We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent Christmas eve there. Our room was spacious and clean but very basic. There was a TV with a kettle and mugs. It is a budget hotel and we only paid €38 (last minute special) for bed and breakfast (continental) so we could not ask for more. It is well situated and there are restaurants and bars within walking distance. In fact there is a restaurant right on the doorstep which you have to go through to get to the very slow and small lift to take you up to reception. The breakfast area had a sea view and the staff were friendly. You may want to request a sea facing room if you book early enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fairly decent accommodation for its price, with friendly staff. However, no sign of Fire Doors anywhere in the building, meaning the single stairway and adjacent lift would be a good chimmney in the event of a fire.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A budget hotel (49euros a night) but for this you get a clean room with TV, fan and balcony (sea view). there is no air con, so open the windows and let the fan do the work. Rooms are cleaned every day and fernch towels provided. Staff could not have been more helpful and I would certainly return. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who gave good advice on place to eat. Great location for buses, restaurants and shopping. It's not a luxurious hotel, but if you want somewhere clean and comfortable to stay: this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or sea view. There are five rooms on floors 2 -8. Ask for rooms endi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were on a diving course in Early May 2012 for 2 weeks and wanted a place to stay in Sliema.

It was exceptionally hot about 26C during our visit

We were paying about £20 a night for a room with an ensuite, kettle, fridge and breakfast included.

The rooms were clean, the bed is made every day, fresh towels and soap provided. There is no bath, only a shower,which is a base with a plastic shower curtain. I am well built and there is not a lot of room in the shower however there was pleanty of hot water.

There is no air conditioning however there is a ceiling fan, which we used to put on to max.

You need to provide your own tea or coffee for your room, which was not a problem. The cups are cleaned by the maid

The dining room is on the first floor with a balcony where you can have breakfast and look out over the sea. There is plenty of fresh bread, ham, cheese, orange juice and tea or coffee.

There is also WiFi in the dining room and you can sometimes access it from your room.

The staff are friendly and very helpful in terms of assisting you regarding trips, taxis and place to eat.

When we were leaving he had an early start and the taxi turned up 15 minutes early. The reception staff fearing thet we would miss our flight when up to the room to ensure we were up and ready.

The hotel is in an excellant location in Sliema, with bars and eating places within walking distance.

It is NOT the Hilton however for what you pay it is clean and excellent value. Thanks to the staff for making our stay pleasant and enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FINLMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just back from great week in Malta stayed at the Roma first class service and very friendly and helpful, would recommend this to anyone looking for value for money accommodation , we had a room with a sea view and balcony, plenty of coffee and fresh bread for breakfast, first class!!!! Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and beds made. Would'nt hesitate to return!!! Steve and Julie Norfolk

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Visited Malta in February, stayed few nights at Roma hotel,, the hotel room was spacious had balcony with sea view , magnificent sea views each day with sunrise sunset , hotel is very convenient ,safe, clean, good value for price paid . The Strand promenade , was just across the road, which has wonderful walks ,seating accommodation. lovely to stroll along day or night. the main shopping area was just short walk away.
Bus stop just outside door of hotel, with main buses to Valletta, Airport, and about the island of Malta which has very good networking system.
Management, all staff, were very helpful pleasant, Breakfast was usual basic ,cereal, cold meats, cheese ,nice fresh bread, coffee, pots of fresh tea , made freshly. The restaurant on the ground floor of hotel , Alroma was very good ,great food and value ,fresh fresh fish- catch of the day, rabbit dish was delicious .they gave discount to guests that were staying at hotel . They were very busy every nights have bar service too,free Wi-Fi to customers .
The hotel was been re decorated, refurbished , at the time. it had tea making facilities [ no tea or coffee provided ] a fridge , no toiletries provided ,its a 3 star hotel.

It was difficult to find the Hotel even that we were on the correct street, even asking people they did not know , A large sign outside would help as the entrance was just regular door at the side leading to stairs way up to reception
I would be happy to stay here again ,its Location, location and Staff were so helpful ,chatty pleasant, We got mixed weather, the wind was very sharp [it was when Europe was frozen] ,it was Malta's coldest winter in many years,

Room Tip: 6th floor with sea view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anneos41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here because we booked through Airmiles in 2011. Whilst we were prepared for dated decor, this hotel was not only difficult to find but disappointing. We came out of season & parking was very limited. Our stay here was the blot on an otherwise lovely trip to Malta. We were very thankful it was just one night.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank JenCSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.0 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#19 of 28 in Sliema
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 28 in Sliema
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Ghar il-Lenbi Street, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1562, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range: $20 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Sliema
Hotel Roma Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing