We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Sliema hotel.”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed her for 8 days in September with my girlfriend. We were kinda nervous driving through Sliema from the airport, since most of Malta looks like Beirut in the 80's, but the hotel looked nice, and fairly new upon arrival.

Check in was smooth and fast, which is always nice after a tiresome flight.

Room was spacious, with a huge comfortable bed. No view to speak of, just som scruffy looking backyard and a glimpse of the sea above the rooftops. Small porch with two chairs (old and worn).

The bathroom was ok, but water everywhere when showering (in the bathtub), and the doors were to short (15cm gaps top and bottom), so no privacy when going to the lavatory. Had to turn up the TV... Not impressed.

The AC was extremely noisy, so had to turn it off to get som rest from the noise at night.

No free wi-fi, which is scandalous, if you call yourself a 5-star hotel.

Rooftop swimmingpool was a nice touch, with great views of Sliema, St. Julians bay and Valletta.

The best thing about this hotel, is the restaurant on the 9th floor called Temptasian. Perfect food and great staff!

Not a 5-star, but a decent 4. 5-star hotels should be perfect, this is not.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,148 - 2,154 of 3,596 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, my 6 month old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights in September. I booked on-line the room the night before arrival, a deluxe-room. Since we needed a baby cot I called them before doing the booking to check that everything would be alright. When we arrived the day after at 1 pm the room wasn't ready yet so we went to roof where there is a beautiful terrace with stunning views. The lady told us that we would get a bigger room in order to have more space for the cot (very nice of them). Around 3 pm we got the key of room 263. It was a big room with a very long corridor, that's very nice but we were surprised when we opened the wardrobes. Out of 4, 2 of them had no shelves at all or even a bar where to hang our clothes. Those accessories had been removed. We ended up leaving the clothes at the bottom of the wardrobe. The second surprise arrived when we went to the spacious bathroom: the shower had no glass screen, just a 70's curtain quite dirty at the bottom and the painting from the ceiling was falling apart. After spending the night in that room we decided that it wasn't worth the money we were going to pay for the 9 nights and requested a solution at the reception. We got then the type of room we had booked with the upgrade of a sea view (first we had to hear that we had booked late and therefore we had got such a room! We didn't hear any apology but at least the problem was solved).
The hotel is very nice however certain things need to be improved, for example, the taps at the rooms and the furniture at the balconies need an update . The breakfast buffet was just ok, it doesn't definitely offer what a 5 star hotel should provide: no soya milk or gluten free products were available, there was no choice on how you would like to have an egg, the scrambled eggs didn't look very good, no variety on cold meat was offered. The good thing: the staff, very nice and helpful.
What we liked the most: the terrace on the top with its swimming-pool, the restaurant Temp Asian (don't miss it, it's worth a visit, the service is very good, the sushi incredible and the staff were very friendly) and the cocktails before dinner.

Room Tip: From our experience, avoid the room 263
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our first visit to Malta was made all the more enjoyable by staying at the Palace hotel. The accommodation was excellent the food first class and the staff helpful and polite. The hotel within a 10 minute walk of both sides of the ocean yet in a quiet area offers first rate spa facilities and plenty of dining options. We will certainly be going back again

Helen and Nevil Stratton

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor in the modern part and were pleased with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in October as a family group of 6 adults (2 in 50' age range - rest in 20's)

We had a good views over towards St Julians bay and all 3 rooms were beautifully furnished .
The Swimming pool on top floor had superb views all around including to Valetta

Great for watching the firework displays on a Saturday night.
Huge variety at Breakfast & they would also cook something to order - if they had the ingredients.

Mike

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor or above have sea views. Supermarket is round the corner for stocking up on Beer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had never been to malta, and I'm not one for touristy locations but we wanted sun and a direct flight so malta it was. We chose the palace to be a little bit away from all the madness!
Firstly on arrival the staff were so friendly and professional. That goes for all the staff at all times, everybody was lovely, you could not fault a thing.

When we arrived we were upgraded from the palace to the palazzo capua suites. This is a separate hotel as such but attached to the hotel. It is much more traditional and is italian architecture. Beautiful stone and high ceilings. So if you want modern stay in the palace. We loved the room though, was very different from anywhere we had stayed before, very romantice and great as you had more space.

The pool area is great, there was an issue of space though, as the victoria hotel, which is 4 star, gets to use the facilities too which means it is very full. I didn't like that as much. The pool has a lovely view over malta.

Definitely have some drinks upstairs and eat in the sushi bar, the food was very nice. Breakfast was good too, a lot of variety. The only criticism is perhaps the bathroom, in the capua suites they were a little outdated. In walking distance to sliema front etc and shopping.

ask the staff if you have any issues, they will sort them out for you.

All in all a great experience!

Room Tip: Capua suites for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Whilst we were more than happy staying at the Victoria Hotel last year we went with a different travel company this year and as they did not stay at the Victoria we chose its sister hotel The Palace for a week's holiday at the end of Sept. into Oct.
We were very satisfied with all aspects of the hotel: staff, food, cleanliness, position etc. We stayed half board and noticed most evenings there were few people dining in the ground floor restaurant.All staff were courteous and helpful though some waiting staff were almost too keen to remove used plates and cutlery.
We found our room to be spacious and it had a balcony. I'm not sure we would have been so happy had we been given a room without a balcony and no outfacing window in a five star hotel. We could hear the clock chiming frequently in a nearby clock tower but this did not disturb our sleep. There were no other sounds within or outside to disturb us either. We enjoyed finding various ways from the hotel to the front of Sliema.
One thing we felt lacking was evening entertainment in the hotel. Maybe a piano playing light music some evenings in the foyer area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineIanCropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is truly a 5 star property in a central location. The views from the higher floors are lovely. The modern style and amenities are everything one would expect at a Four Seasons or similar hotel.

I think the only fault people might have is that it is not on the beach (about 2 blocks away). The other issue is that it shares it's pool beautiful infinity pool and other recreation facilities with it's sister hotel The Victoria next door. I did not have a problem with this however.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTravelerMVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,076 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,964 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $105 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing