We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palace
Nearby Hotels
Depiro Point(Sliema)
$154
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$189
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$226
$215
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$162
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$206
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corner Hostel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
$55
$42
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Granny's Inn Hostel(Sliema)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,711)
Filter reviews
3,711 results
Traveler rating
2,200
1,076
317
84
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,200
1,076
317
84
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch bellstemptasian restaurantinfinity poolcomfort roomtabloid restauranttown cafetop floorfive star hotellovely hotelsparkling winesauna and steam roomjunior suitesea frontst julianstea and coffeesister hotelshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,527 - 2,532 of 3,711 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We were staying at the Palace to start celebrating our Golden Wedding. Although we know Malta well we had not stayed at this hotel before. We found the staff very friendly, polite and professional and we are extremely pleased with our stay. The food was of good quality and more than sufficient with 3 broad choices of venue coupled with varied menus and wine lists.
Our air-conditioned room was large and well furnished with doors leading onto balcony which provided panoramic views over Sliema and the mediterranean. An off-hand remark by a serious member of staff said that this is the best hotel in Malta, in our experience this comment sums up our own experiences.

Room Tip: Speak to Hotel management direct but higher floors avoid street noise
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineS148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Got bumped to the Palace hotel for two nights due to overbooking at Le Meridien. Arrived late evening after dark and first impressions of the room ( number 439) were good, in that it was nicely furnished although too small for a five - or even a three star- hotel. The air conditioning turned out to be very noisy which did not make for a good nights sleep. The real surprise came the next morning when we realised just how dark and dismal the room was. the windows fronted on to an enclosed atrium almost entirely devoid of daylight, requiring the room light to be on at all times. This meant that the curtains had to be closed if any privacy was required e.g when getting changed etc. Upon checking the floor plan, it also transpired that the room was approximately half the size of any other room. We were very unhappy with the room and spent the absolute minimum of time there. As we were already required to move hotel after two nights we decided not to request an additional room change and we also understood that there were no other rooms available.

The rest of the hotel was great. Really enjoyed the infinity pool on the roof and the asian restaurant was really special. All in all, this could have been a very enjoyable stay, but certainly not possibe in room 439 (or the equivalent room on each floor) My advice - do NOT accept it.

Room Tip: Do not accept any room ending in 39 or indeed any room facing into the atrium.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Here for a work/academic trip very recently. Sliema - indeed much of Malta, is pretty built-up, and if you are looking for the real Mediterranean island beach experience, Sliema is probably not the place to stay. However, if staying in Malta for business, or as part of a 'two-centre' trip - eg Sliema/Valetta + Gozo, the Palace is ideal. My room was large, with a great bed, free internet access, decent TV, nice bathroom - all the 'usuals', which sadly are not always so 'usual', judging by my recent European travel experiences.
Reception staff were very helpful, and an early breakfast on the Terrace, opposite a lovely old church, takes a bit of beating. Infinity pool on the roof is small, and probably not the place for a day's sun-bathing, but fantastic for an end of day wind-down after sightseeing or working.
Location - a few minutes' walk from the Sliema 'front', with smart shops, and the Valetta ferry, boat-trip departure points, is great.
Would certainly stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room higher up - for the view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewickChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Returned a week ago from this hotel after a great 7 day stay. The hotel is beautiful, and lives up to its 5 star status. You won't find friendlier or more helpful staff anywhere, everyone from the reception staff, restaurant staff, concierge & housekeeping/cleaning are a credit to this hotel. The food is first class and the rooms are excellent. Although situated in a commercial/residential area, it is only a short walk to the harbour with its shops, bars & restaurants. Hopefully, we will be fortunate enough to return to the Palace soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at The Palace in October last year, but there was no discussion where to stay when we are next in Sliema – The Palace of course, where we will be next month
Our first stay was made all the more enjoyable by the helpfulness of the staff, from management downwards.
Reception staff in particular were helpful in booking theatre tickets, taxis and recommending places to visit etc, nothing was ever too much trouble.
We would recommend requesting a room on a high floor for the best views. Our room was spacious and modern with the most comfortable beds we have ever come across. Hotel definitely deserves its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the views
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews