We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday 2014”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very nice hotel. Good location for all sightseeing places. Busy area but rooms are quiet .bus stops outside hotel good service and cheep I would recommend this hotel staff were excellent very good food

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room witch looks out over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ethel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review here on Tripadvisor. We are utmost glad to hear that you found the Bayview Hotel & Apartments excellent and once again thank you for highlighting the features we are proud of.

Both staff and management are taking care to exceed the 3-star category standards both in regards of product and service.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    532
    410
    213
    162
See reviews for
294
683
115
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at the Bayview Hotel in Sliema as part of a package purchased from Mercury Direct in the UK.

The room itself was OK, and had great views across the bay towards Valetta (we paid a small premium for a seaview room, which was well worth the extra). My only criticism of the room would be the bath/shower, which was so designed as to be impossible to get into safely, as the shower partition was fixed in position, resulting in you having to step into the shower at the sloping end of the bath, which even for fit healthy people was tricky when wet. For someone less able it would be impossible to have a bath/shower safely.

Our package included breakfast, which was buffet style, as is normal in most hotels of this type. The breakfast was simply appalling. “Orange juice” was watered down squash, the coffee must have been made with the machine set to use the absolute minimum amount of coffee possible, the “fresh fruit” comprised virtually all tinned cheap fruit, with no items such as melons, pineapple, raspberries, blueberries, strawberries etc. The cooked items were obviously the cheapest available, minimal amounts were supplied and these often ran out.

In the cafe/bar area of the hotel excellent coffee was available plus “real” food (as extras, not included in the inclusive package), so one can only conclude that the hotel was capable of producing a decent breakfast but chose not to to maximise profit.

The hotel itself is slightly outside the main “hotel/tourist” areas of Sliema, but is only some 400/600m from numerous cafes/restaurants. There is a lot of construction around the hotel, and it is clear that the area is a “work in progress”, but the pricing of the hotel compared with ones in the main tourist area reflects this.

If you stay at this hotel, do it on a room only basis and eat elsewhere. It's a poor/average hotel in a potentially nice location which is fine if you get a cheap deal.

In terms of Malta itself we much enjoyed the holiday and would return.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room, book on a room only basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time submitting your review. Notes have been taken regarding the showers. Notes have been taken regarding your valuable comments on the shower.

It was good to read that you have been enjoying the sea view room you had chosen and we are glad that you found the value good for the pricing.

The Bayview Hotel & Apartments is aiming to keep exceeding the 3-star category standards by giving as much to the guests as possible.

We are sorry to hear that the breakfast we serve is not to your liking but we are happy that you found the breakfast good in the bar.

In the name of both staff and management, we would like to thank you for your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Although the 2 bed apartment was large and reasonably equipped, staff were not only unhelpful but rather rude. We ended in an apartment in front of a construction site which was bad enough but the staff attitude towards us was horrendous.
Sliema is not a nice resort, generally crowded and very busy, not a holiday destination. No parking spaces.

Room Tip: If you have a car pick a hotel with a car park as it is very difficult to park in sliema and Vallett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read that your stay was not as you expected and you found Sliema disappointing.

Sliema, as advertised, is the one of the most busy area of Malta, offering excellent shopping and dining opportunities, also excursions and cultural highlights. There are certain areas in Malta which are providing the experience you have been looking for.

Please take our sincere apologies in case you have experienced the staff impolite during your stay, however it is surprising as our team are usually professional, friendly and helpful.

We hope that you have enjoyed the apartment you stayed in and also that your holiday in Malta was enjoyable in general.

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Upon arrival were welcomed by exceptionally nice reception staff. We then have been upgraded to a newly refurbished/new build appartment just up the road. It was exceptionally clean and secure. The appartments are away from the main road but only 2 min walk to marina. There are several bars and restaurants within walking distance. It has been a great experience and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your short but positive review. It was our pleasure to upgrade and give you the newly built sea view apartments and we are utmost glad that you have enjoyed it.

It is good to read that you had a great experience in Malta, staying at the Bayview Hotel & Apartments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The view was exceptional across Manoel Island to Valletta. The apartment was spacious and reasonably well equipped. The kitchen sink was "shoe horned" into a corner, which made it difficult to use. The beds had slippery mattresses, and non fitted sheets, which meant if you turned over all the bedding was on the floor. There were no mattress protectors on the beds to make them less "slippery" The pillows looked awful
filled with cubes of foam rubber, but were surprisingly OK. On a future trip to Malta I would use this Hotel again, and probably avoid the B&B, and use the ground floor cafe. The maintenance staff were very good and quick. I would recommend the management look at the apartments and have a proper inspection and spring clean before the season starts. This could be a 5 star place to stay if a few minor things were attended to. For now it is OK for a base, let down by small things such as rusty bathroom bins and dated furnishings.

Room Tip: Sliema is an ugly development within Malta, but the views of Valletta are great, and Sliema is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and constructive review. Notes have been taken and your suggestions will be considered to be included in the ongoing maintenance programme.

We are glad that you found the Oblico Café fine for your breakfast, the restaurants of the Bayview Hotel & Apartments are offering a rich choice for dining for those who do not choose breakfast or half board.

Thank you for your stay with us and also for your valuable review.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have stayed here twice. It is a bit dated. A change of curtains and bedding would make all the difference. The beds were not that comfortable either. I will say my room was well serviced and cleaned every day. I wasn't on a b and b basis but the cafe on the ground floor does great food especially the English Breakfast which was superb value at €3.95. The location is great as its easy access of everywhere, There is a small pool on the rooftop and some loungers which is fine for sunbathing with lovely views. So if it is budget accommodation you want and a central base to work from, it does the job

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrinaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewHotelMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review, we were glad to read your points which you enjoyed and notes have been taken regarding what you suggested.

It was good to read that you recognized our facilities such as the pools and sun deck which we offer for free to our guests and also the English Breakfast which you found to be a superb value.

We hope that your stay was overall a good one in the Bayview and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were originally given a 6th floor room which was located under the indoor swimming pool, this consequently made the ceiling extremely low and made the room feel claustrophobic. The bathroom was a little manky due to a water leak from above staining the wall above the toilet. Another issue turned out to be the constant hum if the plant equipment from the room above. In fairness to the hotel, we were relocated to a better room once we had complained.
We stayed breakfast only and found the food to be average. Would we stay there again.....No.

Room Tip: Try to get one on any floor but the 6th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMWS1000XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel & Apartments

Property: Bayview Hotel & Apartments
Address: 143, Triq Ix Xatt, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Hotel is ideally situated on the seafront, just 100 meters away from Sliema. It offers a variety of rooms that have balconies with sea views, side sea views and inland views, which can accommodate up to four persons. All rooms have the necessary commodities one would need whilst on holiday. The hotel is just a short walk away from Sliema. Sliema is one of Malta's busiest shopping areas with an array of shops, cafes and restaurants to suit every desire. Just a short drive away from the hotel is the St Julian's / Paceville area, which is the hub of nightlife, which includes various clubs as well as restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel And Apartments
Bayview Hotel Sliema
Bayview Hotel & Apartments Malta/Sliema
Hotel Bayview Sliema
Bayview Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing