We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class, Complete Perfection”
Review of La Mere Restaurant

La Mere Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 235 Restaurants in Valletta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Mère is tucked away past the old 'Suq Tal' Belt'. Rustic wooden tables blend with Middle Eastern décor, matching the unique theme of two great cuisines - Indian and Middle Eastern. A small, intimate dining area, and flickering candles, give a warm, homely feel. However, the tables are spaced enough that you do not feel cramped. Servers are attentive and knowledgeable on the wide choice available in the menu. Here, our desire is to present a repertoire of authentic dishes, bursting with flavour, certainly a multi-sensory experience. The menu offers a broad selection of starters, allowing you to whet your palate with a Lebanese spiced lamb sausage, or enjoy mussels and chorizo in coconut milk. Mains are similarly varied, giving you a choice of curries, or perhaps king prawns or lamb chops cooked in the tandoor. Our new menu also presents a selection of main dishes with a fusion twist, such a marinated filet of fish wrapped in banana leaf. There is also a good choice of vegetarian, vegan, lactose and gluten free options. Besides we have introduced a menu degustation, an extensive wine list, cocktails and whiskeys and a broad selection of homemade desserts such as chocolate filled samosas with mango and coconut, assorted baklava, pistachio and ricotta briouats with halva ice-cream.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class, Complete Perfection”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have visited the restaurant on numerous occasions now in Malta, and it has always been an exceptional experience. Amazingly priced and portion sizes are excellent. Chicken Madras is the personal favourite, but the Sagwala is also lovely. I will never stop recommending this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    160
    35
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Ne
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Outstanding food with ample vegetarian choices”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This was a delightful restaurant with terrific menu options rangin from Maltese to Indian and Mediterranean food. We had falafel and Aloo gobi. The prices were reasonable and bathrooms were spotless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jncd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and great approach to wine lists !”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A really charming little restaurant in a tastefully-converted old townhouse. Fusion food (Maltese/Med/Indian/Lebanese). When I first heard about this venue and their mixed menu I wondered whether it was rather an ambitious concept, but it works and how. The food is excellent quality and superbly presented. The staff are all courteous, efficient, and very helpful.
I have to mention the wine list: at last, a restaurant in Malta with a marvellous attitude - either bring your own and pay a small corkage fee, or choose from their excellent list all of which are charged at cost price. We had a splendid Gavi di Gavi for € 8 ! It is fantastic to go out for a meal and not have to suffer exorbitant mark ups on wine, hope more restaurants follow suit. We will be back. (P.S. It is a small restaurant so a reservation is recommended).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathandeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always a treat and never a disappointment”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have eaten at La Mere several times now whilst visiting Valletta, and are very impressed with the menu. There is a great choice of vegetarian dishes, and the ability to choose how "hot" you want your Indian dish means you get the perfect dish every time. Our favourite dishes are the vegetable makanwala and the chicken tikka masala. It's a very varied menu, however, and everything we've tried so far has proved very tasty. They serve a small dish of crackers and dip when you are first seated, and this is very nice too. It is a small restaurant, so we'd recommend you book or turn up very early. Tourists seem to be welcomed as warmly as locals. It is definitely a place we'll be going back to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linzzdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Place, Great Service!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have been to La Mere a number of times now, always with friends. The place is very nice and cozy, and the staff are very friendly making you feel at home. The chef is the owner which usually ensures a better quality. The restaurant has a good selection of Indian, Arabian and Maltese dishes, and wines, all at a very reasonable price. You are not rushed or pressured to eat and leave. The last time we went was last week, when we had a selection of starters to share, followed by chicken sizzlers and Indian curries which were freshly cooked (not pre cooked and served), and lovely homemade desserts to finish (I would especially recommend the Coffee Gateau which is my favourite!). It can get a bit hot in summer, but the place has since been airconditioned. All in all, La Mere has gone into my good books! It is a lovely place to visit for a delicious meal, either for a romantic evening or with good friends, and it won't break the bank. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPGMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to La Mere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing