We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok to stay )”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed 4 night at the Windsor hotel. Room was clean, good sized,quiet. Staff were very friendly . Hotel not far from bus station so you can take bus to Valleta, Mdina and other places. Close to the hotel you can find the Mint cafe, very recommend ! From staff you can order hop on/off trip, you will be pick up from hotel to Sliema ferry (start point) , order one of trips and you will get boat trip free.
Negative:
1) breakfast not so tasty , every day same, for 3-4 days it's ok but for more time not.
2) To get shower at morning was impossible due was not hot water

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fesma94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta and for your feedback.

I am pleased that the hotel lied up to your expectations but am concerned to hear that you did not have hot water in the morning especially when we had no such remarks from other guests.

I do hope to see you again should you decide to re-visit Malta.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 775 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

I got a great deal for this hotel, it was a secret deal for six nights. But after I read the views I despaired.

When I arrived I was given a room with balcony next to a building works. I asked to be moved to a quiet room and that's what I got. No balcony but I was happy.

It was a twin room and I pushed the beds together and made it into a big comfortable bed. It was a big room too!

The hotel is a 3.5 starred hotel and that's what you get. I've stayed in so many now I don't expect everything to be perfect. And it's not but it's clean and comfortable, staff are lovely and accommodating. So if you are not happy all you can do is ask. Wifi is only free in the lobby but I got an ozone coupon from them for €15 euros for 33 hours. Beware you must log off or those hours are counted. There are also coupons for shorter stays.

Breakfast was fine, a huge variety. If you don't like grizzly bacon then have salami, cheese, yoghurt, muesli, a poached egg, toast etc. It was all included and I was happy. Mint, a cafe, down the road makes a great flat white so head for your better coffee there.

The location was fantastic.


Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank huntinginthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Windsor Hotel and posting your positive review. We greatly appreciate the score of 4 out of 5 and we will definately pass on your comments to the staff.

We do hope to see you again should you decide to re-visit Malta and would like to take the opportunity to wish you a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently took a last-minute B&B package holiday for two weeks to Malta and as put in this hotel. The twin room allocated was next to the lifts - having requested a quiet room - and was very disappointing. The furniture was very run down and had water marks in the bottom of the wood due to flooding from the shower. The shower basin was cracked and the curtains too short, hence a puddle every time you used it, which had obviously spilled over into the room in the past. The toilet tank valve stuck every time it was used necessitating taking the top off and manually pushing it down to stop continuous siphoning and filling. Then there was the old chestnut - the bearings on the bathroom extractor fan sounded like a traction engine! No tea/coffee making facilities were provided. The dining room was further along the street and was dark and dingy and the breakfast not good. The scrambled egg tasted of fish and the bacon had a lot of bone/gristle in it and the sausages were as tough as bullets. The bar had no draught beer at all. This hotel advertises itself as 4 Star! what a joke!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taffchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

It is a pity that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I would like to point out the the hotel is going through a refurbishment programme and the rooms on the 5th floor have all been refurbished to a superior standard and include tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were unsure whether we should stay at this hotel after going some comments on the tripadvisor. But the price was reasonable and couldn't be a better price. So we decided to give it a try. We stayed 5 nights at the Windsor Hotel. Very good sized room on the fifth floor with a very comfortable doulbe bed and a large variety of international TV Channels. 27 Channels in all. The jacuzzi was great too. One day it was out of order but we admired the dedication of the maintenance staff working constantly on it to solve the problem.

The location is the best and the buffet breakfast was fabulous. Excellent variety. The staff are so nice and helpful. We would like to praise the housekeeping staff for the cleanliness of the rooms and also the bathrooms.

I would like to point out that it is very very unfair to write such complaints which I would say that most of them are not true. We highly recommend this hotel and if we are ever fortuanate to return to Malta then we would want to also return to The Windsor Hotel in Sliema.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Svetlana,

We are very pleased that you chose to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent stay in Malta and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The rooms on the 5th Floor are superior and we are pleased that the room allocated to you met your expectations.

I Will definately be passing on your candid comments to our staff and we do hope to host you once again at the hotel should you decide to revisit our lovely Island.

Warm regards,
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in a superior room , despite what we read the room was spotless , all the staff were friendly and very helpful , there was plenty to choose from for breakfast , why we were there we got married the manager offered to be a witness and when we got back to our room there was a bottle of bubbly which was a really nice touch , would definitely go back .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Peter,

We would like to once again congratulate you on your wedding. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent stay in Malta.

We are pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and your comments will definitely be passed on to all the staff.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our Island.

Warm regards,
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Jacuzzi not working for 3 days....... restaurant you want to go 3 doors down outside the hotel..... television only 6 channels most of them Arabian's..... food not good for a 4 star hotel no variety of dishes..... carless hotel the only good thing is the staff that they are very friendly I think this is only a 2 to 3 star hotel.....

Room Tip: do not take the 423 room cause it is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clifton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Clifton,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel over the weekend. Although we do appreciate feed back form our clients as this helps us improve our products and services, we feel that incorrect claims should be pointed out.

As you might recall, we did have a chat regarding the jacuzzi not working on Saturday and you accepted a discount in the rate as compensation for this. I think this point has been conveniently left out in your review.

With regards to the TV stations, the TVs are not programmed with local stations but are programmed with Russian, English, French, German, and Arabic stations together with a Film station that also has Arabic subtitles. Your review is once again incorrect when you claim that most of the stations are Arabic.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It is a 3 star rated as a 4 star Hotel with 2 star. Food tea & coffee is provided but limited to 4 small pots of milk per day plastic cups for tea in a superior room I dont think so, On one day there was no hot water for washing & showers, the shower cubical leaked but was soon repaired on the up side the staff were helpful and cheerful I dont think I would return there again

Ron

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Knight,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel and for posting your review regarding your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding the staff but I would like to point out that we have already changed the cups in the rooms to china ones since we took on board a comment made by another visitor.

We do apologise that there was no hot water on Saturday morning due to the boiler tripping during the night. This problem was restarted by 06.30hrs and hot water was available by 09.30hrs.

I do hope you will stay with us again should you re-visit Malta.

Warm regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 28 in Sliema
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#7 of 28 in Sliema
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range: $35 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing