We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malta Family break”
Review of Ta' Kolina

Ta' Kolina
Ranked #13 of 191 Restaurants in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Malta Family break”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a lovely little place....the service was spot on with very friendly staff. The food was very good and as we left we were given a bottle of wine as a thank you for being 'such lovely customers!'

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    214
    88
    48
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Popular local restaurant - three and a half points”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Busy restaurant - better than average marking but not quite very good when compared with Ta Kris and Santino. Food is fine (good fish and Maltese starters) but Ta Kris food is better. Tables are rather close together and this is not a place for an intimate meal. Service was good and we were welcomed back on our second visit and received a complimentary Limoncello both times. I would eat here again and stress, in fairness, that we had two pleasant evenings here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LDreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takolina, Manager at Ta' Kolina, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Rather confusing!
Busy restaurant - better than average marking but not quite very good !
Not as good as the other restaurants
Tables are rather close together and this is not a place for an intimate meal.
Service was good and we were welcomed back on our second visit

1)There are better resaurants & came for a second visit & will come again !What if we where no1?
2)Also if you wanted an intimate meal we had lonely tables upstairs! No extra charge!!
3)I would eat here again and stress, in fairness, that we had two pleasant evenings here.
Thus 3and a half points !Dont you think you gave us 1/2 a point too much!
Many Thanks for your extra 1/2 point.
Julian Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark Nottinghamshire UK
1 review
“delicious!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

a great restaurant for my niece's 50th. Food was delicious with very generous portions, and we all chose individually Staff very friendly and efficient all afternoon, a lovely relaxed atmosphere, no hurry, although evening diners were arriving as we were chatting on...... go and try it.
Lorna T

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Meal”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visit this restaurant regularly when we are in Malta and I have just held my 50th party at Ta' Kolina for 30 guests. The food & service excellent (Lasagne starter superb) staff very friendly. Owner Julian was very helpful and obliging in organising the lunch. Guests included Maltese and English and all enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takolina, Manager at Ta' Kolina, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Ms.L.Clark I would like to thankyou & all your lovely guests for choosing Ta Kolina for your Birthday .The staff were impressed & were very pleased serving you & all your smiling guests.
A nice group indeed.A big thankyou from myself & all our dedicated staff.
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“this rabbit had a long life!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very disappointed with the food in this restaurant. The rabbit was very tough - must have done a lot of running in his day. Tried the lampuki and was not impressed. Also tried the mussels which were tasteless. The place appeared lovely atmospheric and homely but on observation the staff seemed stressed and the boss seemed only interested in number crunching and head counting. Food was reasonably priced but it is only good value if it is tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annamimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takolina, Manager at Ta' Kolina, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
As we are a very busy restaurant there are are some that come without a booking & we do our utmost to please our guests as most of reviews say.The problem is that we have a small terrace & a few get angry as it is allways full. To give a chance to every one we leave the Terrace on first come basis. Off course we are not 100% althou we try. 99% of the staff do the job because they enjoy doing it! Off course it is a stressfull job & allthou 99% of the guests comes in with a smile the other 1% put a big stress on the staff. So many thanks to this 99% who help our staff by just a smile. Off course we get a few complains like a steak under or over cooked; especially when a guest forget what he ordered or we take the wrong order!! but for one to complain that all he ordered plus the staff & the manager are so bad; I leave it to who is reading this response to do his judgement.
Complains on Rabbit 0.01% We serve about 40 portions rabbit every evening
Complains on mussells 0.002% Average 25-30 portions (when fresh)(customers told when not Fresh)
Complains on Lampuki. 0%.when in season(End Aug-Mid December )serving average of 25 portions an evening.
May I take the opportunity to thank all our guests that made our 38th. year(2012) another success.
Julian
(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Kolina also viewed

Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Sliema, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Ta' Kolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing