We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable palace”
Review of The Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I spent New Year at the palace and paid just over £400 each for a week BB. This was exceptionally good value for this time of year and I wasn't disappointed. When I looked at it on the website I thought it was an old hotel with a contemporary interior. However, it is modern and adjoined to the Victoria Hotel which is placed around the historical Palazzo Capua. The rooms are very well designed and thought out even with some british plug points. Lots of dark wood, glass and mirrors and with a bed and pillows so comfortable I could have spent the week in bed! Although our room was fine, we did look at a junior suite which had a huge balcony but given the weather wasn't too hot, it would have been a waste of money but the reception staff were very accommodating in letting us look around.

Breakfast was served in the Tabloid restaurant which also served buffet dinner. The breakfast was more than ample with a selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats and a selection of hot items including bacon, sausage, eggs and beans and a good room service menu was also available.

Talk of the Town is a really nice bar/lounge area serving casual lunches and dinners as well as afternoon tea including wraps, burgers, salad, cakes etc.

There is also an Asian restaurant on the 9th floor which looked lovely but we didn't make it along here although it does have a really good reputation.

Also, in the adjoining Victoria hotel there was Penny Blacks a traditional pub serving bar meals which were very nice and also reasonable for those who preferred plain food.

Although all the food I had there was of an excellent standard, the Palace milked the New Year thing and had dinner available for two for either 140 or 200 euros! However, Penny Blacks was offering a pasta evening for those who preferred something less formal.

Sliema is not the prettiest town in Malta but the Palace is ideally located to reach the plentiful shops and bar/cafes near the promenade. Set in a residential area, its a 5-10 mins walk in various directions to reach all different parts of Sliema or St Julians which is a 20 min walk on a nice day. The Point shopping mall is close by and all of the British institutions are represented like M&S, Debenhams, Next, BHS but there are also a good range of local shops too.

The staff were very pleasant and the hotel spa offered very good deals at around 35 euros for a 45 min treatment. We went several times and although the treatments were excellent, one lasted only 30 mins but they rectified this by giving us a complimentary treatment.

There is a rooftop pool which has lovely views as well as an indoor pool, sauna and gym.

The local buses run from the promenade as do the open top buses so it is a good location to get around easily. Local buses around 2.6 euros return per person. Valletta, the capital is about 10 mins away and easily accessed. Its one of my favourite parts of Malta and definitely worth spending some time there as well as Mdina. We spent Hogmanay in Valletta and there was a huge street party which was free and really atmospheric.

Those going for the first time need to look past the crumbling buildings outwith the capital as Malta has a lot of charm if you scratch beneath the surface. Do pick your time to go as we have also been in the summer and its intensely hot.

English is widely spoken so conversing is easy and eating out simple. We went back to Ta Kolina near the hotel and had the most fantastic fillet steak on New Years Day. They do two set 4 course menus for either 20 or 25 euros which represents great value. The steak was huge and cooked to perfection. (Come out of the Palace hotel, turn left and turn left again at the corner supermarket and head down towards the coast and its on the right).

A few doors before Ta Kolina is a lovely Italian La Cuccagna and I had the most tasty Penne Pollo. The place was jumping which is surprising given its not on the main drag so booking may be worthwhile.

All in all, we enjoyed our time at the Palace and if in Malta anytime soon, would consider going back here.

Room Tip: There is a church nearby so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. Rooms on higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,385 - 2,391 of 3,574 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

I wish to to thank the Management and front office personnel of the The Palace Hotel in Sliema, Malta regarding their excellent and professional service throughout our stay at this luxurious five star Hotel. I recomment this Hotel to anyone who like pampering when abroad.

Room Tip: My tip is to ask the very helpful front office personnel when in having doubt on a query.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were here for 10 nights the hotel itself is very good but our room on top floor at side looked out on to the private clinic next door .Felt we were watching episodes of Casualty when sitting on our balcony.The rooftop pool was not always open had to get reception to send someone with key on a few occasions.Guests from its sister hotel The Victoria have access to facilities here also.The hotel itself is quite new which is a plus ,the bar food menu is good as is the Asian restaurant not much around the hotel in the way of bars etc..Sliema itself has not changed much as we were here 20 years ago its just got that jaded look about it now and a lot of the bars and restaurants are run down.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bchesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in November for 4 nights.
Unfortunately the service at arrival was very poor. We were left waiting at reception for a while, until someone came over and failed to apologise for keeping us waiting and was quite rude. The receptionist told us that we had arrived early and could not check in and would have to come back. I was really disappointed with this service and expected more, as per the other reviews. We left our bag at reception, which were left to the side and not put away, not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. Then we had a look around the hotel and was again disappointed to find some rubbish on the floor, including dirty tissues. I had spent a long time in picking this hotel and was disappointed, however things improved massively from here.
The bar was lovely and the staff are excellent, never disappointed.
We paid for a superior room and found a large bedroom with a terrace off, which was a pleasant surprise. This would have been used a lot more if the weather was good. It included sun loungers and a table and chairs. The bathroom wall does not join with the ceiling, so you can here everything that is happening in the bathroom from the bedroom. I asked for a room with a 'separate bathroom' however I was told all of the rooms were designed in this way. Overall, very impressed with the room and the bathroom was not an issue.
The rooftop pool was lovely, however too cold to use. The indoor pool was useable, however the sauna and steam room were turned off. A jacuzzi would have been a great addition!
The Temptasian restaurant was lovely for evening drinks, although I found the downstairs bar much more comfortable. The bar in the adjoining hotel was also excellent, great Nachos.
The receptionists were lovely and very helpful in booking restaurants and bars.
The spa is worth a visit, although I was surprised to find my hair being tugged at the end of a back massage.
The bells were not an issue, we faced them and were never woken as the door was closed.
The hotel exceeded my expectations and the poor welcome at the beginning was over shadowed by the rest of the stay. .

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors, looking out to Valetta. Use the in house car service, same pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in August/September and could not fault one single thing. Sometimes it is hard to choose a place to stay when reading reviews on trip advisor as there are always people that are impossible to please. I have stayed in many a luxury hotel and the experience I had at The Palace was absolutely amazing. The room was spacious and luxurious plus the staff were brilliant. My whole stay was wonderful and I would definitely recommend and will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline1980London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Fabulous hotel - very modern, clean and trendy. Probably quite a business linked hotel but you didn't feel out of place. The TemptAsian restaurant on the top floor was incredible and a must. Although Sliema as a place isn't particularly stunning and certainly not offering attractive beaches (very hard ground) the pool here located on top floor was beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kn11ghtrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have stayed at the Palace a number of times and our impression is that it is mainly a business hotel. The service is very good, but lacks that personal touch. All the facilities are excellent, especially the infinity pool on the roof, where we spent most of our time. We did ask to move rooms on one visit as we could not sleep due to the noise of the church bells and the staff responded immediately. Definitely the most modern and best equipped hotel in Sliema and we would return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the church..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukaway_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,919 reviews
1 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
1.2 mi away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#3 of 15 in Valletta
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: High Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1542, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $103 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace is a distinctive, urban five star deluxe boutique hotel - Inspired by the pulse and passion of a city center hotel. The hotel is intimate and comfortable, yet luxurious and cosmopolitan, whilst offering a unique experience of genuine hospitality. The Palace is European elegance in the heart of urban Sliema. The Palace is supplemented by six unique individually designed and decorated suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Sliema
Palace Hotel Sliema
The Palace Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing