wine list, cocktails and whiskeys and a broad selection of homemade desserts such as chocolate filled samosas with mango and coconut, assorted baklava, pistachio and ricotta briouats with halva ice-cream.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stumbled across this place, slightly unassuming but thought we'd try it.
They have Mediterranean dishes as well as Arabic and Indian dishes across the menu.
We had fish cakes and grilled aubergine, then thali and tagine, all well presented and full of flavour. You can choose how spicy you want your dish.
Great service, knowledge and excellent value for money.
Amazing, great selection, warm and friendly atmosphere, highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    156
    33
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful diverse menu that did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

La Mere was highly recommended by the locals to our apartment in Valletta.

The men both had curries and were very impressed with taste vs spice balance.

I opted for Maltese options and again was impressed with the combinations of delicious food!!

During our 7 night stay we visited twice and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the relaxed atmosphere!

Highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckle_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spicy Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We found this restaurant via trip advisor and it does not disappoint. A laid back atmosphere and a good menu that has a good variety of Mediterranean and Spicy / Curry dishes. The Vindaloo was as good or if not better than anything here in the UK. If you like spicy then it's a must visit restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChettleWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Thali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I managed to convince Mrs Bungee that whilst on holiday in Valletta, a visit to the local Indian was a really good idea. The interesting thing about La Mere is that it doesn't just serve Asian cuisine it also has Maltese/Mediterranean dishes as well as Middle Eastern / North African influences. It is quite an understated and laid-back restaurant and has a decidedly different feel to many of the more traditional Valletta eateries.

I went straight for the vegetable thali which consists of two different curries, rice, naan, dal, salad and pickle and was excellent. Even the rice and salad, which are often after-thoughts, were very well executed. Mrs Bungee had the "mixed sizzler" so she could get her meat ration for the day. She reported that this was very tasty but a little dry and benefitted from a donation of my raita.

I would definitely return and would recommend La Mere if you are in Valletta for more than a day or two and fancy something a bit different.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BungeeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
360 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good lunch option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I bumped into La Mere while wandering around Valletta just at the time I was starting to get hungry and needed to use a toilet. 100% accidental choice!
The restaurant was very quiet (which I appreciated) and relaxing. The food wasn't to write home about but it was good nonetheless - I had the chicken tikka salad with mint yogurt sauce.
For less than €10 I had a good lunch that filled me but didn't weigh me down for the rest of the afternoon. Just what I needed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Restaurant also viewed

Qawra, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Mere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing