We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real truth and nothing but,,,,” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Europa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
LEEDS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real truth and nothing but,,,,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent Xmas here mainly because it was round the corner from family.

We arrived in the dark and the first night we wondered why the hell we booked this place !
The landing from the first floor up is open and the noise travels, loud banging doors etc...

Breakfast is a bit limited cereals, toast , eggs , ham, cheese , jams ,bread , etc...
The coffee is very good , I had cheese and ham toasties self made but nice enough , my wife liked the raisin bread toast . At first glance the breakfast looks like ( OMG what am I going to eat ) but if your not put off by coffee and toast it's fine. I will say this agin the coffee is very good.

Our room was 2nd floor right above the bar and although a bit noisy , it was not rowdy or loud.

Our room was basic but adequate and CLEAN , the bathroom had been newly tiled and the first floor looked to be undergoing some re furbishing , bit of noise in the morning but HAY HO .
The shower was hot and had a good pressure. The bedding was clean and changed every day.
Flat screen TV with fox movies and another movie Chanel and BBC world news , think the rest were Arabic or Italian .

All in all if you want a really cheep family run hotel with no frills it's ok

Would recommend to Divers and people wanting a budget brake

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGKDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    128
    148
    110
    166
See reviews for
54
272
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were booked to go to Miranda apartments,but arriving at 9.00pm(no airport pickup) it seemed to be deserted.We asked at the restaurant next door and they said that it was owned by the Europa hotel next door.We were told the appartment was not available but they would give us a seaview room and free breakfast for our 4 day stay.First impression was not good, fairly large but uninviting room,bathroom in need of a lot of TLC, but we were tired.and beds were reasonably comfortable and clean,however this was December and not too warm( no heating)
Breakfast was cold buffet but reasonable and staff friendly and helpful.We asked for a kettle and hairdrier and got them.
The position of the hotel is perfect, particularly with a seaview room
To sum up for €69 for 4 nights it was ok but with a lot of TLC it could be a very nice hotel Shame!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

As I have only 200 words to play with I will keep it short and to the point. This hotel is terrible, the rooms are unpleasent, the beds are as noisy as the building works going on and uncomfortable. We arrived and we left within the hour to transfer to the Bayview. The managers attitude was as disgusting as the hotel. Avoid like the plague.

Room Tip: Use another hotel - Cheap it is but its reflected in the lack of any type of quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friendly and nice staff. Very good location. Unfortunately rooms and bathrooms are smelly with sort of mildew or sewage. No way to catch any fresh air in rooms without balcony (actually they got only windows inside narrow shaft).

Room Tip: Front one with sea view are quite OK. Better choose highier floor for some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnotecaTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel has only got 2 stars but is well worth the money.
The room has TV, telephone, ceilingfan and a private bathroom.
If you choose a room towards the sea you got a marvellous view.
The best of all you have a busstop not far from the hotel.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedenAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed in Europa for 10 nights in July 2013. Booked the room via Booking.com of the non-refundable cancellation type and now I do not regret it. The hotel is a 2-star and it advertises everything on the service offered. My room was on the first floor 102 with a perfect sea view just what I asked for. It was also cleaned on daily basis, sheets changed, with additional sorting out of the clothes, etc. The wardrobe was also neat and equipped with about 15 hangs, although I had the room with single occupancy.
The position of Europa Hotel Sliema is central and it has access to 2 near bus-stops (Chalete just near the front door). It is connected to all Malta including direct bus transfer X2 to the airport, if needed. St. Julians is close for half an hour walk by the seaside or 5-minute walk to the shopping centre The Point or to the Sliema Ferries.
Finally, the stuff was very helpful with everything I asked for including the fridge facilities as there was not any available in the rooms. If I go there again, I would certainly choose it for a second stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zheleanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dirty rooms, one of the pillows was without cover and dirty like hell!! No more white but BROWN and full of cigarette burns, so gross!!! I had to go three times at the reception before they'll change it! Poor furniture, poor bathroom, no a/c but only noisy fans. Never Again!!
I stayed in several budget places, even the cheapest motels ever, but never found dirty like at the Europa Hotel!!!!

Room Tip: don't choose the Europa Hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Property: Europa Hotel
Address: 138 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Sliema
Europa Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing