We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed at the Waterfront in December 2013 on a last minute deal. Stayed bed and breakfast and found the hotel to be very clean, very comfortable but a little business like rather than holiday style hotel. The food at breakfast was always very good. We also ate at the Basilica Piizzeria which is part of the hotel and this was also very good food, with prices on a par with nearby restaurants. The bar prices are a bit high but then most hotels bars are a little pricier.Staff are very helpful and overall we really enjoyed our stay. Sliema is an excellent area to stay in for the shops and bars and also as the boat trips are right opposite the hotels. ideal for couples but may be different if you had children to entertain.

Room Tip: Check your roomis not next to the air con units as they are rather noisy and can affect your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie hall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. These are greatly appreciated

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on ccamilleri@water.mizzi.com.mt should you require any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    547
    219
    57
    27
See reviews for
166
694
69
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I chose this for location near Valetta and it was great. Lovely views of Valetta skyline and Sliema Creek harbour from superior hotel front room with balcony. Close by valletta ferry, tour boats and buses. Lovely promenade. Plenty of resturants of all standards along same street. Inside hotel is high standard of decor and friendly and obliging staff. Great harbour views from pool area on top floor. Spacious dining rooms. Breakfast had plenty choice of English and Continental.
Downside for me was traffic noise from the main thoroughfare in front of all the hotels along this harbour-front - Valetta and environs is a heavily populated.
Upside was closeness to Valetta with a view across harbour to Valetta and closeness of access to public and holiday transport

Room Tip: Want a view then choose the superior harborfront rooms, higher the better. Need a quiet room then ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your positive feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us at The Waterfront Hotel has been very well received by the whole team.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet more pleasant stays at our hotel

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was very pleased to have stayed at this hotel, the place was spotless, the breakfast was excellent and it was interesting to see that a couple of problems had been put right after customers had mentioned them on earlier reviews eg. kettles in the rooms and an extra coffee machine in the restaurant.
I would also like to mention Zaklina one of the housekeeping staff, she was so helpful and friendly it made such a difference to our stay-- Thanks Zaklina
I would be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

I will gladly extend your praise personally to Zaklina, the room attendant you mentioned. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest’s full satisfaction.

We are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance when planning your next visit to our beautiful island

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here as my wife was visiting family in Sliema and one of her brothers had recommended it when he stayed here previously.
The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious and although we had booked an inside room, we were on the 5th floor and therefore were just high enough to have a view of the sea which was a bonus. It is in easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants in Sliema and is very handy for the foot ferry over to Valetta.
There is a nice pool on the top floor although we didn't use it during our stay as the air temperature was a bit too cool for us. The views from here are great though.
There was a good choice of food for breakfast and the Basilico restaurant was excellent (see separate review).
We hired a car for a few days (booked through the hotel reception at a very reasonable price) and parked it in the hotel car park rather than fighting for a space on the streets which was very useful.
I can definitely recommend the Waterfront and we will certainly stay there next time we are visiting relatives in Malta.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management and Team Members of the Waterfront Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time, to submit your review on Trip Advisor, hence sharing your experience with other viewers. Your time and contribution have been greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that your experience at our hotel was a pleasant and positive one and that we managed to meet your expectations. Such comments surely entice our motivation to persevere in our quest in achieving the guest’s full satisfaction.

Whilst assuring you of our best attention at all times, we sincerely look forward to the pleasure of re welcoming and hosting you once again at The Waterfront Hotel

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a very pleasant hotel. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Room was fine. Not luxurious but was clean and spacious. Food was ok. Good choice but dessert was not the best. I chose fruit or ice cream. Views from room we're stunning. Rooftop views even better! I would go back to this hotel. Our balcony was small but ok for two people to sit out on. Valletta was just a short trip across the port. Ten minutes or so. In march it is quite cold and windy so take a light but warm coat especially for the evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and comments.

These are greatly appreciated as they will help us to strive even better

regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have dicided to stay nearby Valletta, so Sliema was perfect location for us (young couple) You can enjoy the great sea/boulevard view just out of your room! In total we staid for one great week. Because of the great location of the hotel you wil be within 15 min (by bus) in city of Valletta for sightseeing or you can get to St.Jullians (also within 15 min) for nice restaurants. Our room was good size, nice and clean (every day). Breakfast was also good and there was always enough food eaven though we were never there before 9:30.
Hotel managment and hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull!
It was just very pleasent stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and for your kind comments.

I was happy to read that we have been able to make your stay with us an enjoyable one and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a week at the Waterfront Hotel in May 2014. Lovely hotel, and very friendly staff. Our hotel overlooked the harbour which is a wonderful view. Really enjoyable stay. We only had breakfast in the hotel, but this was very good with a good selection to choose from.

Room Tip: Our party had rooms 711 and 714, which I think must have the best views in the hotel. We did book 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank allenandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time writing the review. Your kind comments and feedback are appreciated by all

Please do let me know if I can ever be of any assistance

Regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Mid 2017 The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing