We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star it is not. 2 to 3 star at best. Won't stay at Windsor Hotelp again.”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
cambridge, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 star it is not. 2 to 3 star at best. Won't stay at Windsor Hotelp again.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

4 star it is not. 2 to 3 star at best. This wrong rating caused visitors to be disappointed. It is all about money and not services. Charge €1.50 for a quick local phone call to remind airport pickup. As previous reviewer said, many utilities malfunction. And I noticed that hotel response to reviews are standard reply. Won't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is standard practice that phone calls made from hotels are charged at a higher rate than domestic tariffs. Your phone call was to a mobile number and our reception staff always inform guests of the charges.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    128
    136
    147
    222
See reviews for
110
285
95
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambs
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel.Corridor carpet looked as if it hadn`t had a hoover for along time. Meals were good, but not a 4 star not enough choice especially at breakfast if you wanted cereals.The staff were friendly enough. Booked a double room guess what a twin room!!. The air conditioning unit either produce cold air or hot air. No tea making facilities in room unless you paid hire charges for a kettle The shower didn`t work very well, the tv was 3 channels only, they said that they were up dating the system, but it seem to work in the reception area. The gym was ok if you wanted to just lift weights, the electronic equipment didn`t work.The area it was in was central to everything you wanted to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellercambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We do appreciate feedback form our clients so we will be looking into the points listed in your review in an effort to improve the services we offer to our guests. We are pleased that your found our staff friendly.

We do hope you will visit us again should you re-visit our lovely island

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Four star ...not a chance ...not even three.
Good points ...buffet breakfast and staff in the restaurant were courteous and polite. The pool area on the roof was good not crowded in any way.
Bad points....we had booked a double room and got a twin. When I said to reception they very kindly arranged for the two beds to be pushed together lol, I don't think they got it! The bedding (two quilt covers were put on horizontally as was the sheets) . One channel on tv,it would have been nice to have had a choice of say....two! The toilet water ran continually therefore it was virtually impossible to have full use of it for the whole weeks stay . It was reported and after the third day they stopped fixing it! The shower curtain was yellow at the bottom . Loved Malta , but won't be returning to the Windsor ! Oh! and the blond on reception need training in customer service

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Ronette,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We are pleased that the breakfast and service in the restaurant were to your satisfaction.

Please note that all rooms at the hotel are equipped with twin beds and therefore clients' requests for double beds can only be accommodated by pushing the beds together.

The satellite system is being upgraded which will give our clients ample choice of TV stations.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afula, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can write a lot of words about good hotel location, good service, clean room, good breakfast. But one fact change my opinion: there is no air conditioning after October 1. Try to imagine hot and wet nights without AC, and clouds of mosquito wait you to open the door.
I understand that hotel should cut the costs, but why guests should suffer?
And small fact: the bathroom was clean, but there was not neither curtain nor doors. So the floor was covered by water after every shower.

Room Tip: No A/C after October 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semyon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

We are pleased to note that the hotel met your expectations. Since the hotel is on a central system, we can only have air-conditioning or central heating in the rooms.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

when we arrived floor hadnt been cleaned,no housekeeping till next day,also no air con said they were on winter time, even though it was 30 degrees the whole time of our trip.staff not at all help ful. Our advice dont go in october.

Room Tip: cant think of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review.

We do apologise if the floor in your room was not cleaned to your expectations. Please note that it is documented in all contracts that air conditioning is available up to the end of September.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is deffinately not a four star hotel ... No Air Conditioning as it was switched off for winter at 30 during the day, unable to get into rooms until after 14.00 every day. Next to loud building works. Shower floods tha bathroom in all rooms according to reception staff. Only two channels on TV both sports. We are using the Diplomat Hotel next door for evening relaxation in air conditioned lounge and the bar.
Food very average, like old school dinners.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenlaw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am afraid do not agree with your claim that air conditioning is off for the winter as although all our contracts state that air conditioning is turned off at the end of September, we did put it back on due to the warm weather.

I cannot understand why you complain about being charged for a call. I would like to point out that you call was to a mobile phone and as I am sure you are aware, charges for call made from hotels are charged at a higher tariff and our reception staff advise guests of charges before making calls.

With regards to TV channels, we have now upgraded our system and have a minimum of 6 channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terre, New Caledonia
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the day of departure we had a wonderful stay at The Windsor Hotel. All the staff used to greet us when we passed them including the cleaning staff and this made a lot of difference in how valued you feel as a customer.



I stayed 6 nights in a superior room with my girlfriend. We loved the room. It was spacious and very well appointed, bed comfortable and pilows excellent quality all making for a good nights sleep. Bathroom was superb with a really good powerful shower.



The reception staff of this hotel are second to none. Even the cleaning staff are so helpful.



Breakfast in the hotel and the services was very very good, the choice was great.

Room Tip: Really comfortable superior room and quiet on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel during your recent visit to Malta.

We are very pleased that the hotel lived up to your expectations and that you found the staff to be pleasant.

We do hope to see you again should you re-visit Malta

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 28 in Sliema
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#20 of 28 in Sliema
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#24 of 28 in Sliema
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing