We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Roma
Level Contributor
156 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“fantastic position”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I've been just one night in this hotel, for work. The hotel have an excellent position, in front of the sea in Sliema. the rooms are and clean, good services. I haven't tested breakfast. I'm really satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your experience on Tripadvisor, your comments are greatly appreciated

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    546
    216
    57
    24
See reviews for
166
688
69
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great location, we had a room overlooking the harbour, so exelent views, the room itself was a bit tired but very clean, we were b+b so cannot comment on evening meals but breakfast was ok, staff were pleasant and obliging just a pity you had to ask for some things that should be standard for 5star, like tea making in the room. All in all good value for money and great location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review and positive comments. These are greatly appreciated. With regards to the tea & coffee making facilities, these have been ordered for a while and we hope that they arrive soon,

Please do let me know if I can ever be of any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After having stayed at the waterfront a number of times and looking at reviews here I felt compelled to write my own. The saying people are impossible to please really does come to mind. Ignore the bad reviews - the waterfront is a home away from home.
The location is ideal, close walk to the boat for Valetta, and where the tours depart from, and also just a short walk to the Sliema Ferries which is the main bus terminal.
Marvic on reception is always so welcoming, as are all the day receptionists. We never avail of the half board opinion as we prefer the freedom to decide each day where to dine however we regularly dine in the Regatta Restaurant. We arrive early because in any hotel I believe the food tastes best when it’s fresh out of the kitchen – however in Regatta it is regularly changed and filled up so it is never cold like some buffets. I love the joint of the day and can honestly say I have never got a bad serving. The chefs serving are very friendly and don’t bat an eyelid at my hungry husbands frequent trips up to fill his plate. Breakfast is also served in the same way in the restaurant and I can honestly say I have never had any issues. I am quite particular about how my eggs are cooked and whenever I have requested freshly fried eggs they have arrived cooked the way I asked from the kitchen with a smile from the lovely staff. There is a wide variety of food available so you won’t get bored on a two week break. Admittedly the bacon is streaky compared to what we have here in England but this is the case no matter where you visit on the continent.
I have dined in both Basilico and the downstairs café – the food has been great in both but I prefer the more formal setting upstairs.
Housekeeping deserve a special mention here too - every day the room is left spotless by the careful pleasant lady servicing it. No matter which maid we meet along the corridor we have always got a pleasant smile.
Ignore the bad reviews – the Waterfront is an excellent value hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write such a wonderful review. Your comments are appreciated and will be passed on and I am sure that these will help all our team members to strive better.

Thanks again

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bxl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have spent a week at the hotel, very preasant. At first we had a room with 'street view', but after complaining we got a room with a greath view (we payed 42€ extra for that change)
Food is really fine (we had breakfast and dinner at the hotel) > choice enough.
The staff is very very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper rooms with lateral sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank i d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me should you ever require any assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I felt at ease the moment I arrived at this hotel from the airport. The reception staff member was exceptionally efficient, polite and friendly. I was shown to my room no. 513 on the fifth floor, and shown how things worked. The room was spacious and comfortable. The free internet connection was fast and reliable.
The view from the room is breathtaking, particularly at dawn. The winter morning sun pours in warming up the room without the need for additional heating.
Breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast room on the first floor again has lovely views, and really good food for the price.
Another advantage of staying at this location is the convenient and cheap bus and ferry connections to Valletta town centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors facing the sea offer superb views. However, one has to put up with the ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rld_traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you ever require further assistance

Kind regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was lucky to get a double-bed-room as a single, so I had plenty of space. But also for a couple my room at the 7th floor (No 713) would have been big enough. Very nice furniture and much space for all the clothes and other thing. The little fridge was also very helpfull, as I could put in my own drinks besides the filling from the hotel. Very nice bathroom with clean towels every day. It is equiped with a hairdryer, an integrated Kleenex-box, a big mirror over the whole wall and round the basin plenty of space to put all the neccessary toiletries. Only the TV should be changed in a flatscreen soon, as this one has been very old and the quality of picture and sound sometimes was rather bad! The aircondition is in winter like a heating and in the evenings ist has always been nice and warm! Although the hotel is situated on the mainroad with plenty of traffic, especially during the rushours, you nearly can't hear any noice, if you keep the windows closed. And you can darken the room with very thick curtains, which means you sleep like a baby!
On the side of the hotel where my room has been, unfortunately the elevator doesn't stop at the first floor, where the restaurant is situated, so you have to go first downstairs to the lobby, then cross it to the other side and go upstairs again with an other lift to the first floor. That's a bit awquard, but at that time of the year (January) there were not so many people and I never had to wait too long to go by the elevators. And crossing the nicely furnitured lobby with many wonderfful foto-pictures on the walls has always been a great pleasure. Breakfast was - for my taste - very good and well sorted. And although I'm German I didn't mind that it was mainly English Breakfast!
Nearly all the staff at the hotel has been very nice and polite. And the whole facility has been very good cleaned.
The best at the end: The view from my balcony!!! Just fantastic!!!! And another good thing is, that the Busstops are very close to the hotel!
All in all ist The Waterfront Hotel a good 4-star-hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors because of the fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Goody2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team I would like to express my gratitude for your review and kind comments. Your positive comments give us all a reason to keep on with the service we provide and strive to be even better,

Please do let me know if I can personally be of any assistance

regards
Char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I have spent a whole month at the Waterfront for both business and leisure reasons and I am already missing it! The mixture of charme and professionality of the whole staff,all talented hosts who enjoy what they do ,the classy yet relaxed atmosphere were a real pleasure.The location is just perfect,close to the bus and the ferry to Valletta and this part of Sliema has got something genuine and not overcrowded.The room was spacius and bright,the view over the Manoel Island and the Marsamxett Harbour just amazing even from my side-seaview room,which I reccomend while quieter than those in the front but still with great view.A lovely lady from Marocco made up my room every day with great care and love for the details,both house keepers came to my room on the day of departure to say thank you and wish me a good journey back home.
The restauant staff was,with only one exeption who eventually got fired during my stay,attentive and friendly.The food was more than acceptable at dinner,breakfast was varied but the quality of the cheeses and cold meats was rather poor.
I enjoyed a lot at breakfast the plate of different citrus fruits,the petit pains au chocolat and the fried eggs on demand.At dinner the roasts from the carving station, the vegetables "al dente" and not overcooked,the cake "Bacio".
A few ideas for making your service even better:
- reliable Internet
- tea and coffe making facilities in the room
- do not intimidate guests who put their own bier or wine in the mini-bar...please remove that notice!
- change the music in the restaurant every now and then.I have heard one month long nearly everyday the same
-the mattresses should be changed,they are too old and soft
-the wonderful terrace on the 8th floor should be in use also in winter,ther os no real winter in Malta!

A special thank also to the reception and the portier, I will be back in Malta and it will be at the Waterfront!

Room Tip: Side-seaview rooms are quiter,ask for higher floors,ideally from 5th also because they are higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariafromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine C, Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback.

It was a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay and I have taken note of all your comments and hopefully everything you mentioned will be in place in time for your next visit to our hotel

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you need any further assistance and I urge to have a look at our website when booking your next holiday as we more often than not have special offers and very favourable rates.

Kind regards
char
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Hotel
Address: The Strand, Sliema, Island of Malta GZR 1028, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#4 Family Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Mid 2017 The Waterfront Hotel is a 4 star hotel situated in an excellent location along the Sliema promenade, overlooking Sliema Creek, Manoel Island and the capital city, Valletta. Newly refurbished to a high standards, the hotel is just 150 meters away from the nearest bus stop and within walking distance from several bars, restaurants and shopping outlets in Sliema, The Plaza shopping mall and the Ferries. All rooms are stylishly designed and feature various amenities including, an en suite bathroom and balcony, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Safe Deposit Box, Radio, Air Conditioning and Room Service. WiFi is available for free in all areas of the hotel. The Waterfront Hotel offers various dining options including buffet breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant, or light snacks at the Lobby Bar. The Waterfront Hotel also features an indoor swimming pool and outdoor lido. The Waterfront Hotel offers the best location, personalized service, and Maltese hospitality at its very best. The Waterfront Hotel provides a relaxed atmosphere to make your stay in Malta a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Hotel Malta
Waterfront Hotel Sliema Malta
The Waterfront Hotel Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing