We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star hotel with great views across to Valetta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sliema Marina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good 3 star hotel with great views across to Valetta”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let's be clear: this is a 3 star hotel so if you're looking for something a bit more upmarket, then you need to look elsewhere - maybe at the Fortina up the road. We paid a bit extra for a sea view and specified that we wanted two single beds and either the 5th or 6th floor. Our room was 506 and met all our expectations. Facilities were adequate and it was nice to have a kettle with tea and coffee supplied. The bathroom certainly needed updating but it was OK. The cleaners were delightful and friendly and changed the towels and sheets every day (though one towel had a hole in it!) We always take earplugs and certainly used them here due to road noise and some work re-laying pavements. It also helps drown out snoring husband.

Several other contributors have grumbled about the breakfast buffet and I agree it would get monotonous if you stayed longer than a week. However, on some days there was a choice of bacon and baked beans which was a welcome change from the usual ham and cheese. Even that was OK once I figured that the so-called toaster was actually a grilled sandwich maker, so hey cheese and ham toastie for breakfast - fine! The location is just perfect. You can get the open top tourist buses as well as the local buses and the ferry to Valetta just across the road. Nice choice of restaurants within easy walking distance and worth exploring to find the Salusbury Arms pub. Great holiday and I recommend the Marina if you can put up with the lack of 5 star glitz.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview and floor 5 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    396
    243
    90
    75
See reviews for
130
497
94
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

With the exception of a carpeted rather than wooden floor (not that I actually cared) this hotel was an unusually close match to the marketing hype. Everything was fairly new (it's recently been refitted apparently), everything seemed to work (though you have to either ask or guess how to program the room safe!) and there were a few pleasant surprises for a budget hotel. A large, modern bathroom which had a shower over a bath, plentiful mains sockets, windows providing natural light despite it being a cheaper 'internal' room, a good supply of clothes hangers and ample storage space. Free wifi was very welcome and didn't require any special codes/keys to access.

The wall-mounted air conditioning unit looked ancient but worked. The TV was a modern, flat-screen 32 inch LCD in perfect working order though with only a few channels...BBC World News, Fox Movies and a couple of non-English speaking channels.

Remember...this is a budget hotel. So whilst cleanliness is to be expected regardless, don't expect hardwood furniture, beautiful decor and luxury bathroom fittings. In terms of room quality, I got a little better than I expected.

Now for the gripes...
Having spent all day travelling and wanting a really good night's sleep before my first full day in Malta, a wake-up call I didn't ask for at 4.30am of day 1 was not very welcome! Neither was the inclination of other guests to slam doors at all hours. Not the hotel's fault but why are some people so incredibly selfish? Then there was the building site immediately behind the hotel. OK, so the pneumatic drilling that sounded like it was next door didn't start (almost every day!) until 7.30am...and sure, life goes on! But I've saved all year for my holiday and worked very hard to earn it. It would have been courteous of the hotel or booking agent to have mentioned that lie-ins would be out of the question! In any case, I had to wear wax earplugs every night and ended up with a very painful ear infection. I know it's just bad luck but it still tainted my holiday regardless of if or where blame lies!

On balance, I would recommend this hotel. The wake-up call was a one-off and the building works nearby aren't forever and it's hard to know how anyone can resolve that.

I would happily book the same hotel again in future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank umbugnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is a 9 floor building facing Sliema waterfront, in a row with several restaurants, Burger King and a church. The hotel's own restaurant 'Oggi' is one of these. Outdoor restaurant seating hides the entrance from the roadway. We booked seven nights on a Bed & Breakfast basis through 'Expedia' and the surly female at Reception questioned us if we 'really wanted the standard double room' as booked. At that time we could see no reason why not, but on arrival at room #510 we immediately knew the reason for this question. It was a very small drab room with no natural light, containing a double bed, wall-mounted TV and very little else. The small window faced into an enclosed space containing drainpipes. After re-visiting Reception we were allocated a 3-bedded room #201 which did at least have daylight, although the view was only of overlooking terraces and buildings to the rear. This room was clean and adequate, although less than our expectation for the grade of hotel. A considerable accumulation of cigarette butts and other debris was evident on the flat roof and awning below the window. This room was provided with air-conditioner/heater, a small safe, TV, one chair and one small table. No information was provided about the hotel, local amenities or how to operate the safe and TV (In fact, there were 3 channels available on the TV one of which was in English). Apart from the Reception area, the hotel lacked basic features such as a lounge or other public areas. The breakfast room was on floor 8 and although adequate, was lacking in variety. Not every resident had breakfast included in their rate, so they were checked on arrival. (Breakfast vouchers could be purchased at Reception) Two very slow lifts (one was very small and only held two people at a time) served floors 1 to 8. On floor 9, above the breakfast room, there was a small sun terrace and a hot-tub. Apart from the noted lady on arrival, the staff were generally pleasant and obliging. Several minor problems were cheerfully resolved. Had it not been 'non-refundable' we would certainly have considered trying other accommodation nearby. The location is very convenient for local amenities, transport and sightseeing opportunities, but DO NOT BRING YOUR CAR (parking would be very fraught!)

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

When booking our holidays we always use Trip Advisor and this hotel had good reviews when we booked. The latest reviews made us wonder if we had made the right choice but we had.

We paid for a sea view and got a sea view. It's perfect for sitting on and watching the sun set while drinking €2.40 bottles of wine from the 7/11! The room is comfy and large but only has twin beds and not a double. No big deal, we just pushed them together! Yes the road is a little noisy as the door isn't the best fit but hey, it's a great room so you can make exceptions!

Cafe Cuba do the best coffee and it's from €1.60, in the mornings it's buy one get one free from 8-10.30am. The other surrounding restaurants are lovely as well, they do all tend to do pizza and pasta though with a few other choices!

Haven't had many dealings with the staff but they all seem friendly. Had to ask how to use the safe due to lack of instructions!

Bus stops outside and everything handy, perfect. Shame it kept deciding to rain!

Would definitely be back, oh yeah, they have free wifi, what more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharpypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Marina Hotel for 10 days. After reading some of these reviews it was a bit of a gamble, but the gamble paid off. We booked a room with a sea view and rather than take the chance of finding out if we had a sea view room my wife emailed for confirmation before we got there. For those who complained about not having the right room, this is a simple procedure and not difficult in this day and age.

Yes the sea view rooms can be noisy, but what do you expect when they face a busy main road. You trade off the noise from the busy road for one of the best views in Malta, looking over the harbour towards Valletta and Manoel Island. The location of the hotel is also fantastic for getting round the island. Don't bother hiring a car, you won't find anywhere to park near the hotel, but a 7 day bus ticket is only €12 and the bus stop is right outside the hotel. Most of the buses go to Valletta and from there you can get a bus anywhere!

The breakfast at the Marina was a typical continental style with plenty of choice. The restaurants on the main road near the hotel are OK, but you'll find the best ones are on the back streets. L'Artist is definitely worth a visit and not far from the Marina Hotel. For good food and amazing cakes a visit to Caffe Cordina in Valletta is a must.

I would stay at the Marina Hotel again. The staff were very pleasant and also very helpful. I've only given the Marina Hotel 4 stars because the recent refurbishments could have been better and the air conditioning was very poor. The marina doesn't claim to be a 5 star hotel and you don't pay 5 star prices, so I wonder what people expect and why they moan so much about it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr-Mrs-Jolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had prebooked a Seaview room at he Marina hotel but on arrival were told we would have to stay at another hotel as they couldn't accommodate us. After a half hour of unpleasant conversation they agreed to give us a room. It was at the back of the hotel. The woman on reception was most unfriendly and unpleasant.

The following morning we spoke with the manager who was far more helpful and he did organise for us to have a Seaview room for 2 of our 4 night stay. The air conditioning only works part of the to e and we were told they switch it on for 2 hours and off for 2 hours. Given the heat and humidity this is not great at all.

The Seaview room was fine, except for the air conditioning problem. The restaurants in the area are great and the hotel cation is perfect.

A tour booking agent nearby is excellent and he even told us what areas to skip on the hop on hop off bus stops. He was honest in his suggestions and we highly recommend him to all. The shop is called High Street Tourist Services and he's next to the HSBC in Sliema. The phone number is 7765 3405

Room Tip: Be sure to book a Seaview room. We had room 408 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmcmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We originally booked an apartment in Sliema and ithe place was a filt. We decided to shoparound for alternative acomadoation and stumble on to the Sliema Marina Hotel. We met a very nice gentleman at the Front Desk but the name of Zef and he was most charming and to say the least a mind of information. He helped us with all our enquireis and directed us to the best places for our needs. We stayed there only for 2 days as we later found another apartment to stay in, as we are in Malta for a month. he is a super busy person but always manages to smile and find time for everyone. This was the best experience we have had after such a disapointing start. We highly recommend the hotel and the services offered and most of all the friendly services of Zef.

Room Tip: Well done to the Sliema Marina Hotel Manager Zef and his team
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRGS190327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sliema Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sliema Marina Hotel

Property: Sliema Marina Hotel
Address: | Tigne Sea Front, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sliema Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sliema Marina Hotel has just been refurbished into a modern trendy three star hotel set in the heart of Sliema centre with Cafes, shops and restaurants at its doorstep. The hotel is situated on the seafront just across Sliema Bus Terminus, the ferry port to Valletta and Malta Sight Seeing Hop on Hop off spot. Sliema Marina Hotel has outstanding views of the Valletta across the Marina and the Grand Harbour. On the front porch is our very own 'Oggi Cafe and Restaurant' serving delicious pastries and food. All guest rooms have been refitted with a modern fresh design and are luxuriously equipped with air conditioning, free WIFI, LED TV, fine fabric black-out curtains, orthopaedic mattresses, wooden parquet flooring, and quality furnishing and furniture throughout: truly exceptional. The superior rooms are equipped with a sofa divan, coffee table, tea coffee making facilities, fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sliema Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Sliema
Sliema Marina Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing