We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply, a great hotel”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“simply, a great hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a lovely hotel, arrived there in the early hours of the morning after a night flight. Greeted by friendly, pleasant and informative staff who through the duration of our stay couldn't do enough for us! Room was immaculate, sheets clean, bathroom perfect etc Catering service was also exceptional, wide variety of food available at the servery. Catering staff were lovely and helpful! The leisure facilities were to a high standard also. A brilliant hotel to stay in whilst on holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    130
    137
    149
    230
See reviews for
111
289
96
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benghazi, Libya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

quite area within 5 minutes from anything you may need ( shops , cafes, restaurants , bus stops etc.)
reception very helpful and polite.
Rooms adequate but my second room water supply was weak and the sink easily blocked.
Buffet breakfast was very good but was the same every day.
The bar / cafe was good with a small music band on Sunday nights.
Air condition was good and climate controllable.
The best thing we enjoyed in the hotel is the roof swimming pools , Jakoozy , sun lounge , and gym......though the sauna didn't work and no umbrellas were available....but very enjoyable nonetheless especially by my children.
If you are looking for really excellent original fish and chips with an excellent atmosphere and service ...go to the " Scotsman pub" at St.Julians.

Room Tip: room 126 has a small balcony but opens on side street leading to the sea front and the beach easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acetobase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If your over 20 wanting a nice place to stay this is not the place to stay. I was greeted by a group of drunken students at the stairs. The room was musky, not clean had 3 single beds and was more like backpacker than a hotel. The reception was smokey. Would never stayed at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coffs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have been going to malta for sixteen years and this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed at in all that time. When we arrived at the hotel we was put on the floor six with my 70 year old mother we ask for the lower floors, The hotel manger said that there was not request for the lower floors i ask the hotel manger if we could exchange rooms all she said is see what i can do.
I complained about the toilet being dirty and she sent someone to clean it but it was still not clean after this so i complained again through out are stay the toilet remained the same. i ask the manger again to change rooms and all she said was that her hands where tied because they was meant to be fully booked but all the students had all best rooms. when we had a shower the hole bathroom floor was flooded we told the manger and she didn't do a thing about it but the cleaner gave us extra floor mats so we couldn't slip up. One morning we can out of a room to go to breakfast there was a bath towel on the floor and next to it was a used black condom outside our room this was so unacceptable behaviour as i had my 13 year old daughter with me at the time as it is ment to be a family friendly hotel we went to see the hotel manger about this and she just walked away so we had to deal with the receptionist who was embarrassed about it. When we come in or out of the hotel the students would be sitting or stand in a group on the stairs to the entrance of the hotel and they would not move so you couldn't not enter the hotel or leave the hotel. Two beds where broken and the mattress on one of the beds hurt my hand because when i was putting my daughter sheet on her bed straight it was court by a mattress spring. If you require a room with a balcony you have to pay extra it would cost you a fee of 15 euros a night which you have a view of other people's flats and a building site.In the end i got fed up with complaining to the manger as nothing got dealt with. One night as we where having are evening meal two students decided to have a fight in the middle of the
restaurant and none of the staff stop them from fighting. Both lifts broke down because of the students, when we came in from a night out he told us the lifts had broken down and so my 70 year old mother had to walk up to the sixth floor but when we got to the fifth floor another hotel guest told us that if you went along the fifth floor hallway you could use the lift that went to the restaurant so why is it the receptionist didn't tell us about this lift. If i had known this hotel was full of students i wouldn't not of booked my holiday to stay there, i was so upset about all the problems with the room and hotel it self i never really unpacked my suitcase.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Manuela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very, VERY disappointed with this hotel!!! It was full of foreign student kids who were drunk, loud, rude and obnoxious. Every night they were knocking on all of the bedroom doors at about 2.30 am waking the occupants but then running away. My sister's and my room had mold on the ceiling and walls and one night no air conditioning whatsoever. I asked for a new room, was moved for the one night after being given the key to one room where there was already an occupant. Then moved to another room with a double bed for my sister and I to share which I had specifically asked for separate beds, so the man at reception moved to blokes to the double room so that my sister and I could take that room. We were told the following morning that the aircon was working again but when we returned to the room it was not working but the receptionist argued telling us it was. The maintenance chap came to our room with us and did manage to fix it eventually.

The shower in our room did not even attach to the wall so having a shower meant having to hold the handle whilst trying to wash yourself at the same time. The shower curtain had that horrible orange mold on it and smelt very musty. They did not even replace the bars of soap when they had run out!!

The lifts were very intermittent in their workings and one couple with an elderly parent were told to walk to the 5th floor. They asked to be taken to use the lift via the dining room which they eventually did but with great fuss and pulling of faces.

All in all a very disappointing stay and I would recommend you avoid like the plague if you don't enjoy living like a student!

Room Tip: Try and get one away from all of the students!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

DO NOT stay in this so called hotel if you are over 17...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The place is full of noisy teenagers that have no respect for anybody else staying there. Take ear plugs, even had to ask for toilet roll, and no shampoo was given to us and only sometimes were we given clean towels. AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mark07poucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Staff friendly when they were there . The 'Cocktail Lounge' was not always staffed and was more like an internet cafe for teenagers. Room facilities included a hairdryer, fridge and ironing board, TV.
Room was noisy both from the street it overlooked and noise within the hotel with lots of banging , moving furniture and general noise until early hours of the morning .
Situated away from the better part of Sliema although not too far to walk for shops, restaurants etc . Best part about the hotel was that it was close to the Surfside restaurant which is recommended for their food and on location on the sea front.
Door leading on to the balcony would not lock

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#26 of 28 in Sliema
1,079 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#13 of 28 in Sliema
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 28 in Sliema
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#11 of 28 in Sliema
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing