We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”

Ta' Kris Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 186 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Luton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Found this on Trip Advisor before we visited Malta, so made sure we got there. It was recommended by our Maltese guide as good for local food and was so good we went there twice in a week's holiday, we simply couldn't resist going back. It's a bustling good people watching restaurant, although so tucked away you only see the other diners. Portions are generous and we could only manage a main course. My partner likes rabbit and the rabbit here was the best we had in Malta. You need to get your hands dirty, indeed we found it irresistible, and doing so was appreciated by the serving staff. A memorable experience of our holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,303
    769
    212
    79
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice rabbit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food is extremely fresh and very good. We went there twice during our one-week-stay in Sliema. I can really recommend the rabbit in wine sauce. I've never eaten rabbit before and was surprised about the good taste!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Keith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Food and service are second to none and this place is not to be missed. Can't wait to go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeithD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcene, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going Native Ta Kris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were taken to this restaurant by some colleagues from a company that we do business in Malta. They said that Ta'Kris was a bit off the tourist trail and was typically Maltese so me and my partner were keen to give it a go. We opted for the Pasta Rustica, my partner and I went for the pasta with local rabbit. we both went for starter portions but these a generous, you have been warned! Our three Maltese colleagues went for various pastas and then decided to have the first item on the main course menu. They were all beaten as the main course of delicious roast beef we tried it yumm, roast potatoes and veg was as good a full plate of a Sunday roast that you will find back in Blighty. Service was smart and efficient, the bread in the basket was typical Maltese soft and spongy inside and with a crackling crust that will definitely find any loose fillings. Service was great and the ambience and atmosphere brilliant. If you visiting Malta make time to try out this traditional Maltese restaurant, well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Maltese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having read reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give Ta Kris a go and as we had not booked we were unable to get a table wnen we arrived. It is a very busy restaurant ! So we booked a table for a few days later.
Be warned - go hungry before eating here as the portions are huge ! The restaurant is very atmospheric with prompt service and a high standard of food. Our drinks waiter was efficient and polite setting the tone from the outset. There was a similar quality of service for the food which came relatively quickly and all dishes were very good indeed. All five in our party really enjoyed their choice and, as stated, the portions were simply huge. I would actually have preferred a smaller portion of seafood pasta but even so we managed to eat almost everything presented to us.
This restaurant deserves its top notch reputation and comes highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RostrevorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Kris Restaurant also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Kris Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing