We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2011

From the moment that the car bringing us from Malta airport pulled up outside The Palace Hotel, Sliema, we were sure that we had made the right choice of where to stay for our winter break in Malta. This hotel shines: marble, glass, clean lines, modern furnishings and wall art, lighting which enhances the ambience. The staff look as impeccable as their surroundings, and are polite and friendly without being overbearing.

Our first impressions proved to be well founded. From the smooth, silent lifts to our spacious, spotlessly clean room on the sixth floor, complete with large balcony and spectacular view of Malta's Grand Harbour, we could not fail to be impressed. The room was well equipped and, unlike many other hotels we have stayed in, lighting had been well thought out with a number of options to suit any given mood; sockets were easily located, tea and coffee making facilities were unhindered - not hidden away by the television or in a cupboard! Disappointed that only powdered whitener was provided as a milk substitute, I rang Reception for fresh milk, which was delivered to our room almost instantly and cheerfully.

The spacious bathroom was fully stocked with all manner of toiletries and accessories. The large shower, separate from the bath, was efficent and pleasant - no twizzling around to try to get wet, as in some places I do not care to mention! Flannels, towels, bath mats were all of good size and quality, the ensemble being completed by towelling robes and slippers.

Double drapes at the large glass sliding doors to the balcony give the choice of how you want to wake up each morning. We chose to keep the heavier drapes drawn back and so awoke to light and on most mornings sunshine, even in February. The bells of the many churches formed a delightful soundtrack to the amazing view with which we began each day. The sound of bells may not be to everyone's liking - other guests told us that they had been moved to rooms with no bells ringing, though they lost the view, and that they had been accommodated cheerfully and without fuss.

We chose to stay on B&B basis, as it gives us more freedom of choice. The buffet breakfast at The Palace is exceptional, catering for a wide range of preferences. By the fresh fruit servery there is even a bottle of chilled sparkling wine, which we indulged in on the morning of my partner's birthday! The bar serves excellent meals - the specials board changes daily; our two evening meals there were delicious: sea bass fillets and rib eye steak cooked to perfection. On one evening we ate at TemptAsian, the hotel's award winning restaurant. The meal was very special, beautifully presented and tasted wonderful; the view is spectacular and the surroundings luxurious. The staff were welcoming and attentive, though the management seemed to have underestimated the number of people who would be in the restaurant that evening and so service was somewhat slow at first though it improved later.

If anything lets down The Palace Hotel it is seventh floor leisure facility. The information folder in the room does not make you aware that there are no private changing cubicles, nor that the lockers are 'for gym members only' as I was informed, rather curtly, by the attendant at the reception desk there. We had waited quite some time for anyone to appear at the desk, knowing only that we needed to exchange our yellow pass for a poolside towel. The attendant's manner was abrupt and very different from any other that we had encountered in the hotel. We were made to feel as if we were being a nuisance by asking questions about the facilities and procedures.

The indoor pool, sauna and steam room were part of the attraction in our choice of hotel. Whilst all are clean and pleasant, they are very small and so the area seemed rather crowded, even in mid-winter. Given the considerable space allocated to sun loungers, it is surprising that the actual facilities are so small: the steam room seats four, the sauna two, and at rather close quarters. There is also plenty of space to install a hot tub if the hotel choose to do so. An opportunity to further improve an otherwise excellent hotel, I would suggest.

All in all, our week in Malta was made very special by our choice of hotel. We would like to thank all the staff who looked after us so well, especially Charlo, in the bar. If we return to Malta, we shall certainly return to The Palace Hotel in Sliema. It really is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ouzilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,479)
There are newer reviews for The Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,506 - 2,512 of 3,479 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

Where do I start, as soon as we arrived we were greeted by excellent staff who parked our hire car for us. The excellent service continued throughout the 3 nights we stayed.

The room was quite open plan and had a large terrace balcony to sit out on. Cosmetic products were provided as was plenty of clean linen and towels. The room was very clean and the only issue was that the shower in the bath did not have a screen so the water flooded the floor of the bathroom.

The hotel was in a handy location and only 8 minute walk into Sliema and 15 minutes into St Julians and had free car parking. The hotel was in a great location for exploring the island, which is smaller than you realise.

The "Tempt-asian" restaurant on the top floor of the hotel was so good that we ate there twice despite all the other options available.

The wife enjoyed a spa morning which she tells me was lovely and good value. The swimming pool on the roof looked lovely however, was closed for refurbishment while we were there. This did not matter as it was February and a little chilly to swim anyway.

Valetta, Mdina and Rabat are lovely places to visit and Gozo is well worth a visit with the very being very frequent and only 20 Euros to take the car over and both of us.

Had never been to Malta previously but would definitely return due to this experience

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, E-Commerce at The Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Thank you for your Review of The Palace Hotel, we are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We will be using the title from your review for our Facebook page.

We hope to see you and your wife again soon.

Kind regards,

The Palace Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We thourougly enjoyed our 7 night stay at The Palace .Our deluxe room was as described , with a lovely view over the cityscape and was well appointed.the only slight niggle with the room, was the fact that was looking a little worn in places but that certainly did not affect our comfort.
The staff were very helpfull and friendly in alll areas of the hotel ,and we had 2 fantastic meals in the temptasian restaurant on the top floor.Breakfasts were also very good with a wide choice at the buffet .
We would certainly return to the Palace, hopefully it will be soon!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borgo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

from the moment we arrived to check out and storage of our luggage we received first class service.We were welcomed with a complimentary drink as our room was not quite ready,but while we were still enjoying our kinnie a local soft drink we were told our room was ready and our cases were already in our room.the room was above average size and had all the things you need in a hotel room including a very powerful hairdryer.The indoor pool was a great bonus as the weather was not warm enough to use the rooftop pool which did look wonderful.Breakfast had a great selection with something for all tastes.We ate in the Talk of the town bar and the food from the specials board was excellent.We also used the temptasian restuarant on the top floor and had a wonderful evening with great food and service.Please use the local buses they are cheap and plentyful and you do get to meet a lot of people on them locals and tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DroitwichTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed for 4 weeks at the Palace in January and will definitely be back next year. The standard of service was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for you. He room had everything to ensure comfort, the beds were fabulous. The buffet food was varied and plentiful, particularly the breakfast.
The hotel is perfectly placed between the two Sliema promenades, however those with walking difficulties should note that it is up quite a steep hill.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at The Palace on my first visit to Malta and will definitely return again. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I had a beautiful suite which was so peaceful. Special thanks to Mario who looked after me. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in the Music Suite, was impressed by the size of the room, facilities and the quality of the Bed, The bed was so comfertable it made the stay that extra special, the view from the rooms balcony was also something special. I will be staying there again! 10/10 for comfort and service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riwaniec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,988 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,060 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,018 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $112 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing