We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sliema
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

1) Great localisation 100 m from Sliema Ferries, lots of buses and ferries can take you anywhere, it's near to many shops, supermarkets, clubs, and cafes.
2) Hostel is very clean, rooms are cleaned every day. We stayed in the red room dorm, which is bright, spacious, has a private shover, two toilets and a beautiful traditional Maltese balcony.
3) Beautiful common area, small backyard with bbq and tables, kitchen extremely well equipped, chill out room in the basement with comfy sofa and big tv, board games and books available for guests to use.Wifi works great.
4) There's always hot water with good water pressure
5) Slept better than at home - beds are comfy, during winter (we stayed at the beggining of March) you get a warm quilt and the owners asked if anyone needs an extra blanket. The area is very quiet at night.
6) Good value for money, definitely the best hostel i stayed in, I'd reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loyse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Owner at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Loyse,

Thank you very much for your great review. I have to say that reading your comments put a big smile on my face.
I have personally been around many hostels and to read that someone actually admitted to sleeping better in a hostel compared to their home is a big one. Our mattresses are indeed really really comfortable and this is not the first time we have had similar comments :)

Thank you also for your other comments which I can guaranteed have even gotten better since your stay, except our location of course...

We hope to welcome you back in Sliema very soon, do contact us directly to get special offers for direct bookings.

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 360 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Superb location just a minute away from the ferry to Valletta, my wife and I stayed in the wonderful private room whcih had also 2 french balconies overlooking the lovely street and also sea views. Free wifi in the room worked all the time and was pretty fast, cleaning lady does an excellent job also to clean our spilled wine...thank you we definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Andres,

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. We really appreciate that you shared your opinion.

We hope to welcome you back in Sliema very soon.

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at Two Pillows earleir this year and we can only think good things to say about this unique place. The house itself is charming and Ben has made an excellent job into making it the ideal base for us exploring the island, location is spot on, we loved the ferry trip to Valletta and finally Rita with her tips was the cherry on our cake. Thank you and see you in September. xxx The Walkers

Room Tip: Stayed in Red room and Orange room, both overlooking the quiet street full of Maltese Balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Kim,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am thrilled to read such comments on our lovely building which we think deserves all the praise it is given.

We especial thank you for your praise of our staff. We look forward in having you stay back with us shortly.

Have a Great Day
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great people. Clean rooms. Beautiful area and equally beautiful building. Great location. All the amenities you need. The trip we had was amazing but the Two Pillows made it even better! Would recommend to closest friends and family. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NateHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Nate,

Thank you for your excellent review. I was so pleased to read that we managed to make your stay that little bit extra special.

Thank you again for your superb recommendations.

Have a Great Day
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I booked a shared room at the Two Pillows hostel around New Year. My flight was late before I even got to the airport so I knew I couldn't catch a bus at night, but Rita helped me arrange a taxi pick up form the airport. She, and her sons advised me what to see, try etc, local restaurant recommended by them was fantastic. Room was always clean. Shared area was very tidy and comfortable. I've met fantastic people there and made few new friends. Already planning my trip back to Malta for some stunning diving and I know where I'll be staying - at Two Pillows for sure :)

Room Tip: I stayed in the brown room which has own shower, toilet just for people in that room, if you have fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya-Paulina-Cmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Maya,

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel and are proud that we have since already had you stay with us again to get some more diving in our clear blue waters.

We really appreciate that you shared your opinion and look forward to meeting you again shortly.

Have a Great Day,
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Yes, this is a great hospitality hostel in Malta, great locations in Sliema as well. The hostel is full accomplished with Ikea stuff, from the kitchen, room and the toilet. I won't regret with their facilities.

BUT

The hostel didn't give you privacy as what you need a great holiday in Malta. This hostel is a family business-type, so their family is around the hostel almost 24 hours a day. They are the receptionist, they are cleaner, they are manager and they are bosses as well. They are around the hostel like the hostel is their second home. They did their job in the kitchen (supposedly the kitchen is for hostel costumer), they cooked in the hostel and eaten in the hostel kitchen (which is not good for other costumer to used the kitchen independently) and this kind of attitude make us unhappy and trouble because the environment stopped us to enjoy the hostel.

The staff is also terrible as well. They are very rude, unsmiling face and keep looking at us what we did in the hostel kitchen. They complaint that they have to clean the kitchen stuff ( Charcoal Gourmet Grill) for two hours, even we tried to clean after used that. By the way, IT IS NOT OUR JOB TO CLEAN UP everything, because we paid for the service. This is make us really terrible and unhappy! The worst thing, we ask them to use reception toilet because we just check out from the hostel, and then the toilet a bit dirty because of shoes foot steps, then they ask us TO CLEAN to toilet before we move out. What the hell? We paid for the service, then they ask us to did that?

They are terrible stuff, you don't feel like holiday to stay at this hostel. We won't stay at this hostel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syafiqman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. The opinion of our guests is very useful for us in order to improve. We have checked your allegations with all our staff and below are some clarifications to your version of events, for the sake of our future guests.

Firstly, we cannot quite understand what you mean by complaining about privacy. We have 3 studio apartments on the top floors of the hostel for anyone wanting more privacy. You booked our shared beds in the lovely dorm rooms. What you fail to mention is that we upgraded your group to 2 separate rooms, where you could stay men separate from women as you requested. You also fail to mention that we kept the rooms private for your entire stay, blocking the extra beds at no extra charge.

Two Pillows is in fact a family run business and we're proud of the dedication we give to the hostel. We also have other lovely staff employed as receptionists, cleaners etc. We are usually praised for making ourselves available to our guests. We find it rather odd to be criticised because of this.

For the record:
- On your last night, your group used the barbecue in the terrace. There are rules about this for the sake of the other guests, including not using the patio after 23:00 (not to wake up other guests) and not to cook fish on the barbecue (because it can be smelt through the windows of the bedrooms). One of our other guests in fact emailed us to let us know that your group was cooking fish and complained about the smell and noise. The following morning the cleaners spent a long time cleaning the fish parts you decided to leave on the BBQ.

- On your last day, your group made use of the main kitchen well after you were supposed to be already checked out.

- Finally, as we welcomed you back to wait for your airport transfer, you (in particular yourself) decided to make a mess of the public toilet in the reception. I myself was present at the time and remember asking you to have some decency, if not for us for other guests staying at the hostel. We never asked you to clean the toilet and do not appreciate you lying about this.

At Two Pillows, we are all about respect to guests. Even though our cleaners clean everywhere thoroughly on a daily basis, we also ask that as a courtesy to other guests, you clear up after yourselves when using the common areas. We have signs explaining the house rules, which we think is a must in shared accommodation to make sure that everyone is kept happy.

It is good to note that your friends actually thanked us before they left and came to apologise for the events.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review us, and I am sorry that your experience was not as positive as the many others that have shared their experiences on TripAdvisor.


Have a Great Day
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hostei is located in a quiet residential area up the hill from the ferries. There are some rules for guests to stay comfortably.here.There are a lot of cookware in this kitchen.You can pick up favorite food at markets and supermarkets,and cook you want to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meiryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPillowsMalta, Guest Relations Manager at Two Pillows Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Mr Meiryo,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and your tips for travellers, we are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are ever coming back to Malta, we will offer you our best rates!

Have a Great Day,
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Boho Hostel
Boho Hostel
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corner Hostel
Corner Hostel
#4 of 20 in Sliema
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Pillows Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Pillows Boutique Hostel

Address: 49 Triq San Piju V, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1423, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sliema
Price Range: $26 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Two Pillows Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the centre of Sliema and right opposite Valletta Harbour, Two Pillows Boutique Hostel is a 100m walk from Sliema Ferries the best place to eat, drink and shop in Malta. Two Pillows Boutique Hostel has access to 4 beautiful beaches and lidos all within 5-10 minutes walk. Just in front of the hostel you can find a traditional baker and also a grocer situated in the picturesque street full of Maltese balconies. If you want bigger supermarkets there are 3 to choose from all within 2-6 minutes walk. All our rooms offer free Wi-Fi.This tranquil traditional Maltese Town house has been professionally converted to offer modern-style rooms feature free silent air-conditioning, kitchenette, LED TV and private shower. Some rooms have a terrace with sea and city views. A fully equipped common kitchen is available to all guests and also breakfast is served daily in the breakfast room. Hostel guests can socialise in the patio, complete with BBQ facilities, or relax in the chill-out room. From Sliema Ferries, Valletta is a 5 minute boat ride away or 10 minutes by bus. Buses from the ferries can take you directly to almost all destinations in Malta making for best hub on the island. Direct buses also operate to and from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Two Pillows Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Pillows Boutique Hostel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing