We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings about Hotel, Malta was Amazing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sliema Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about Hotel, Malta was Amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

On arrival we were told our room had been confirmed but the room was not ready as it was before the check-in time, no problem we went to have lunch and would return to sort our room. When we returned we were told that although we had booked (and had confirmed twice via email) a standard sea view room that the hotel was over booked and we would be given a superior sea view room for 1 night and would then move rooms the next day. This was not ideal as we just wanted to get unpacked and sorted but did not argue. The superior room on the 6th floor was lovely with great air con and a nice balcony. The next day we had to pack and leave the room before 11am and then wait til 2pm to get into our next room. Booked months ago I had requested a room on a higher floor as advised by trip advisor reviews and this had been acknowledged although could not be confirmed however since we had been messed around already I had expected that request to be met, It was not. We were allocated room 108 on the 1st floor and after some communication problems realised there were no other sea view rooms so accepted it and reception offered to give us a fridge for the room as compensation. The standard sea view room was disappointing, the view was not as good, the air con was not as good, the bath had seen a lot better days, the toilet ran for ages after flushing and the safe would not work but there was very little road noise at night although the beds are very hard we slept well. Reception did send someone to open the safe but it still did not work properly and we were afraid to use it. Air con although set to its lowest did not do a very good job of cooling the room and would randomly time out and turn itself off during the night. We woke up one morning to no power in the hotel, no explanation, no apology we were just thankful we had a window so could get ready ok although showering was very dark and the climb to the 8th floor was very poorly lit with emergency lighting. Breakfast had plenty of choice and loads available, we went up to the 9th floor to see the sun terrace and hot tub twice (one morning and one late afternoon), both times there were plenty of available sun loungers but the hot tub was filthy with a big black ring and scum around the edge of the water. Overall the hotel was ok, little things like the room floor was a little gritty and not properly cleaned, when soap was finished it was not always replaced and a spare toilet roll was not left one day could be overlooked but I feel they need to work on customer satisfaction more and the explanation given of "the hotel is always overbooked" does not fill me with confidence to book again or to recommend it to a friend.

Malta is a lovely island and Sliema is definitely the area you want to be in for views, bars, restaurants, transport and shops. Do not be tempted to stay further north and closer to sandy beaches and these areas did not look great. I can also recommend the Captain Morgan Fernandes Gozo and Comino full day tour, that was so much fun but get there early to get a good spot on the boat and probably best to book a day or 2 in advance. The bus tour was a bit of a waste of time as on 1 route there was no audio commentary and it basically took the same route as the local buses. Be careful what time you choose to go visit Valletta as we went for a wonder on a Sunday and ofcourse everything was closed (we should of known better), so we tired another day and were totally unaware that it was a public holiday so everything was still closed, I think it also closed most afternoons. If you get the chance go to one of the local Festas, it was a really good traditional malta experience.

Other helpful hints: dont expect to do a lot of shopping as it seemed quite expensive, the beach areas get really busy in the afternoon so get there early, no matter how fancy the restaurant looks shorts and flip flops are acceptable, single female travellers seemed quite common and it did seem like a very safe island, driving is not for the faint hearted, 99% of people speak really good english, a week long bus ticket costs 12euros each and if you are going to buy Mdina glass it is cheaper at the arts and crafts village.

Room Tip: Superior sea view rooms are much better than standard sea views, ask for a high level and make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    374
    223
    87
    69
See reviews for
119
462
89
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the 8th of August for 7 nights. We had a wonderful stay here. As we saw many advices, we decided to choose the sea view room, and indeed it was worth while. We have been lucky to receive a room at the 7th floor: The view is very nice in the morning and in the evening with the sunrise and sunset, we had a balcony. The room was enough big for us, the design is really nice (colors of white and purple); there was a table (very usefull when you are a tourist and have a lot of things) a wardrobe, and two nightstands. We also had airconditioning fortunately because it is very hot there but we had some problems at the beginning of the stay because sometimes it stopped or was too cold, but anyway it was good to have it in the room !

The bathroom was very clean. We would like to say thank you to the housemaids because our room was clean every day and they did care about not disturbing us, they were coming in our room only when they saw us leaving.
The Front desk team is also very nice, they were always smiling to us!

The hotel is well located because you are in front of the Comino and gozo boats activities, and to the boat which goes to Valletta. Moreover, you have various restaurants and cafés under the hotel (near same cuisine: italian but they are not expensive and good). There are no beaches in front of the hotel but you can take buses 5 minutes on foot which goes to Saint Julians.

We also appreciated the jacuzzi on the 9th floor :) ! AMAZING view !
We took the breakfast only once to try it, it is quite english breakfast (bacon, eggs, cereals,..) it is good and you have a nice view on the sea.

For a 3 stars hotel, and for young couples as us who can't afford 5 stars hotels, we are very satisfied with this stay. If we go back to Sliema, we'll definitely go back in this hotel !

Thank you Marina Hotel! Merci ;) !

Clémence & Maxime -Room 708.
Stayed from 08-08-2013 until 15-08-2013

Room Tip: If there is avaibility, I would recommand you to choose Sea View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClemenceDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My partner and me visited Malta this August staying at the Marina Hotel for seven nights. If you are expecting the Ritz, Dorchester or the Hilton then forget it. However if you are looking for a very good hotel with friendly staff then this is it.. We had a sea view room, with air con, and the views from the balcony alone were worth staying for. The room was large containing twin beds, which could be made up to a double bed if you asked the staff in advance of staying there. Two bedside cabinets, a wardrobe and dressing table with huge mirror above it. The bathroom was actually off the bedroom thus giving the individual a little more privacy. On arrival we found the room and bathroom very clean. As my partner has difficulty walking and is waiting for a hip replacement we requested a room with a shower. The shower was over the bath, but the bath is so low that makes showering very easy.
You have the option each day of having your room cleaned, beds made and your towels replaced. We were on the first floor 105 and Sandra our housekeeper was brilliant and very friendly. In fact we found all of the housekeeping staff friendly as we passed each other throughout the week. If you needed anything they were always willing to help if they could. Thank you too the lady who was head of house keeping, who even offered to bring our suitcases up to room 203 on our last day in Malta, it was very kind of you.
As for food we stayed for bed and breakfast only. The breakfast was a buffet of various foods. Bacon, scrambled eggs, beans and sausage. The bacon was tasty, but for my taste I prefer the bacon crisper. Also there was cereals to choose from, various breads, cold meats. Bread rolls, jams and marmalade and tea and coffee are also available. The food is to be found on the eighth floor and the view from there is spectacular.
As for the service on the reception all I can say is that that too was excellent. We dealt mostly with Alihandra (hope thats spelt okay) who was very professional, polite and always had time to smile. Pierre, the manager, was also very friendly and helpful. On our final day at the hotel, we were expected to vacate at eleven am. Pierre, however, found us a small room where we could stay until it was time to leave for our flight in the evening, thus giving us time to relax and freshen up.

There are very few faults with this hotel. The hotel is on Sliema strand and can be busy in the evenings which is pretty much the same wherever you stay in the north of Malta. However, it does benefit from being five minutes walk from the Arriva bus stops and the ferry across to Valletta and there is is also a very useful supermarket just five minutes walk away in the town, in addition there is a zebra crossing just to the left of the hotel, which is very useful for those who have difficulty walking. As for noise from our room, it was a bit noisy on the Saturday evening that we arrived, but at no point in the week were we kept from our sleep. The lifts can be a little slow so patients is a must. The one thing we would have really really liked would have been tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

All in all we are both in agreement that we would most definitely stay at this hotel again-with a bit of luck it shall be next year.

Thank you all who work at the Marina for making our holiday a memorable one.

Grazzi

Room Tip: Pay the extra and choose a room with a sea view. Air conditioning can shut off sometimes when on co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for 5 nights last june. We had a sea view room which we really enjoyed in the early mornings. Hotel service was always good, we never complained. All the staff were always wearing that smile on their faces. Room cleanliness was high standard in our room thanks to Rita our housekeeper which even helped us in information about tourist attractions. Even reception desk staff were helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect, in the centre of the shopping area, restaurants and in front of the seafront. The capital city valletta is also overlooking the room.

Room Tip: Preferably choose sea view rooms, nice views guaranteed in the morning and evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frankiezahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is small and simple. It is well decorated on the main facilities and the rooms correspond to tripadvisor traveller photos. Note that the rooms without seaview are small and don't have window, but if you are going to explore the island and be at your room only at night it could be ok.
The hotel is clean and the jacuzzi on the top is nice with an excelent view. The location is great for person who want to explore the island, being near from almost every place. Sliema have a lot of tourists walking around, so if you want to relax and not to ear noise, this is not your place.
The hotel have free internet which is great, helping you to adjust some details of your trip or curiosities. on the street you can find a lot of restaurants, stores and pharmacy.
My stay was simple, eficient for my purpose of explore the island and budget friendly :)

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are better, with more space and windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had booked this hotel because we were looking for something in Sliema without breaking the bank. We had booked our 4 night vacation here.

Once we checked in the front desk and barely greeted we were given our keys to the room. I had quickly realized once checking into my room that the toilet would not flush. The room also resembled a jail cell with its lack of natural light from tiny windows.

I had politely asked the person at the front desk if it was possible to change rooms for 2 reasons: toilet wasn't flushing/working at all and because the room was on a high floor and the elevator in the hotel comfortably holds 3 people max. Front desk sent someone to my room, realized toilet was not working and moved me to an identical room but on the 2nd floor. I was initially pleased with how everything was handled and realize things like this sometimes happen.

Malta is a hot country, mid July temperatures are in excess of 35C(95F), therefore air conditioning should be mandatory when visiting during this time. During our initial 2 nights the air conditioning continuously shut off. I kept calling the front desk and there was no answer. I had to physically get out of bed in the middle of the night and walk to the front desk. I had asked the person why they weren't answering the phone, he had told me that he had accidentally put the phone on mute. At this point, he had told me that the air conditioning was set up on a motion detector and if there is no motion, the air conditioning shuts off after 15min. I had explained if you are resting in bed trying to sleep, clearly there will be no motion and this hotel had advertised air conditioning. He apologized and said there was nothing he could do.

The following morning, I was told by Pierre (who is helpful) that the air conditioning can be calibrated for a 'night mode' and that he will send someone to my room to adjust the setting as he agreed my room was very warm, stuffy and uncomfortable.

To summarize further events that happened during my stay: sheets were never changed and cleaned (even after asking front desk) and a very important message left for me at the front desk was never delivered to me until Pierre had seen the note on his shift and brought it to my attention 2 days after front desk had received it.

Only reason why I didn't give this hotel a terrible rating is because of the location and the air conditioning finally worked for the last 2 nights.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMTO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
hamrun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

When booking our holiday we always use trip advisor and this hotel had good reviews ,we booked a sea view room and it was a double bedroom .was perfect for sitting on the balcony and watching the sun set while drinking a glass of wine .the room was confy and large it s great.cafe cuba make the best coffee and it s 1.60 in the mornings it s buy one get one free from 8.00 to 10.30. the other surrounding restaurant are lovely as well . bus stop out side and every thing is perfect and handy .all staff great.. ruth daily cleaning service and rita the housekeeper is really smart . thank you pierre the manager your great . the reataurant served good breakfast and had a lovely view.We will return to this hotel again for sure . Thanks for all .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing