We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this hotel, everything online misleads you!”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel, everything online misleads you!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were two couples. Asked for a double bed each and for our rooms to be on same floor. We happened to be on different storeys. The mattresses are very old and uncomfortable. The water to have a bath was yellow/green. One of our rooms was not cleaned on a particular day, and so had no clean towels. On the first day the jacuzzi and indoor pool were icy cold, when we complained they switched it on the following day. They charge 2 euros for swimming pool towels which you wont get back but you have to return the towel. I got mine back when I complained about the cold water in jacuzzi and pool. Despite this when the rusty shower broke in one of our rooms it was mended immediately. I must say that the receptionist, maids and waiters were all very nice and welcoming however this is definitely not a 4 star hotel!! Beware!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanessax_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations but would like to make the following comments.

1. We were aware that you did request rooms on the same floor. Unfortunately, we were unable to accommodate your request due to high occupancy.

2. Your booking did not reach us with a request for a double bed but when you requested this during your stay, the beds were pushed together and made up with double sheets.

3. We do appologise if one of the rooms was not serviced.

4. We do incur laundry charges to have our pool towels cleaned, so this is why the hotel charges a minimal charge for the use of these towels.

5. The reason for the indoor pool, and jacuzzi water being cold on one day during your stay was that a hot water pipe broke and had to be repaired. AS you can imagine it takes a few hours to reheat the water.

6. Our records do not show any mention from you regarding the dis-coloured bath water. We are very surprised with your claim as we have not have such claims from any of the other guests.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    128
    133
    139
    209
See reviews for
102
278
93
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel Windsor is in a great spot, not far from the promenade and a short walk to St Julians and Sliema Harbour. The Hotel itself is very old fashioned. Our room was very basic, drab and in need of a lick of paint. The bathroom too was in need of an overhaul with a shower with a cracked tray and a curtain that didn't reach the floor meaning the bathroom got flooded every time you took a shower. We stayed in December - so really off peak season and got an incredibly cheap rate. So despite all I have written I do feel the place was value for money. However I looked at the rates the charge in summer, and in my opinion paying those soirts of prices for this quality of accommodation - I would suggest you look somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dastardley1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Dastardley,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel and am pleased to note that you found the hotel good value for money.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three weeks on a Mercury Direct Holiday. It's not luxurious but it was clean, comfortable, great staff,good food as I was on Half Board for two weeks and B&B for one. I am fussy with food and requested vegetarian and it was no problem at all. It has no spa but lovely rooftop pools although it was not sunbathing weather in December! Great for a budget good value trip and good loction. For the price, great value!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank leoandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear LeoAndrew,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent stay on our lovely Island.

Your very encouraging comments are greatly appreciated and please rest assured that these will be passed onto the staff concerned.

We look forward to seeing you again with us.

Merry Christmas
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed 4 night at the Windsor hotel. Room was clean, good sized,quiet. Staff were very friendly . Hotel not far from bus station so you can take bus to Valleta, Mdina and other places. Close to the hotel you can find the Mint cafe, very recommend ! From staff you can order hop on/off trip, you will be pick up from hotel to Sliema ferry (start point) , order one of trips and you will get boat trip free.
Negative:
1) breakfast not so tasty , every day same, for 3-4 days it's ok but for more time not.
2) To get shower at morning was impossible due was not hot water

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fesma94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta and for your feedback.

I am pleased that the hotel lied up to your expectations but am concerned to hear that you did not have hot water in the morning especially when we had no such remarks from other guests.

I do hope to see you again should you decide to re-visit Malta.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal for this hotel, it was a secret deal for six nights. But after I read the views I despaired.

When I arrived I was given a room with balcony next to a building works. I asked to be moved to a quiet room and that's what I got. No balcony but I was happy.

It was a twin room and I pushed the beds together and made it into a big comfortable bed. It was a big room too!

The hotel is a 3.5 starred hotel and that's what you get. I've stayed in so many now I don't expect everything to be perfect. And it's not but it's clean and comfortable, staff are lovely and accommodating. So if you are not happy all you can do is ask. Wifi is only free in the lobby but I got an ozone coupon from them for €15 euros for 33 hours. Beware you must log off or those hours are counted. There are also coupons for shorter stays.

Breakfast was fine, a huge variety. If you don't like grizzly bacon then have salami, cheese, yoghurt, muesli, a poached egg, toast etc. It was all included and I was happy. Mint, a cafe, down the road makes a great flat white so head for your better coffee there.

The location was fantastic.


Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank huntinginthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Windsor Hotel and posting your positive review. We greatly appreciate the score of 4 out of 5 and we will definately pass on your comments to the staff.

We do hope to see you again should you decide to re-visit Malta and would like to take the opportunity to wish you a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently took a last-minute B&B package holiday for two weeks to Malta and as put in this hotel. The twin room allocated was next to the lifts - having requested a quiet room - and was very disappointing. The furniture was very run down and had water marks in the bottom of the wood due to flooding from the shower. The shower basin was cracked and the curtains too short, hence a puddle every time you used it, which had obviously spilled over into the room in the past. The toilet tank valve stuck every time it was used necessitating taking the top off and manually pushing it down to stop continuous siphoning and filling. Then there was the old chestnut - the bearings on the bathroom extractor fan sounded like a traction engine! No tea/coffee making facilities were provided. The dining room was further along the street and was dark and dingy and the breakfast not good. The scrambled egg tasted of fish and the bacon had a lot of bone/gristle in it and the sausages were as tough as bullets. The bar had no draught beer at all. This hotel advertises itself as 4 Star! what a joke!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

It is a pity that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I would like to point out the the hotel is going through a refurbishment programme and the rooms on the 5th floor have all been refurbished to a superior standard and include tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were unsure whether we should stay at this hotel after going some comments on the tripadvisor. But the price was reasonable and couldn't be a better price. So we decided to give it a try. We stayed 5 nights at the Windsor Hotel. Very good sized room on the fifth floor with a very comfortable doulbe bed and a large variety of international TV Channels. 27 Channels in all. The jacuzzi was great too. One day it was out of order but we admired the dedication of the maintenance staff working constantly on it to solve the problem.

The location is the best and the buffet breakfast was fabulous. Excellent variety. The staff are so nice and helpful. We would like to praise the housekeeping staff for the cleanliness of the rooms and also the bathrooms.

I would like to point out that it is very very unfair to write such complaints which I would say that most of them are not true. We highly recommend this hotel and if we are ever fortuanate to return to Malta then we would want to also return to The Windsor Hotel in Sliema.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Svetlana,

We are very pleased that you chose to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent stay in Malta and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The rooms on the 5th Floor are superior and we are pleased that the room allocated to you met your expectations.

I Will definately be passing on your candid comments to our staff and we do hope to host you once again at the hotel should you decide to revisit our lovely Island.

Warm regards,
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#11 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#21 of 28 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing