We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many problems - every day”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too many problems - every day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just came back from 7 days in Europa Hotel, Sliema. Superb location, right by the beach and only a 10 minute walk away from the harbour where all tour buses and boats depart.

Decent regular breakfast. Some yoghurt could be added, I think.

The bed had no duvet, just a sheet and an old grey woolen blanket . Tv in the room, but the remote control was missing and the tv did not work without it. I asked at the reception for a few days, but they had no spare ones and eventually I gave up.

During my whole stay there were problems with the electric plugs in my room. Some did not work at all, and other had very low electricity. Eventually the plugs in all rooms on 1st floor stopped working. This happened on a Saturday, and was not fixed until Monday. As a tourist, it´s highly prioritized to be able to charge up your camera battery, mobile phone, etc, every day.

The toilet in my room broke. This was on a Sunday. No plumber available then, and toilet started flooding when the staff tried to fix it. I was given a new room, still with no duvet. Just a sheet and bedspread.

No free WiFi. You have to pay 2.50 Euro/hour to use one of the two hotel computers. I would suggest free WiFi, as most hotels have that.

I would strongly suggest that hotel got themselves a contract with a handyman available 7 days/week, to sort out facility problems quickly. It´s bad service leaving the guests in discomfort for days if something happens during a weekend.

Europa Hotel is a simple 2 star hotel, but still I would have expected a more problem free place to stay. It was a real setback to my holidays, and I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    130
    153
    111
    167
See reviews for
56
275
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived on Thursday evening and were given a key card for room 204. This was then quickly changed to 509. This room is on the top floor with a view of. a brick wall but that's ok. Unfortunately the tv was totally dead and there was no remote control. We immediately asked to change rooms but were told to ask in the morning and the tv was logged to maintenance. Next morning we asked to change rooms And offered to pay to upgrade. We were told to ask after 14.00. We asked at 16.00 and were told that the hotel was full. However the receptionist seemed to be offering other guests a better room if they become available. I suspect they say this to everyone. It is now Sunday and we still have no TV. Having said that you get what you pay for and other than the TV it is fair value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spireman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A basic budget hotel but certainly not one to be avoided. Worth the money. We were in an annex and the rooms were large with a balcony. The rooms were kept to a good standard of cleanliness and they had adequate facilities. The hotel is very well placed for Restaurants, Bars and Public transport, and just a short boat hop from Valetta by boat or bus. If you want luxury then dont come here, but if you just want a decent place to lay your head whilst on holiday it is well worth what you pay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfingjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for just a few nights. Great value for money. All you could ask for. A very large room with balcony overlooking the sea and also the promenade. Gave us a great view of the post election celebrations! Large comfortable bed (plus a spare) and also an electric heater in the room. Buffet breakfast was basic but adequate with tea/coffee/hot chocolate, cereals, toast, bread, eggs, meat etc. No fruit though. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on top floor overlooking the sea was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aland Island, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great value for money in this friendly 2-star hotel with great beachfront location. Don´t expect more than what you pay for. But, if you´re not in for plush carpets and fancy furniture I honestly recommend Europa Hotel. It must be hard to find a better hotel with better staff for the same price. Rooms and facilities are quite basic, just what you need. Furniture might be a little dated and worn but rooms are very clean (good job housekeeping!).
Very basic breakfast; cereals, milk, jam, bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, coffee/tea and juice, enough to get you going.
Plenty of good restaurant´s nearby and short walk to shopping. Buses stop just outside.
I will definitely stay here again if/when we return to lovely Malta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlandIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was basic and clean. showers worked plenty of hot water room cleaned every morning fresh towels every day and on request!! because it was cooled there at this time of year (14 degrees) they even gave us an electric heater for our room . The staff are nice and easy to deal with apart from a small porter with glasses he was lazy and a dope ! but apart from that i can t fault this hotel. i ll definitely come here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
322 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel offers tremendous rates in the winter (for instance on booking.com), and I got a room with a seaview and a balcony for 17 euros for one person, including a simple budget breakfast. Why pay more ? Very well located for the public transport to visit the whole island of Malta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.1 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#15 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Property: Europa Hotel
Address: 138 Tower Road, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 08, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Sliema
Europa Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing