We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if you like noisy youth hostelling” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Hockley, Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great if you like noisy youth hostelling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Staff friendly when they were there . The 'Cocktail Lounge' was not always staffed and was more like an internet cafe for teenagers. Room facilities included a hairdryer, fridge and ironing board, TV.
Room was noisy both from the street it overlooked and noise within the hotel with lots of banging , moving furniture and general noise until early hours of the morning .
Situated away from the better part of Sliema although not too far to walk for shops, restaurants etc . Best part about the hotel was that it was close to the Surfside restaurant which is recommended for their food and on location on the sea front.
Door leading on to the balcony would not lock

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    126
    129
    136
    200
See reviews for
99
267
92
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is the worst youth hostel I have ever stayed in! It is definitely not a hotel!! The staff were rude and unhelpful, the manager cares only about getting his money. There were 'students' running riot around the building until 4-5 in the morning. It was unclean the students left a mess everywhere. Nobody was able to stay at the pool after 130 as the students came back, swamping the area, shouting, spitting, and generally being a nuisance. We had to move out after 4 days of no sleep. Completely ruined our holiday. Although, we moved to a nearby hotel called the Victoria which was excellent! Clean, tidy, no students, helpful staff, beautiful rooms....l. A world away from the Windsor! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THE WINDSOR HOTEL... We are trying to get a refund!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel is the only tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's not a hotel, it's a building with rooms. My hotel room was robbed, somebody forced the door and took my playbook tablet and iphone charger. I called the police and the hotel staff never cared. They kept saying i was lying. If you're planning to stay here, take a sleeping bag and stay in the beack, it will be safer and cleener.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymote, Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Please don't stay here if you have normal hearing!!! We stuck it out for 3 nights and then moved to another hotel. The Windsor was overrun by students who ran up & down the halls on every floor, banging on doors and shouting at the top of their voices until 3.30 in the mornings. On ringing reception, we were told that "they had paid their money too" & that reception couldn't hear anything! The fact that a number of the same students couldn't /didn't attend "school" the next day and lay around reception in a sorry state spoke volumes regarding the carry-on the night before! It's not worth going into the other poor points of the hotel as they are only add-ons to this main drawback.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I don't know much about the hotel's average in Malta. Maybe if You compare The Windsor hotel with the rest is not that bad, but I would doubt it.
The room although big and spacious, is dark and old. We asked for a double bed, but eventhough we got the confirmation, we finally got a room with three single beds.
The bathroom is not bad, it works well and is very clean. The staff is not friendly, the elevators dont work most of the time and the food its extremly poor. For breakfast you can survive, but for dinner, you better eat outside. The wifi never works, I guess they simply dont have Internet at all. There are though two really good things about this hotel:
- Location: really close to the sea and nice places to eat good fish.
- Price: pretty cheap.
We stayed there for just four days, Malta is a lovely island and the fact that the hotel didn't fullfil our expectations didn't disturb us at all.
It was a great time, with or without the four stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Piacheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

recently stayed at the windsor hotel found the place very clean good choice for breakfast all staff very friendly the rooms very basic but clean and tidy fresh towels everyday short walk to the sea front sun-roof terrance has indoor and outdoor pool plenty sun beds but the only downfall was the building site next to the hotel were the builders started work at 6.30am so did not need alarm clock

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

On first appearance on nice well kept hotel, however dig deeper and you will find that guest comfort takes second place to profit. The star rating is a joke this is NOT a 4 star hotel. I stayed in mid April the place was full of very noisy Italian teenagers, the noise (while they were in or around the hotel) was beyond belief. They were occupying the floor below me, shouting, banging on doors, scraping furniture even playing football in the corridor until 2.00am and then started again about 06.30. When I complained I was told that there was nothing that could be done about it, when I asked to be moved to a higher room I was told that the upper floors were not occupied in low season. The majority of the reception staff are just at best unhelpful and every request is met with a look of "ok if I must?". The bar was closed twice during the week because the barman was ill, seriously??? On a plus side the breakfast is acceptable and the one night that I ate there the meal was very nice. The waiting staff are brilliant and very helful. The rooms are comfortable if a bit sterile, the bathrooms really do need modernising though. I would't stay here again, or recommend anyone else bother. There are much nicer hoyels for the same price.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank evildiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#10 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#27 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
0.3 mi away
Sliema Chalet Hotel
Sliema Chalet Hotel
#18 of 29 in Sliema
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: Windsor Terrace, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Windsor Hotel, a four-star hotel situated in the prime tourist location of Sliema, considered to be one of Malta's most fashionable seaside towns and the heart of all shopping, swimming and nightlife. The hotel with its central position is ideal for both business and leisure stays. The Windsor Hotel offers various options and guests can opt to stay from Room Only to Half Board. The Hotel itself boasts 92 air-conditioned rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower, mini bar, satellite television and telephone.The Windsor Hotel has recently renovated one floor which now boasts, 19 superior rooms equipped with free WI-FI, Tea/Coffee making Facilities. Just 50 metres from Sliema's seafront promenade and the sparkling Mediterranean Sea, The Windsor Hotel offers indoor and outdoor pools, a restaurant, lounge bar, as well as a multi-purpose room.The Windsor's outdoor pool features a large sun terrace. Indoors, you will find a heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness room. Our experienced Management team and staff provide a friendly service to ensure you have a relaxing stay at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing