We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 6 days in September. We had a deluxe room with balcony, and sea view. . Worth paying extra for! The room was bright, large and clean. The hotel is well located let them organise the transfers.

The pool area on the top floor is good, with the infinity pool and awesome views all around.

Try the TemptAsian Restaurant on the top floor, you wont be disappointed.

Welcome was fantastic, as were all the staff - the half board was could not be faulted

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with balcony, and sea view. . Worth paying extra for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keltoshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    941
    286
    78
    29
See reviews for
430
2,006
139
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a lovely warm welcome at reception and a complimentary soft drink. The room was good; incredibly clean and modern in style with it had a kind of wall partition for bathroom and toilet. Only disappointment was the size of the indoor pool - was hoping to have a good swim but it was not big enough. Dito roof pool. The hotel is smaller in size than the usual massive blocks in Malta so this was a nice change and the downstairs cafe had excellent coffee and cookies and cakes and all common areas were modern, stylish and cosy too. I had the feeling that if I had been travelling alone I would have been perfectly happy staying here. There was an excellent art gallery called 'Lily Aguis' nearby and also a suishi take away shop just on the next street. It's very easy to get everywhere from here; even Valetta is just a short hop and a skip over the water by water taxi from the main street just 5 minutes walk down the hill.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to talk to staff if not satisfied; they were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently spent a week in this excellent hotel and I could not fault it in any way. It is a 5 star hotel and I certainly got 5 star service. The accommodation was spacious, well furnished and comfortable. The choice at both breakfast and dinner was considerable and everything was cooked to perfection. All members of staff with whom I came into contact with were courtous, helfpul and friendly. I am happy to recommend the Palace Hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malmac5713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in good location. We had view of sea from balcony and room was spacious and spotless. The staff could not do enough for us. Beautiful flowers for in -laws 50th anniversary.Every request was dealt with efficiently, from gluten free bread to directions to the nearest supermarket ( Scotts- well stocked and cheap). The breakfast buffet was fantastic as was the rooftop restaurant Temptasian. We had one of best meals ever there and the location was breath taking. Only criticism is that service in the bar was slow but ,having said that ,when we commented the Deputy Manager insisted we had free cocktails. We would love to go back again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Xena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.

Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudarg
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at The Palace for a half-term break on 27th October and stayed for 7 nights. Our transfer from Luqua Airport was organised by the hotel and as we had a substantial suitcase apiece, a larger car was sent. Check in was seamless and in no time at all we found ourself in a Junior Suite on the 9th Floor. We decided to eat out on the first evening and enjoyed a delicious meal in an unpretentious restaurant by the water's edge at the bottom of the hill. Following this we ought a set of dinners from the hotel which allowed for a meal in the Asian Restaurant in the Palace, one at Copperfield's next door at the Victoria and a third in the Palace's own restaurant. The 9th Floor Asian meal was delightful with a super range of dishes brought to our personal gazebo. The Palace Buffet was varied an of good quality. We were less impressed with the meal taken a The Victoria in Copperfield's.
We breakfasted every at and thoroughly enjoyed the variation and the glass of sparkling white wine!
Our room was efficiently serviced by a pleasant Polish lady each morning. We made use of the Receptionists to book meals, entertainments and outings. Absolutely no request was to difficult and service was always with a smile.
A word about our room. It was spacious and benefitted from a substantial balcony affording spectacular Jews across to Valletta and beyond. We were about 20 seconds from the envigourating 'Infinity' pool which we used daily.
She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed had a full massage in the Spa and found the experience very agreeable.
Another little added extra was an invitation to drinks with the hotel Ensor management team in the bar. This was a great touch and enabled us to meet those responsible for, what is, a very slick operation.
We have travelled extensively over many years and would count 'The Palace' amongst the nicest and best run places we have ever stayed in. We think that the reason for their success is down to two things; attention to detail & teamwork.
We will almost certainly be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from a week at the Palace Hotel in Sliema during
the Mdina Grand Prix 2012 Clasic Car Event. We had a fantastic week
and cannot fault this hotel in any way. All-round attention to detail,
friendliness and professionalism made our week there a real pleasure.
Breakfast was wonderful, you name it you could have it. The room was
spacious, clean & bright. It was a peaceful place to stay. The Palace
Sliema Malta is definately worthy of it's 5 stars. really looking
forward to go back next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skunkworksmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided during your stay, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to meeting you and hosting your with us again.


Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Palace from 23 - 30 October '12. It's a five minute walk either down a fairly steep road to the ferry terminal/ prom or a five minute walk down a gentle slope to the prom on the St Juliens side of Sliema. We had a deluxe room with balcony but because we asked for a quiet room our balony was about 6 inches deep and overlooked a internal rotunda. We decided to keep the room as we figured there may be noise from a balcony onto the road. The room was very large and modern with two huge beds. We didn't like the modern opening of the bathroom wall top and bottom into the room as it meant everything in the bathroom/toilet was overheard in the room. There are strict rules on splashing etc in the rooftop pool and no splashing and silence required in the indoor pool. This was OK for us but families may not find it fun. The food in the Tabloid restaurant was OK (leftovers from dinner were presented again at breakfast e.g. apple crumble) but we sometimes struggled to find something we fancied to eat (pear and brocolli soup twice in a week). The Temptasian restaurant on the roof was very nice but would recommend booking especially at weekends as it gets busy; it did have expensive dishes but there were plenty of affordable dishes too. We found the Palace relaxing and will probably return but would recommend putting the "please clean my room" sign on the door to ensure your room is cleaned every day.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room if there are more than two in your party. Our quiet room (455) was the largest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita-Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing