We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but excellent”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expensive but excellent”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

On arrival at Sliema, I was concerned as our transport seemed to delve deeper and deeper into the backstreets away from the promenade. We then came to this Oasis of style, quality and modern design facing a small Chapel and traditional old Maltese houses.

Any apprehension was immediately lifted when we were greeted by a friendly red coated member of staff. Within minutes we were up in our Comfort room which was I believe the sixth floor. It had a beautiful desk, 32" flat screen TV, Minibar/fridge, twin beds, a great bathroom and adequate wardrobe space. There was no view as such as it looked out into a courtyard appearance atrium. This meant you could not keep your blinds open as others could see in. This was a minor problem as the room was spacious enough. There was a choice of several restaurants, an amazing roof top pool, and the lobby was super for people-watching. All the staff very extremely approachable and helpful although the bar staff were a bit 'cool' so we did not really use it.

Breakfast was European/British and very tasty and other meals we had were great. I actually thought the hotel was almost empty as it was the most quiet disciplined hotel I have stayed in which made my stay restful and made sleeping way too easy. At breakfast I learned that the hotel was 95% full as was evident in the number of people at breakfast - yet there was more than adequate seating for all and no long queues which is ideal.

The beds were incredible and I could only compare them to being as comfortable (nearly) to the Sofitel hotel beds across the world which are unbeatable. Linen changed as requested and great cleaning job carried out by the staff again as requested . It has to be the best hotel I have stayed in for staff friendliness except the slight lack of engagement by the bar staff.

4 minutes walk to a sizable supermarket stocking everything you might need and more, at very reasonable prices. 2 minutes away up the hill to a small bar the Salisbury - brilliant for football fanatics and pub grub. It is very small so you need to get in early. Newsagent, bakery all within a minutes walk. Two promenades are within a 10 to 15 minute walk and taxis can be booked from the hotel if needed. One note of care - the streets nearby are a it steep in parts and not always suited to poor balance or those who are disabled.

Disabled I may be, but would I go here again - damn right I would. I really felt at home here and the only downside was the poor TV channel choices but then if you want that you can use pay movies.

Tried to book again for the Autumn but it was solidly booked for the next few months and at full price. Will make sure to return soon!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for here, but I suggest a high floor, the comfort rooms have no view but offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilerBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear SmilerBelfas,

Your wonderful review of your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor is greatly appreciated by all here at The Palace.

Your feedback is most welcome and I am pleased to say that a new, digital, user-friendly system is to be introduced in the coming months whereby one may find stations and choices to suit all tastes, styles and ages.

We anticipate your return to The Palace and should you need any help in making your reservation kindly do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,003
    975
    297
    79
    30
See reviews for
442
2,063
144
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. The facilities are excellent.it is worth paying to stay in a suite or superior room from the 5th floor upwards. Preferably facing the harbour ,if you like a stunning view.The breakfast is very good,caters for everyone with attention to detail. The Asian restaurant on the 9th floor is above 5 star in my opinion,with attentive staff and very good food.special mention to all staff ,but would like to mention a few names. Pauline,on reception who is fabulous,The Assistant manager,Andrew ,on the door, always a smile,Mario,Aimee,Jonathan. Hopefully staying at The Palace,later again in the year.

Room Tip: Good rooms. The suites if possible. Room 552. Room750.Room 651
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyferB856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear JennyferB856,

Pauline, Mario and Aimee on reception, Andrew the concierge with a smile, Jonathan our Operations Manager, Marc and his crew in Temptasian and all the Management and staff at The Palace would like you to know how appreciative they are of your positive comments regarding your stay at The Palace on Tripadvisor.

In fact we await your return later this year for yet another pleasant visit.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is our fifth stay at the Palace Hotel and we have found it to be our favourite hotel in Malta by far, due to the terrific location, the excellence of the hotel itself and especially the superb 5 star quality service that we receive throughout each of our stays. A special mention goes to Moul Hajjar, The Palace's Assistant Front Office Manager, who, on every occasion, from our very first stay at the hotel, has gone that extra mile to ensure that our stay is a truly magnificent 5 Star + experience. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear TrueHonesty,

How flattering that you visited The Palace for the fifth time and left feeling satisfied and rested after your stay.

Moul Hajjar, The Palace's Assistant Front Office Manager and the rest of Management and staff thank you for the glowing 5 star review you placed on Tripadvisor.

You may rest assured that we will be here to welcome and host you for the next trip and the one after that.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus
Hotel Manager
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked at the last minute to join a friend over the Easter period so I had no expectation of where I would be staying but was delighted. The room was lovely and bright with all the amenities you might need, the comfiest bed and a nice balcony. The hotel staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly. There's good wifi, lots of different places within the hotel to sit and read, have a drink or coffee, the rooftop pool is stunning and there's a nice indoor pool/terrace if the weather is cool. The Temptasian restaurant is amazing.

Situated in a quiet road and close to amenities and transport links such as buses and ferries to Valetta or around the island. It was very easy to book taxis through the hotel concierge.

I used the spa a couple of times and that too did not disappoint, although within the hotel it is a separate business so you have to pay them directly rather than book to your room.

I am very happy to have stayed at the Palace and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harshbutfair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Harshbutfair50,

So glad to hear you spent your Easter break at The Palace and that it was a pleasant stay.

Your comments say it all, which makes us all so pleased here at The Palace.

Should you require any help booking your next stay, do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just back from a week long stay at The Palace, it was amazing. There was a group of about 45 over for a wedding and everyone of us had a fantastic experience there. The staff were amazing starting with Afton in reservations and also Thomas and Andrew at the front desk. Food was incredible both in the bar, Talk of the Town and up on the 9th floor Temp Asian restaurant. Rooms were huge and immaculate, shower pressure fantastic. I had stayed here before but it was even better this time

Room Tip: Away from the bells, they can become annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAnnie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear TravellingAnnie007,

I am happy to see that you are yet another satisfied customer of The Palace.

Our team caters for all types of events, and the wedding group you were part of is one of several events held here.

Our professional staff will make sure your every whim and desire is granted. All you have to do is ask.

On behalf of all members of Management and staff, especially Thomas at Front desk, Andrew the Concierge, and Afton, our Group Sales Manager, allow me to thank you or the lovely review submitted on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at The Palace as part of a wedding group.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Easter Lunch with the Family turned out to be a wonderful experience. VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. Quality of food, choice of food and service was excellent. Even though the place was chock a block, the service went very smoothly. Honestly, not even one complain. WELL DONE. First visit but surely not last.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Jonathan C,

Our Easter Buffet Lunch has always very popular, and we are only too pleased to know you enjoyed your meal and that it lived up to your full expectations.

You might also want to try our Asian Fusion rooftop restaurant Temptasian, unless you have already been.
This too is a huge favourite with locals and foreigners alike, both for its fine cuisine and the spectacular views of Sliema and the magnificent Grand Harbour.

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

First time in The Palace, but have stayed in it's sister hotel, The Victoria. We stayed for 12 nights, loved the experience and would stay there again. Very convenient location, clean, extremely friendly staff and very helpful. Good value for money indeed, you don't have to leave the Hotel if you didn't want to, but you should go out and explore this beautiful island which I love so much and is like a second home!!

Room Tip: Superior room was just that, plenty of space and very comfy beds, good bathroom and little fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlfriday55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Girlfriday55,

I am so glad to read that your first stay at The Palace was a success.

Your comments on Tripadvisor are of great motivation to always move ahead with the service we provide our esteemed guests.

We are always ready to make sure our guests are satisfied to the full.

Looking forward to having you back at The Palace,

Sincerely,

Kevin Callus,
Hotel Manager,
info@xhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing