We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably The Best Hotel in Sliema” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably The Best Hotel in Sliema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was quite a nice hotel with a very large room and a great balcony with a great sea view. The swimming pool were quite cute with the great view of Sliema. The staff was perfect and friendly. I definitely recommend this hotel if you ever go to Malta...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely



Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
T: 00356 22623106
E: jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,929
    924
    280
    78
    29
See reviews for
425
1,981
135
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Review based on ten night full board stay from 1st October staying in a superior deluxe room with sea view. Room 645. Having paid over £2300 for our accommodation we were expecting big things!

On arrival there had clearly been a break down in communication between the hotel and tour company lowcostholidays who we had made the booking through as staff initially believed that we had booked two rooms when we had booked the one double room. Unlike previous reviewers we were not fortunate enough to be able to go straight to our room either which wasn't ready until 3pm meaning a wait of over 3 hours in the lobby and talk of the town bar. Fortunately the service and lunch we ate made up for this wait - a lovely BBQ chicken breast on focaccia bread. The porter then helped carry our luggage to the room on the 6th floor.
Good sized room with modern decor and spotlessly clean. The only issues with the room are very poor hot water pressure on the sink basin (the complete opposite with the hot water pressure on the shower/bath which provided plenty of water even at busy times). The balcony furniture needs replacing, ours was OK but not 5 star by any means. The mini bar/fridge is more luke warm than cool and will be found empty unless you request it filled prior to arrival and during your stay. Prices are what you would expect for a five star rated hotel so my advice is to visit Scott's supermarket around the corner where 12 bottles of San Michel bottled still water will set you back 3 euros or 4 cans of the local brew lager CISK will set you back around 6 euros. They also stock bottles of English real ale and John Smiths for bitter and not lager drinkers. Having booked FB accommodation dinner in The Tabloid restaurant was included in the price, if you are a fish lover like me you won't be disappointed with plenty on the menu especially king prawns, mussels, clams, swordfish, tuna and salmon. The food is all you can eat buffet style with a good selection of home made desserts and puddings or wide variety of cheeses. The restaurant staff cannot be faulted, they are all 5 star. Again expect to pay the normal bar prices for a hotel of this rating, just under 5 euros for a pint of Stella Artois, 6 euros for a pimms and lemonade.
Excellent choice at breakfast and a choice of eating in or outdoors. The only issue again as per previous reviews were the number of fruit flies, on some days we found citronella candles had been lit and this clearly made a huge difference but on other days these were absent and the number of flies noticeable.
The views of Sliema from the top floor pool and terrace are probably the best in Malta with the hotel been one of the tallest buildings in the town. No problems getting a sun bed what so ever.

In conclusion The Palace is a modern and spotlessly clean hotel located in a peaceful Maltese street just ten minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Sliema's main tourist centre. It's without doubt that the best part of this hotel are the staff whether it be the housekeeping or waiters/waitresses and bar staff. They are all friendly, approachable and extremely hard working.
The only areas which require improvements are a complete lack of evening entertainment (as per previous reviews a pianoist or something along these lines would be a nice addition on perhaps two or three nights of the week, it would stop guests leaving the hotel and going elsewhere after dinner in the evenings). Free Wi Fi should be made available throughout the hotel not just in the public areas on the ground floor. Instead guests are asked to pay 5 euros per hour for its use away from these areas.

Room Tip: The higher the better, shouldn't find any problems on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakedistrictchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Further to your comments I confirm that we certainly do our utmost to ensure that the rooms are ready inspected before 15:00hrs as we understand that guest might be tired after a long journey.

With regards to the minibars following guest request and comments it has been decided by the management to remove the items as most guests preferred to purchase items from outside The Palace. May I also bring to the attention that we also provide a Mini Market which is situated on level 0 of our sister hotel The Victoria at very competitive prices.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely



Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
T: 00356 22623106
E: jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked into the hotel at the last minute after our pre-arranged accommodation had fallen through when we arrived in Malta. What a wonderful hotel with the most helpful of staff. From the moment we arrived the staff simply couldn't do enough for us, and our room overlooking Sliema Creek had a superb sun terrace equipped with the very best of sun loungers. The leisure facilites and roof top swimming pool are amazing and the food in the Asian restaurant has to be tasted to be believed...and to eat while watching fireworks light up the sky over Valletta was a real bonus. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone and can't tell you how thankful we were to all the staff (but Moul in particular) for their help and attentiveness during our stay

Room Tip: We highly recommend 'The Light' Suite for its size and view over Sliema Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longfellow1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely



Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
T: 00356 22623106
E: jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Palace hotel which was great.

Hotel staff were polite and happy to help, decor was very modern and the rooftop infinity pool was fabulous with beautiful views across Sliema and over to Valetta. We had a couples massage in the Spa which I would highly recommend. The huge bed was so comfy, it was hard to leave it each day!

I would agree with other comments that this is more a 4 star hotel as it isn't perfect. There were little imperfections such as a cracked soap dish holder, a few mouldy tiles in the bathroom and whenever you had a shower it leaked under the shower screen so there was a big flood on the bathroom floor. We did mention this and someone was sent up to fix it but it was still the same. You would expect perfection from a 5 star hotel.

We were lucky to get the room we had with a balcony on the 3rd floor with views over the roof tops to Valetta. We booked it on the same day we arrived after having to move from our initial hotel in Qwara which was awful! I'm not sure I would have been happy with one of the inside rooms with no balcony which looked down to reception so be wary of this when booking and request a balcony as close to the 7th floor as you can get.

Overall a great stay and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and one on the higher floors to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations. It is in fact only through your comments and suggestions that we may achieve what we are striving for.

Further to your comments I confirm that we have taken immediate internal action was taken to ensure that such inconveniences are not repeated.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta. All the team will surely give their utmost to give you the 5 star service which we constantly strive for.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments and suggestions.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely



Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
T: 00356 22623106
E: jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having great expectations for this 5 star hotel we were very disappointed. Payment up front (which seemed strange). No possibility of the free upgrade offered in the advert. We had room 144 on the first floor, which shared a roof terrace with the rooms either side, divided by plant pots of dead bushes. The view was of 5 air conditioning funnels and beyond these the back of a derelict building. On complaining we were moved to the next floor - room 245. Identical room (not as good as a Premier Inn room). This did have a small balcony and a slightly better view, being a floor higher. I had asked for a room with a view but was told they were fully booked.
THE GOOD - clean, breakfast food and service, spa and beauty salon, use of computer, safe in our room.
THE BAD - location is up a hill, which means a lot of up hill walking. No opulence for a 5 star hotel.
THE UGLY - the rooms on the first and second floors with no view and very plain.
Pauline, the receptionist was most unhelpful and scouled at us as we crossed the lounge each day. She didn't tell us we needed permits for towels at the roof pool or how to arrange the pre booked massages when we booked in.
The air conditioning was noisy all night (although we had switched it off) and if we opened the balcony door the Church bells chimmed every 1/4 hour day and night. Glad to get home for a good night's sleep.
Would I recommend to a friend - NO
would we return to this hotel again - NO

Room Tip: See your room before paying, or better still - stay in a hotel on the sea front with beautiful sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticladyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Well situated with easy access to shops, beaches, and all the facilities that you will ever need during your stay in Malta. The Hotel staff were kind, welcoming and thoughtful and catered for our every need, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious with excellent housekeeping and the views from our particular room were stunning both day and night. The food was always well presented and an enormous selection was always available. The views from the rooftop pool were stunning with something new to see everyday and an ideal spot to catch some rays all day long and take a dip to cool off when needed. There are many travel links just a stroll away from the hotels it's easy to take in the whole island experience. I would like to say thanks for the bottle of wine left by the managers and staff on the actual day of our anniversary, attention to detail really matters and the Hotel does cater for your every need. We cannot think of a better place to have celebrated our 25th so thank you and well done to the Hotel, it's Managers and staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Upper floor with balcony to fully enjoy the views. Upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rev_Manager, Operations Executive at The Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Malta. You have been kind enough to dedicate some of your time to compliment us on the service we have provided you with, which we truly appreciate.

We are all very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us particularly on your 25th wedding anniversary. Our ultimate objective is to serve and satisfy you with your expectations.

Whilst thanking you for your lovely words and praise, I encourage you to contact us at any time for any help you might need in making any future bookings for your next visit in Malta.

On behalf of all the management and staff at The Palace, I would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely



Jonathan Pisani
Operations Executive
The Palace
T: 00356 22623106
E: jonathan.pisani@axhotelsmalta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed her for 8 days in September with my girlfriend. We were kinda nervous driving through Sliema from the airport, since most of Malta looks like Beirut in the 80's, but the hotel looked nice, and fairly new upon arrival.

Check in was smooth and fast, which is always nice after a tiresome flight.

Room was spacious, with a huge comfortable bed. No view to speak of, just som scruffy looking backyard and a glimpse of the sea above the rooftops. Small porch with two chairs (old and worn).

The bathroom was ok, but water everywhere when showering (in the bathtub), and the doors were to short (15cm gaps top and bottom), so no privacy when going to the lavatory. Had to turn up the TV... Not impressed.

The AC was extremely noisy, so had to turn it off to get som rest from the noise at night.

No free wi-fi, which is scandalous, if you call yourself a 5-star hotel.

Rooftop swimmingpool was a nice touch, with great views of Sliema, St. Julians bay and Valletta.

The best thing about this hotel, is the restaurant on the 9th floor called Temptasian. Perfect food and great staff!

Not a 5-star, but a decent 4. 5-star hotels should be perfect, this is not.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
9.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Property: The Palace
Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The inside decor is smartened by the contemporary art & sculpture collections. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace and Palazzo Capua, with 149 rooms, are both supplemented by eight unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing