We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian and North African cuisine”
Review of La Mere Restaurant

La Mere Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 271 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Mère is tucked away past the old 'Suq Tal' Belt'. Rustic wooden tables blend with Middle Eastern décor, matching the unique theme of two great cuisines - Indian and Middle Eastern. A small, intimate dining area, and flickering candles, give a warm, homely feel. However, the tables are spaced enough that you do not feel cramped. Servers are attentive and knowledgeable on the wide choice available in the menu. Here, our desire is to present a repertoire of authentic dishes, bursting with flavour, certainly a multi-sensory experience. The menu offers a broad selection of starters, allowing you to whet your palate with a Lebanese spiced lamb sausage, or enjoy mussels and chorizo in coconut milk. Mains are similarly varied, giving you a choice of curries, or perhaps king prawns or lamb chops cooked in the tandoor. Our new menu also presents a selection of main dishes with a fusion twist, such a marinated filet of fish wrapped in banana leaf. There is also a good choice of vegetarian, vegan, lactose and gluten free options. Besides we have introduced a menu degustation, an extensive wine list, cocktails and whiskeys and a broad selection of homemade desserts such as chocolate filled samosas with mango and coconut, assorted baklava, pistachio and ricotta briouats with halva ice-cream.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Courteous reception by knowledgeable staff who gave a full and accurate description of some of the less well known dishes on offer. I chose a curry which was hot and flavourful, while my husband chose a tagine which was superb. Such food at a reasonable price is an obvious attraction.

Thank Susan2301_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 660 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Face it, Maltese restaurants are generally somewhere between poor and very poor and are often ridiculously overpriced, so La Mere is a wonderful exception. It's not in the smartest or fanciest part of town and is a bit off the beaten track - and perhaps that is why they have to keep prices down. The menu is very wide which raises questions about how they manage to do it but all I can say is that one the two occasions when I have eaten there, including yesterday, the food was really good and tasty. A long way from the tasteless pizzas, salads and pastas that are ubiquitous in Malta. We had a middle eastern and an Asian dish and they were both very tasty. Poppadums were nice; middle eastern starter very nice indeed and freshly prepared and main courses very good - if a little too much. The service was quick and polite. The atmosphere was gentle and very pleasant - a long way from the garish decor that the Maltese generally think is the way to do it. A wonderful find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cerberus121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I visited La Mere with my husband in April for dinner and we were really happy with the food, it was divine and apart from that very well priced. However we were very disappointed with the service of one of the waitresses. She was really rude, first she raised her voice (not directly with us but with the owner, who i must say was really welcoming!) because we asked for a bottle of wine to be opened until we were waiting for our table and then we asked for some bread and instead of explaining nicely that they didn't have Maltese bread she snapped at my husband! Pity because its a lovely place with good food!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DDB313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMereVlt, Owner at La Mere Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Madam,

Thanks for your review and positive comments about the food. We sincerely apologise if the service was a let-down. We always strive to offer good quality food, service, ambiance and value for money. At times the service may get hectic, we are all human beings and we might be a bit nervous between us. However, I apologise if this exchange of communication between us affected your visit at our restaurant.

As soon, as we took the food order, as we usually do with all tables we served poppadoms. Regarding the bread, I can confirm that the exchange of communication was that we do not serve Maltese bread but if you wish you can choose from Naan Bread, Pitta Bread and Home-made Moroccan bread. Your husband simply answered abruptly; get me anything, as long as I eat something. I immediately served naan bread at your table and decided not to add anything to the bill.

Once again, please accept our apologies if the service was not up to your expectations. As explained earlier we are all humans. If you think we deserve a second chance, you are more than welcome to dine at our restaurant.

Thanks & Regards,
Antonella Cachia (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a great meal here. The food was really good as was the service and atmosphere and we were pleasantly surprised by the total bill! Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caennaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Really loved my experience here ! Suprising and interesting choice of food between mediterranean, indian, middle easter, maltese. The choice was great and the food was equally great. Plus ambiance and settings are excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aenjels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Mere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing