We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Malta”
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Sliema
Skegness
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Malta”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

What a great hotel in a fantastic location - "Dine around" in the themed restaurants, with so many different worldwide menus, is worth the holiday price in itself, and the standard of food more than matched anything we had on our 30 plus cruises. Be warned if you go "All inclusive" and lunch in them as well for 3 weeks, as we did, you could be overweight on the plane home!

The staff were very friendly, helpful, and professional, and our room was large, clean, and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel.

We especially enjoyed our time in the various splendid Spa facilities and keep fit areas, which more than equal the leading and generally very expensive Spas in the UK. For a winter holiday they are a bonus. My wife even enjoyed fish nibbling her feet, I enjoyed relaxing massages, and we both especially enjoyed the relaxation rooms. Truly "5 star"

If someone doesn't like this hotel, there is no pleasing them, or they have a vested interest.

Would we go back? - you bet your life - we've booked already..Richard and Dot Skegness

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poacher16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear poacher16,

We would like to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Wishing you and your family a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,

Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    400
    251
    118
    93
See reviews for
149
746
79
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2010

my husband and i have a 3 week timeshare in the fortina spa resort and have been coming here now for 4 years unfortunately this year was a terrible disappointment for both of us!!! to start with we were confused that families with young children were staying in the 5 star hotel as this hotel is advertised as an adult spa resort not very relaxing while sunbathing to be splashed upon by children diving into the water under the noses of staff and management who totaly ignored the situation and then to realise that guests from the 4 star were allowed to avail of the private swimming pool and pool area that was up until this year reserved for 5 star guests only this was also ignored by staff and management because of where the restaurants are situated around the pool is was most discerning to have children splashing about in the water whilst trying to have your meal.i would also like to mention the fact that this year the lido at the front of the hotel was opened to the public which left very little space for the sunbeds if you were lucky to get one especially at the weekends also food was now being sold at the bar which left even less room for the guests who had paid their money to stay at a 5 star hotel only to discover that they had to share the ammenities with the locals having discussed this with staff and other timeshare holders it has given a lot of people food for thought as to what qualifies a hotel of this standard to advertise the fortina spa resort as an adult only 5 star hotel when clearly it isnt

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charly9592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear charly9592,

We would like to thank you for posting your review. We are disappointed to learn that we did not manage to deliver our five star service. Please rest assured that all comments have been well noted.

Please be advised that the Fortina Spa Resort is an adults only Resort with the exception of July, August, Christmas period and Easter week. We would also like to bring to your attention the fact that the Lido on the front overlooking Valletta, is part of the four star Hotel Fortina and not part of the five star Fortina Spa Resort.

Kind regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Good points, we stayed b & b basis, sea view location for this hotel is fantastic, house maids fantastic and friendly, guy on front dest was great and friendly . Waiters at breakfast were helpful and friendly. The beds were fantastic and queen size. Jaccuzi in bedroom was great. Great location to catch buses and for local shops, Bad points, location of breakfast serving and tables wasnt good. Foodgood variety of foods, cold buffet and cooked english breakfast, unfortuantly possibly due to refurb, things werent always as they should be, fresh milk was sour on several occassions, plate warmers and bay maries were cold so food was going cold very quick, before eating. over several days items on the cooked breakfast menu wasnt safe to eat!!. along with other items seen at the breakfast bar. look and smell before you eat !!! if in doubt eat out!!. Our balcony rail was loose and risk of falling 7 floors wasnt on my things to do list in malta. heating in room didnt work at all, neither did tv. on a windy night the wind howled through the door. the shower leeked water on to the floor. a non sea view does over look the sea at the back which is great, but to the left and right its tower blocks.

for a four and five star hotel i dont think i would come again to it. come to malta any time not to the hotel, it shouldnt be four and five star rating.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I have stayed in the Fortina twice in the last five years . As someone who was only looking for a few days away from the January frost & snow of home I found Malta excellent --10 to 12 degrees warmer. The hotel itself I found to be good value mostly, some rooms & furnishings maybe a little tired but then some folk are hard to please. On my first visit I did the usual things,Grand Harbour cruise,- bus tour round the island so now I spend my week in the hotel. I found the Spa Sante to be excellent ,some people (mostly the Saga mob) complain that treatments are too expensive but it's obvious they haven't been to many spas in the UK. One little gripe I would have with the hotel is as follows. Each day at certain times the spa area is Clothes Optional ,there are times set out in some of the hotel literature but there is (was) no mention of it at the entrance to the spa. This results in some old dear suddenly being confronted by a person wrapped in a towel or even worse (horror of horrors) catching a glimpse of them stepping into the shower or the jacuzzi. I have seen these confrontations developing into slanging matches which becomes embarrassing for other guests sitting around minding their own business. I think the hotel should step in here and put up notices showing the times when Clothing Optional applies and when it does not. All the strange people who want to sit in saunas ,steam rooms, jacuzzis etc wearing bathing costumes can do so to their hearts content . The rest of us normal people can then enjoy the spa as it's meant to be enjoyed. Maybe the hotel has addressed this small problem, it's a couple of years since I have been in Malta and things may have changed but it seems to be a problem particularly for English guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltaphile_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Dear Maltaphile_10,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. Please be advised that it Spa Sante rules were changed a while back. Bathing wear must be worn at all times when making use of the Spa Sante.

Best wishes,

Fortina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The cherry on top of our romantic relaxation sundae!

We were looking to get away to Malta, and decided to repeat an extra bit of luxury, investing in a long weekend at the well-being at Fortina Spa Resort. The lavish spa rooms, with their private jacuzzis, saunas, health/beauty treatments, massage baths and private terraces, take the idea of 'pampering and relaxation' to an other level. The hotel offers everything from pools, bars, 5-star restaurants, spas (as far as I am concerned the best of the island), salons and pretty much anything to cater to your needs and wants. The resort is also ideally located in Sliema, and offers a superb view of La Valleta. My partner and I have visited twice now, and definitely feel it's worth returning for a third. Perfect for couples looking for that extra romantic, extra special getaway treat. I guarantee one leaves Fortina sporting a new healthy and happy glow.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear miriam86,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us at the Fortina Spa Resort. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future!

Kind regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

This hotel is not a five star and BELIEVE every bad review you read on this hotel!!!!! If you wish to visit Malta and want a few spa treatments (and the spa is not what its cracked up to believe) then stay at the four star hotel because the only difference with the five star is the rooms are slightly bigger.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Dear tmai,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this website. We are disappointed to learn that we did not manage to deliver our renowned five star service. However, we are unsure about what was unsatisfactory during your stay.

Our Spa is one of the best on the Island and offers a wide variety of specialised treatments. All treatments are carried out by highly trained, professional therapists.

Kindly note that there are many differences between the four star Hotel Fortina and the five star Fortina Spa Resort. These differences include different room types, Restaurants, Bars, swimming pools, and many more.

Kind regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This was our 11th time here in 3 years. Great food, super spa bedroom, lovely staff as usual. Thanks to Carol, Danny, Vikas, Charmaine in the restaurants who were as attentive as ever (Rita was on holiday and we missed her). Thanks to Owen and Keith in Limes Bar for all the good craic in the evenings ! We'll be back again in a few weeks !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear Charlie911,

Thank you for posting your review on this website. We are delighted to read such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoy staying at the Fortina Spa Resort and that you are so familiar with our wonderful staff.

You review has been passed onto the management. You'll be happy to know that Rita has returned! We look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks!

Best regards,

Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#5 of 15 in Valletta
3,906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#7 of 28 in Sliema
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Sliema
1,941 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#3 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing