We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elswhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay elswhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked in for 21 nights March 2013, stayed only 1 night. Roof top swimming pool not available hence nowhere to enjoy any sun or outdoor facilities. Should be rated as 2 star for service, food and rooms. Reception and restaurant staff not unpleasant but not interested in service. Restaurant reached by walking out of Hotel and 20 meters on a narrow pavement - not pleasant in the rain.

Room Tip: Higher Floor, but all rooms dark and no sun other than reflected from buildings opposite. Staff nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMR301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your 1 night stay at The Windsor Hotel.

We do take all reviews seriously as this helps us in improving our service.

I would like to point out that the embellishment work taking place around the outdoor pool area can only be done during the winter months. This will be of benefit to all future guests.

Your comment that you could not enjoy the outdoor space and sun is somewhat confusing when you also mention that if what not nice to walk to the restaurant in the rain.

I would like to point out that a large number of our guests make favourable comments about our staff, service and food.
Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    126
    129
    136
    200
See reviews for
99
267
92
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had not been on holiday for over 20 years and the windsor was just right not over the top which I liked all staff where very friendly and helpfull, the food was good family and well cooked. the weather was perfect for what I wanted warm and dry and after a long day out walking it was nice to come back and have a swim and hot suna which got rid of all the walking pains, the rooms where clean and beds made every day with nice towels. Only one big fault I wish I could have stayed another few weeks. Thanks Windsor you do me fine.
P Sto get round Malta get a weekly bus ticket about £10uk money go anywhere any time between 6am and 11pm

Room Tip: the room I had was 413 I think was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am one half of a young couple who picked the Windsor Hotel as our choice of hotel when we visited Malta in February 2013. We specifically picked it because of its close location to Valetta and Msida Skatepark (My partner is a regular skateboarder) Being our first holiday alone together we chose a supposed '4 star' hotel as it seemed like the best option. We couldn't have been more wrong. Not usually ones to complain we put up with the filthy room, (our feet were black when walking around without shoes despite maids supposedly coming in every day) the broken toilet, which one of the maids decided to test out while we were out one day and must have been embarrassed when she couldn't flush. We complained about the toilet and nothing was ever done. The real kicker though, after our first shower in the bathroom, my fiancee was drying his hair and did not notice the smashed ceramic shower hook sticking out of the wall beside the door, he cut his elbow to the bone, crippling him for the rest of the holiday and scuppering his plans to skate every day, he couldn't even use a knife and fork as his arm had to remain straight. Supposedly they check their rooms, yet after speaking to other couples it was clear they don't. We didn't report the danger when we arrived as sadly we didn't notice it as it blends in with the wall and we had not used the shower yet, the accident happened on the second day of our holiday. On top of this, the staff were extremely rude and unhelpful, making us walk to the hospital half an hour up the road! Which we were turned away from as it was private which they neglected to tell us. One receptionist in particular was very rude and should have been fired on the spot. I had to rush downstairs when it first happened, they reluctantly gave me bandages and told me to sort it out myself (I have never applied a bandage to another person before.) We had to go to a filthy free clinic another half an hour down the road, and forced the hotel to pay for our taxi which extremely reluctantly they did. Ten days after the incident (thankfully we are home) my partner's injury is still affecting his work and home life. Obviously he could not go skating at all, which was one of our priorities. We were offered no compensation or special treatment from the hotel. They continued to treat us with rudeness, possibly discrimination as we are younger. We could not have another room as there were none available. The broken ceramic shower hook was removed TWO DAYS later, I had to cover it with a sock, The actual thing was covered in my partners blood. A maintenance man came to fix it and removed it yet left shards of it all over our bedroom and bathroom floor, which would have sliced into our feet had we not noticed. On top of this as we were finally leaving this nightmare hotel, we were waiting to pay our dinner drinks bill (you had to pay for drinks with dinner) which came up to a measly 12 euros. We waited for half an hour for their card machine to work while the whole time our transfer back to the airport was waiting, this made us almost late for our flight. The card machine didn't work in the end, so the same exceptionally rude receptionist decided to write down all our card details, including our 3 digit security code and expiry date and told us to go and she would do it later. As you can imagine it was out of order especially without permission and by then we had no trust left in the hotel, we had to remove the piece of paper in which we wrote the details down on, by force. The only positive I can say for this holiday is that, despite not all of the food at the restaurant being to my taste, the waiters and chefs were sympathetic and helpful, and for that the hotel gets 1 star. This hotel is not a 3 star hotel let alone 4 star. I overlooked the bad reviews on here when I chose it, now I wish I hadn't been so blind. We are currently trying to claim compensation for their lack of care ruining our holiday but as of yet they are refusing. I'd just like to warn anyone, if you still decide to pick this hotel you may be lucky and have a better experience, but CHECK YOUR ROOM as soon as you go in. We would hate for it to happen to anyone else. Anyone shorter and it could have facially disfigured them. I hope whoever reads this bothered to read all of it. I'm not a complainer and I almost scoffed at the exceptionally bad reviews, but we should have listened. This hotel needs to be stripped of it's 4 stars.

Room Tip: If you still decide to go, make sure you get a balcony room as the other's we have heard have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindsorHotelMalta, General Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Underwood,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at The Windsor Hotel. We are sorry that your partner had an accident during your stay with us but please allow me to make the following comments regarding your review.

Rooms are thoroughly checked prior to all arrivals, in fact your room was checked by our Front Office Manager and I can assure you that the ceramic hook was not broken.

Our records show that a taxi was called to take you to hospital when your partner was injured and this is only a five minute walk from the Hotel. I cannot comment as to why you were turned away from this private hospital but I can assure you that the government run clinics and the health service in Malta is rated amongst the best in Europe.

What remained of the broken hook was removed that day after the accident . This could not be done before as the 'Do not Disturb' sign was constantly outside your door.

Although you booked your stay on Half Board, drinks are not included with meals. Drinks are only included when one books an All Inclusive package which is not offered by the Hotel.

Unfortunately, the card machine was out of order on your departure, but you fail to mention that I personally informed you that we would waiver the Euro 12 on your account.

Please rest assured that we welcome all comments made by our clients as these help as to improve our services.

Kind regards
Carol Burgess
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

very difficult to see how this hotel can be classsed as a 4* our room was very dark, and so much noise from the lift which was next to our room, hot water was a rareity always just warm, will not be returing to that hotel ever.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekwjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 weeks at this hotel in January. It was a cheap deal with Mercury Direct so I am writing this review with this in mind. The rooms were furnished with aging pine furniture, but our beds were comfortable. There were no facilities to speak of in the room - the lighting was poor, the t.v was old and very small with only 1 english channel which was BBC world news. We took our own kettle, but other guests were being asked to pay 2 euros a day to rent a kettle plus a deposit! The bathroom was adequate, but once the hotel had increased its number of guests the hot water soon became luke warm water, no matter what time of the day. The cleaner though keen to get into the room in the morning, did not clean the room properly for the entire stay. And the piped pan pipe music in the corridor was enough to drive you loopy.
On a more positive note, the location of hotel was very good. Not on the seafront, but only 1 street back. The food on the whole was good. Plenty to eat, though sometimes the combination of dishes were a bit unusual. The dining room staff were cheerful and worked hard.
All in all, if you are paying a cheap price for room and board, it will be what you expect. If you go with this in mind you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rubbish collection is daily and very early in the morning. Try and get a room on a higher floor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

this hotel should not have a 4 star rating, our first morning we were woken up by the room attendant at 8.30 am asking when she could clean our room!!! which was never cleaned properly during the entire stay, the standard of furnishing in the room was poor, just a shame they couldnt have continued the theme of the modern furnishings in the lounge and bar.... the steps up to reception were extremley high and at times very slippery.... the pool was dissapointing really small.... the only good thing about the hotel was the food....... would not go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jet04650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Many thanks to Mariella and all the team at the Windsor hotel, Sliema ,Malta. This is the fourth visit to the hotel and every bit enjoyable as the first time for the Lane family. Fantastic quality food as always with a great selection of hearty meals. The rooms were spotless and warm and great entertainment provided during our stays. Terrific value for money and a great central location on the island with great links to everywhere. Keep up the good work and we look forward to visiting you again in the future. Many thanks for a wonderful holiday, the Lane family Jan 2013.

Room Tip: most rooms available with juliet balcony with no extra cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#27 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing