We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is great, but everything about this hotel is simple. If all you're looking for is a bed, bathroom, and three channels, then you won't be disappointed...however, if you want any extras you'll be let down. The toilets are hard to flush, their was a detachable shower head, but its wall mount was broken. The heater works, but is kind of loud. However, the staff at the front desk was EXCELLENT! The easiest description is simple

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    383
    229
    87
    71
See reviews for
125
473
90
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was OK for the money - decent furnishings, adequate breakfast in nice rooftop setting, daily maid service, great location overlooking Sliema Harbour - but was totally ruined by the building works next door. We just stayed here for a week, and were woken up before 8am every morning by a pneumatic drill that vibrated everything in the room. We had no chance to laze around in the hotel as a result, and that meant that our holiday was nowhere near as relaxing as it could have been - we had no option but to stay out all day, even in the inclement weather. It got to the point where we even considered paying again to stay in another hotel.

If you book this place, do not go before the summer, and if you do, ensure that the building works are finished - otherwise your holiday will be ruined.

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the other side of the hotel from the building work don't escape the noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoePaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice hotel in a very good location,The best of this hotel are the front desk people very helpful and polite,pierre the hotel manager helped us with bus routes and information.well worth the money!! Bus stop and ferry to valletta just across the street . The minus is the noise from out side works

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I got an internal room on "the shaft" and the shaft is what I got. The dingly,dank room smelled bad, the toilet was very hard to flush, the heater didn't work and worse there was mildew/mold, lots of it, growing on the large panel at the head of the bed. And people (chamber maids hopefully) kept opening the door repeatedly, starting at about 9am (no "do not disturb sign" to hang). Jackhammers starting first thing in the morning (although this is not the hotels fault - major construction going on outside). I am a budget traveler and not a complainer but I have to say I wasn't happy with my stay there. It is a shame because the location is excellent, the price was great and the front desk staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The better rating seem to come from those with the sea view rooms. I got an internal room on what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

we booked a week at this hotel despite reading some bad reports on it, I should have taken notice of the reports, the room was dirty the bathroom was dirty and worst of all when I leaned on the balcony rail it was loose and moved about 6 inches outwards, the lifts in this place are tiny and don't work all of the time, the shower tray was held together with silicone, the shower head was black with dirt, it was so bad that we moved to another rhotel and paid again.

Room Tip: choose another rhotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graham y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 weeks to escape January blues and certainly achieved that. As previous reviewers have described this is a very clean 3* Hotel. We asked for superior seaview room and was given one of Floor 7. Amazing view and balcony with two chairs and table made for some lovely relaxing days watching the world go by in sun. Having tea/coffee/fridge facilities great as could stock up on any extras! We booked as room only so we could choose whether or when to use hotel breakfast -and we found Cafe Cuba just block away did excellent Breakfast Bagel with coffee for 2.50euro. Overlooking the marina with its excellent promenade (recently repaved) was great for morning run/walk. You must use the buses or local ferry as although they are the new bendy buses they run regularly and cheap.(Lost the character of the old Buses but more comfortable) Found all staff very accommodating. Cleaning of room with regular changing of sheets/towels very good.
The only gripe we have is that we were not warned by Booking Agent or Hotel that they were relaying the roads - both opposite lanes and outside lanes so we had constant roadworks the whole 3 weeks. However once passed initial early 'awakening' time you realise you are overlooking a main road so people go to work. TAKE EARPLUGS. Also handy as some fellow guests let us know they were back from nightout.
Recommend you try 'Tony's Bar' for afternoon drinks and Georgios for evening meal - both excellent value. Also must visit Fort Retina if interested in the Island history to see the restoration and 100-ton gun in this fort. Great demonstrations held twice weekly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I booked this hotel on the net for a weeks escape from the cold in the UK. Check in was flawless, room was a sea view on the fourth floor, breakfast has been everything i expected, even a personable attempt at a English breakfast. Room cleaning has been very good, all in all an excellent choice for the price. The location is perfect to explore Malta, make sure you buy the 12 Euro bus pass to see everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view which means the sliema creek harbour with a great view over to Valletta
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripperNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sliema Hotel
Sliema Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing