We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel review by Jay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel review by Jay”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Room
Smaller than expected but good value for money.
Not enough storage space.
We got a double sea view room and the view of the harbour was very nice, we also had a balcony.
Other reviews mentioned noise but there was no noise on the 5th floor that we noticed.
Room was nice and clean.
For the safe and TV remote there was €10 refundable deposit each.

Location
Excellent on the waterfront, with a bus stop outside, shops a few mins walk away with everything that you need.

Breakfast - the usual buffet style.

All the staff seemed polite and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your well organised review. We are glad to hear that you found the room good value for money and you liked the sea view.

We are also glad to hear that you liked the location and found our staff helpful and polite.
One can find many alternatives for breakfast and dinner in the Bayview, as the Hotel has multiple bars and restaurants in house.

We hope you understand why the Hotel asks for a deposit for remote and safe.

As an alternative for breakfast, Full English breakfast is served on the ground floor, while pizzas, snacks and Asian dishes are also available on the ground floor all through the day.

We hope that your stay in Malta was overall enjoyable, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    529
    408
    212
    161
See reviews for
293
679
113
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We found this hotel in a good location, for walking,shopping, buses and ferries. Room had a good sea view, air conditioning was very loud so sleeping was difficult, ensuite doors wouldn't stay shut. .Breakfast was very average, dinner in the evenings had not a lot of imagination, and the desserts were the same every night.. Staff were very helpful except for the lady on the tour desk, When asking for information, if you didn't understand her directions the first time she was very abrupt, and sometimes blankly refused to help with a queiry..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you liked the view from the room. Notes have been taken regarding the air condition and bathroom door.

Thank you for highlighting the helpfulness of our staff, meanwhile we are sorry that you had difficulties by the information desk.

One can find many alternatives for breakfast and dinner in the Bayview, as the Hotel has multiple bars and restaurants in-house.

Full English breakfast is served on the ground floor for a very small price, while pizzas, snacks and Asian dishes are also available on the ground floor all through the day.

We hope that your stay in Malta was overall enjoyable, we hope to welcome you again in the future

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed in Sliema with another couple on a week's holiday in Malta. We were fortunate and got the very top floor penthouse apartment, with a gorgeous balcony overlooking the harbour and promenade. Double story, there was so much space, great kitchen that overlooked the city with plenty of equipment to make delicious meals at home if you are tired of eating out. The main bedroom was glorious with huge windows and fabulous views, while the second bedroom was slightly smaller with views over the city - still stunning. Aircon everywhere, right by a bus station and gelateria - I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Sliema!

Room Tip: 7th floor apartment - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haylsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much sharing your great opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you have been enjoying the views and facilities of the Apartment, such as its location.

Also thank you very much for the recommendation, we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Despite many complaints on this forum about the Bayside hotel and Apartments if proper research is done it is very clear what is on offer. It may be a bit hit and miss where you will be situated as there are at least 3 buildings, but all are within easy reach of each other. Just because the place is called Bayview it does not mean every room has a bay view in the same way that every Shangri La hotel does not mean you are in paradise! For the price we paid we got exactly what we expected. Namely a clean newish studio with air conditioning; TV; kitchenette with fridge,hob and microwave and a seperate shower and toilet. The rooms were made up each day and clean towels provided. Free wifi in the room was also available. There were a couple of issues. Firstly there was a table/desk but no chairs in the room which meant you had to sit on the bed. Secondly there was no plug in the sink so washing up was an issue. Thirdly the shower was a bit bizzare as it was fixed high up on the wall and didn't move so you were forced to wash your hair every time you stepped in the shower. Nonethelesss there was plenty of hot water and the pressure from the shower was good. Lastly there was a tiny balcony which had no external view and looked inward onto a small yard.

The beds although quite low are surprisingly comfortable and the hotel was quiet except for the slamming doors of late night revellers and early morning departees. Don't expect to sleep much after 8am as the cleaners start their rounds at that time and are not particularly quiet.

As regards the rest of the facilities there is a small pool in the main building which does seem to get very crowded from opening at 10 to closing at 6. There are large umbrellas for shade but space is at a premium with about 40-45 chairs/sunbeds.

Our check in was quick efficient and the staff were friendly. Special mention should go to Tristan the young man who helped us to our rooms on arrival and also helped us print our boarding cards before departure. He is a credit to the hotel in his attitude.

As regards the area, if you in any way infirm or unsteady on your feet then Sliema/Gzira is probably not for you as the road around the bay is in 2 halves. The bay side is nice, flat and well maintained. This is only spoilt by the many many cruise touts who accost you every 4/5 metres. The opposite side of the road where the hotel/apartments are situated is uneven, in need of repair and full of potentially dangerous potholes. Also away from the bay and up to the apartments and town there are fairly steep hills. Opposite the hotel on Manoel Island there is an absolutely horrendous 1970s style funfair which makes a stroll along the waterfront at night not very appealing. Left out of the hotel along the bay front is a very nice walk (once past the touts) which leads right around the point to Balluta Bay and St Julians. This is far nicer and there are swimming opportunities off the rocks into the sea at numerous places on the route. Around the hotel there are quite a few restaurants but nearly all serve exactly the same thing with little variation. If you do not like pasta or pizza, wraps or baguettes you may well be in trouble. There is one nice little gem not far from the hotel called Via Giulia which serves excellent meat and fish dishes and only a few home made pasta dishes with not a pizza in sight!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaydad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking your time to compose your comprehensive and well detailed review on Tripadvisor, we are sure that other travellers and holidaymakers will find it useful.

It is great to hear that you found the apartment exactly how you expected. Especially thank your mentioning Tristan from the front desk, both personnel and management are working hard to provide an enjoyable stay for all guests.

Meanwhile we are pleased that you have listed many points you liked during your stay in the Bayview Hotel & Apartments, notes have been taken on the matters which you listed for improvement.

Thank you for your stay and review again, we sincerely hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
english lady abroad
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here last week. I would describe it as equivalent to a Travelodge. Clean, good location and good breakfast but small rooms, no hot water unless you get up at 6 am, tiny swimming pool on the roof with not enough sun beds. The room I had was fine for one but it had twin beds so must have been meant for two. You would really struggle if that was the case. The balcony was also tiny and the view of air conditioning pipes, the back of other buildings and of your neighbours room, wouldnt encourage you to sit outside. If you had paid extra for a sea view, you could have enjoyed traffic noise and the bus stopping outside.
If you are young and just want somewhere to sleep, its fine but if you are older and like to spend a bit of time in the hotel, sitting on a balcony or by the pool, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aragorn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for taking your time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

We apologize if the hotel was not up to your standards. The Bayview Hotel & Apartments is a 3-star hotel, offering an excellent value for money that is exceeding Maltese 3-star standards both in quality and facilities.

Despite offering low priced rooms and studio apartments, junior suites and newly finished sea view apartments are also available for those who are looking for higher category accommodation. The front office personnel is always ready – up on availability – to show other rooms in case one would require and upgrade or room change.

We sincerely hope that despite your points raised, you have been enjoying your stay in Malta.
Thank you for your stay.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Firstly, it needs to pointed out that the hotel is not the same location as the apartments... so no beach views from the apartments. It is still a good location, but it's in not by the main avenue.

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment and luckily we asked to see before checking in. The one they offered us was on the first floor, smelling very moldy, the stove was missing one foot so it was in a angle and so was the fridge. 2 single beds were joined to make a double but they were not the same size or hight. After a stressful negotiation with the reception they transfered us to the top floor. The apartment was a lot better, with a great balcony, but the tap in the bathroom and the aircon on the bedroom didn't work.

Room Tip: ask to check the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annekiik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripavisor.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the first apartment you did not like, you did right to approach the reception for a room change.

Detailed description and information can be found regarding our room types and apartments on the official Bayview Hotel & Apartments website. We are truly sorry if you have not been informed about the location of the apartments, however we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with it.
Notes have been taken regarding the air conditioning and tap.

Thank you for your stay and review again, we sincerely hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very basic apartments a 2min walk from the hotel reception. In bad need of some refurbishment. The Bathroom was absolutely tiny, I had to get into the shower to close the bathroom door. In saying that rooms were well maintained and clean. Very central location with loads of bars and shopping only a five minute stroll along the promenade away! Fine as a base, very small and basic facilities. Would only stay here if using it as a base, it is most definitely not an apartment to relax in, however Malta and the surroundings has so much to offer the chances of you spending much time in the hotel is minimal!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripavisor.

We are disappointed to read that the apartment you booked was not up to your expectations and found the bathroom tiny. Our front office personnel is ready to show you another room in case you are not satisfied with the one you choose to book, meanwhile – depending on availability – there are higher category rooms and apartments for a small charge in case you are looking for an upgrade. There is comprehensive information about all our rooms and apartments on our official website.

Meanwhile we are glad that you have been enjoying the area and Malta overall.

Thank you for your stay and we sincerely hope that you will return and choose an apartment or room which you are satisfied with, our front office and reservations team will be more than happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Property: Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing