We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel pity about the restaurant service”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel pity about the restaurant service”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant one night. After being seated and given menus, we were left for half an hour before someone came to take our order. The wine came and was the wrong one order. I had ordered it by the number on the menu so no misunderstanding on language. The waiter disputed this so brought the menu; only to find I was correct. Another 40 minutes passed before the food arrived. So on and so on. So much so that that restaurant reduced the food bill by 50% and apologised for the poor service. That was OK; but it did spoil our night out and I would not have expected this from this hotel

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the church bells, which go off every 15min
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,006
    976
    297
    79
    30
See reviews for
442
2,065
145
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I paid our first visit to Malta but were disappointed by the hotel. Rated as 5-star, I think this must be a local rating as it is certainly not up to international 5-Star standards, and I speak from 35 years of international travel experience. Whilst the room was comfortable and clean, the aircon kicked in and out at random; the room's power was shut down completely when the room was unoccupied meaning no devices could be left on charge; the bathroom lacked hair conditioner and, despite there being a note in the room that the tap water was not suitable for drinking, the one complimentary bottle of water was never replenished throughout our four day stay. Additional bottled water was available from the mini-bar at Euro 2.60 per bottle. Most annoying was the fact that all the Maltese government websites said the Malta tap water was completely safe to drink. Also disappointing was the lack of 24-hour room service, a basic requisite for 5-star rating. Moreover, at over Euros 400 per night for bed and breakfast, the prices were certainly 5-Star! The WiFi is free but unreliable, requiring frequent re-logons. A couple of plus points worth mentioning; The Palace is only a few minutes walk from Sliema waterfront, Tigne Point and St Julians, and overnight car parking is free for hotel guests. Overall however, not 5-star, not great value for money and not a hotel I would either recommend or use again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Duncan F,

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at The Palace on tripadvisor.

It is only through your feedback and suggestions that we keep improving our product to ensure expectations are met. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that your comments have been discussed during our weekly operations meeting and have taken the necessary actions accordingly.

Whilst we appreciate your positive comments with regards to the cleanliness as well as the location we would like to confirm that the aircondition can be manually operated from the room by the controller which is situated upon entrance, instruction on how to operate the AC are listed under the controller.

We also confirm that the complimentary water is offered upon check-in. With regards to the tap water we confirm that it is good for drinking but we always suggest to boil the water or drink bottled knowing that our water is diluted from sea water.

With regards to the electricity supply we confirm that newly listed hotels operate with the Building Management System, a latest technology requisite by the Malta Tourism Authority as well as the European Classification. Important to note that such system are now listed within the criterion for the Eco-Classifications. We proudly confirm that The Palace is Eco-certified.

Hoping that the above feedback is to your satisfaction we apologise once again for the inconvenience caused throughout your stay. On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for helping us improve our product.

Regards,



Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a clean modern hotel. We were there for a week from 17.04.13 bed and breakfast. Our room was on the front overlooking the road with a church opposite so there was traffic and bells, but this didnot bother us.The hotel is well positioned to use the buses for anywhere on the island and although they can be packed at times there is always another one in a few minutes.
Breakfast choice was excellent. We only had one meal in the Tabloid Restaurant which was good but could have been better if the main course could have been served fresh and at a flat cost of 25 euros per person for six courses, this to us was overfacing. We preferred the Talk of the Town Cafe which is attached to the Hotel, where the food was freshly cooked and there was an excellent choice, with staff that were extremely helpful both in service as well as information.

One big disappointment was that the sun terrace seemed small although could have accomodated more sunbeds, which if laid out differently, could have accomodated more guests,instead, like ourselves arriving there and having to go away as no sunbeds available.

We knew the sister hotel The Victoria could be accessed from The Palace but felt it would have been helpful to guests if in the Lifts there had been directions.

As 5 star level differs depending where you are we were very satisfied with The Palace and would thank all the staff and staff at the Talk of the Town for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear LizN47,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a clean modern hotel. There is a spacious feel to it. Well located for local restaurants, walks etc. Food is good and staff extremely helpful. My first night the hotel was overbooked and had a pleasant room but small with no windows. Second night a large room of high standard but no view. The hotel and staff were very apologetic about the first night and refunded the room rate.
Felt more 4 star than five.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear M C,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.


On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.


Regards,


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Palace for a week to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. Had emailed to request a possible room with a view as it was a special occasion and we were not disappointed. We were given room 552 which had a lovely view towards Valletta.

We ate half board in the Tabloid Restaurant and the food was delicious and varied each day. The breakfast choice was the best We have ever had. On my husband's birthday we arrived back at our room and there was a surprise birthday cake waiting for him. It really made the holiday.

We went on one organised trip to Gozo and the rest of the time we used the local Arriva buses to get around the Island. Beware, they get very busy and it can be standing room only. We also used the local ferry to get to Valletta and the Harbour Cruise is well worth doing.

Thank you to all the staff at The Palace who made it a holiday to remember.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear DevonEaters,

The Management is pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, most importantly we are extremely pleased to hear that our dedicated team have made your husband's 60th birthday a one to remember.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gzira
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel well up to 5 star level except for a few inadequate policies.
Firstly you have to ask for bathrobes even when staying in a superior room.
Toiletries lack conditioner and face cloths.
Aside from these small teething problems the major downside to an otherwise pleasant experience is the small tiny indoor pool. Deck chairs are limited when the weather does not permit outdoor swimming and there are some maintenance issues which are mostly decorative. Steps to immerse yourself are not ideal for kids as they have sharp edges.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitejetGzira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff so accommodating, room very modern, amazing rooftop pool. Really great variety at breakfast. Great location even though a short walk to the sea front. Would love to go again. Has a spa which was a shame we didn't use it. Had a indoor pool to which had a secret small terrace with sun beds on, looked very private and snuggle. Had our own car so used the hotels own car park. It is around the corner and not obvious but was shown by the door man on first arrival so not a problem afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Golfer35,


Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Regards


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing