We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

we stayed on second floor on regency side..our room had not been renovated. room was clean and adequate for our stay. sea view from balcony was lovely...if your looking for a quiet modern hotel this is not for you.all in all enjoyed my stay breakfast was good, beds comfy and room clean just what i would expect for the money we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainerobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    437
    366
    172
    119
See reviews for
184
651
115
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hexham
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just came back after a weeks stay we were put into a sea view room in the Regency side on floor 3 the room was so bad noise from the pizza restaurant just below the room , the builders were in the hotel from 7 00 am , it was dirty, A very tired old room . We insisted on a change of room ,.We were put on floor 5 in a refurbished room, to be fair it was a lovely To get to the reception there are 2 flights of stairs you have to carry your cases up with no help from hotel The food was poor, very bland and little choice .some of the staff were nice but mostly unhelpful . Would we go to Malta again, Yes ,would we go to Sliema , Yes ,would we stay at the Plaza Regency a very big NO.
If you like noise this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Go to the Plaza Regency side of the hotel in the new rooms floor 5 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nunwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Quesada, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in a superior sea view room with balcony. Very recently refurbished room in the plaza regency side of the hotel. Not enough shelves in bathroom for toiletries, but overall a nice room.
We realise that hotels require refurbishment outwith the main tourist season, but for the invalided or partially blind it would have been a possible "death trap" walking across the 6th. floor bridge to the restaurant, certainly some long "cable runs" along the floor.
We were woken at 0650 hrs. one morning with drilling noise, but it did mean we did a fair amount that day, Hi!
Dependent on the time you took breakfast as to what your impressions would be (get in early for a peaceful breakfast). Overall the breakfast supplied by the hotel for price was good.
You always have "room complainers" at a hotel, of these we heard many. We did have a brief look in one of the standard rooms, & it would have been too small for us.
Reception was always very helpful & efficient. When the wardrobe doors came off their tracks the maintenance guys fixed them within thirty minutes. It was as if they had carried out much practice?
For the price I would say the stay was of average value. Would we stay at this particular hotel in Sliema again? It would have to be a really good deal for a superior room.

Room Tip: After hearing all the complaints about rooms, go for a superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philcrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just came back from a 1 week stay in Malta. The hotels location is fantastic. Bus stop outside the hotel. The food is ok. Breakfast is buffet style consisting of cereals, cold meats and cheese, toast, bread and hot bacon eggs, sausages, beans and fried bread. Same everyday. Dinner is varied, meat, fish and pasta. Rooms are ok. It is worth paying a little extra for a balcony as some rooms can be a little gloomy. Staff are helpful. Rooms are cleaned everyday, towels are changed everyday. Excellent hotel will definitely book again for this hotel. Every weekend locals use the hotel so the pools do get a little crowded and so does the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just back from two weeks in the Plaza - clean, comfortable, central location, pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely go back. I have heard some guests complain their rooms weren't the best but we had a lovely room with balcony looking over the sea. Food was abundant - rooms were well serviced - no complaints.

Room Tip: Heard a couple of complaints from single travellers who had been given rooms with no window. Malta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I would rate this hotel as a 2 1/2 star. Although it has recently been remodelled the room 219 was basic sea view with twin beds, the wardrobe doors were off the tracks which I managed to fix. The bathroom has no shelf space to put toiletries and the shower leaked water onto the floor. Although beds were quite comfortable the noise from traffic was noticable throughout the night.
The buffet dinner and breakfast was basic and could have had more choice of items.
My wife and I stayed threre for one night on a deal. 40.00 euros for room on half board basis.
The drinks in the Terrace bar were very reasonable and not as much as usual hotel prices in the area.
The hotel seems to be popular choice for British tourists.
We found our deal on this website:
http://dealtoday.com.mt/

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valetta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I left the Regency Plaza Hotel (right hand side hotel) on Monday last week (10th) very disappointed! There are two sides to this hotel with an adjoining bridge on the 6th floor, we stayed in tiny rooms 122, 123 & 124 and they were awful. The rooms seemed to have been left for 20years, light bulbs not working, toilet rolls not replaced, window latch awkward, one plug in the room, writing rubbed off the bed head switch control, one of which was the power 'on' for the old style full size 14" portable TV. They have the smallest pool I have ever seen, and you have to go through a rabbit warren just to find it in the BASEMENT of the other hotel - remember the bridge is on the 6th floor.
Food was ok although 1/2 board was suppose to give us a drink which we was told no it did not?
Building works are active so to be fair to them they are renovating the whole hotel and many room are complete. We saw a glimpse of these new rooms and they would be what you would expect - The normal.
Constructive recommendations;
It does not cost much to give a better a appearance or welcome upon arrival to your room:
Fix the bulbs, put a pen & writing pad in, put some tourist information in, get some nicer toiletries, put a flower in, put a chocolate on the pillow, put a menu in, fix the window latch, put a hook on the door for your coat.....
I would simply not stay here!
Regards
John

Room Tip: Book the hotel on the left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1974London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sliema hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sliema hotels
0.5 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel Malta
Diplomat Hotel Malta
#12 of 28 in Sliema
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#13 of 28 in Sliema
567 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 28 in Sliema
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels

Property: The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
Address: 248 Tower Rd, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 1600, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotel Sliema
The Plaza And Plaza Regency Hotels
Regency Hotel Sliema
Regency Hotel Plaza
Plaza Regency Malta
Plaza Hotel Malta
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing