We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortina Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fortina Spa Resort
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sliema
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Happy Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have recently returned from a week in Malta staying at the Hotel Fortina.
The hotel, staff, food and facilities all very good. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of going to Malta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Pat C,

Thank you for your posting. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    379
    235
    108
    85
See reviews for
142
706
76
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent value hotel, superb views, excellent food, my 3rd visit will be back. Ideal situation for travelling around buses to almost every part of the Island. Pleasant walks along sea front in both directions.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise when on balcony okay when doors closed, I wil try for a higher floor next time 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear brenda c,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the Island. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

A wonderful hotel, where the staff make you feel special. Efficient, helpful, good value. A first class location tops it off nicely. Regular buses just outside, a shopping centre right next food (The Point). Try the ferry rather than always use a bus to Valleta; it's close by and there is a shuttle bus waiting at the other side (1 Euro) to take you to the city centre. If you are here for a week, it's worth buying a weekly bus ticket for only 12 Euro. Brilliant value - and the new buses are quite good. Bus routes are plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Phil K,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked Hotel Fortina but got upgrade to Fortina Spa Resort for some reason. Maybe because this 5* SPA hotel was almoust empty in February. Me and friend of mine did not complain at all of course. We got great service, breakfast, room with the old town view for very little. Whooo!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Geelongman,

Thank you for your posting. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your complimentary upgrade. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent hotel. First class facilities. Staff professional, welcoming and always anxious to help. The food in the restaurants is excellent and again the staff in the restaurants provide the highest standards.. Our fourth visit and it certainly will not be the last.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Lindsey K,

Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have reviewed the Fortina Spa Resort two years ago (we keep going back), but in truth this was the four star I reviewed. This year, for the second time, we stayed at the Five Star over the new year period. It costs about double the price of the cheap week in January in the neighbour hotel, but the older Fortina four star does not seem to do all inclusive any more, and for us this was the big deal. So the deal we booked was five star all inclusive which includes access to all available restaurants for full board, a-la-carte (but limited by the number of courses and a couple of exotic things like lobster), all drinks (including limited access to the minibar in room, and access to the spa.
Whilst not wishing to criticise the operation and institution, because it still represents a good place to stay at a fair price, since our last visit, a year ago, things have slipped, and this is part of a gradual process we have seen over the years. Like another contributor, whilst we had been 'upgraded' at the point of booking to a sea view room, we were told on arrival that we had been upgraded ever further to a 'wellness room' with its own Jacuzzi which we would be shown how to use. When we opened the door, this turned out not be true, and the added bonus was a powerplate machine which we never had any interest in. I immediately went to find out from the reception, and was informed that it must have been some other room that had the Jacuzzi, but it it was not in our room, then that was the end of the matter. Throughout the stay, whilst never unpleasant, we found that the staff on the reception were ill informed about the hotel and its surroundings, and preferred to give a wrong answer rather than say they did not know. They also seem to spend a lot of time on the telephone, and it is difficult to carry out any interaction with them in a business like fashion. Restaurants in the evening have to been booked, and the software system that they use is antiquated and slow, and does nothing to inspire confidence
The room we had was otherwise excellent, large, a superb over-the-waterfront view with a big bed (with health bestowing magnets in the covers), and fine bathroom. There are plenty of electrical sockets in the room with UK style fittings, and we also found there was free wifi in the room even it was a little sluggish.
There is one bar that serves a variety of drink but bar food is not part of the package. I would have thought for a five star hotel, there should be more than one bar. There is an outdoor bar, but that does not operate in the winter. Bar staff were friendly and fairly efficient.
The big deal is the restaurants, because they have some of the best places on the Island. Their taste restaurant would do well in any big city. One can choose from Taste (Vietnamese? and Continental), Can Thai (Chinese and Thai), Hibiki (japanese), an Italian, an Indian, and a new Italian called MoMo's. This used to be one of the best, but has lost its edge with a limited unchanging menu. I have also previously mentioned the Pizza restaurant which I do not like.
The restaurants now seem keen to take internal and external paying customers, and certainly in the Indian (which probably has the shortest menu of any Indian restaurant I have been to ever), once they knew we were pre-payed all-inclusive, we definitely got the feeling that we were being treated as second rate customers with less choice and so on. In the year since we have been the Indian restaurant has stopped serving poppadoms, pickle and dhal as part of the meal, and these are now all extra. We might have been entitled to them but no help was given. We were also given a non-negotiable late slot and 2100, and when we arrived the place was pretty empty. Some friends of ours who had eat there also, earlier in the evening as paying customers told us that the place was also empty for most of their meal. If you are a paying guest in the restaurants they are pretty expensive, and a main course costs between 15-20 Euros, so that could mount up over a week. Breakfast is a self service buffet, but I know for a fact that it is identical to that served in the four star, the only difference being that beverages are served. The quality of breakfast food is fair. The cooks on the omelette bar are clearly in training, and one had to break off from carrot peeling duties to overcook my omelette.
There are several mainstream five star hotels on the Island such as Intercontinental, Corinthian, Meridien, and by my experience of five star hotels, this is a four rather than a five.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as views on lower floors are obstructed by other buildings and construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank mgoldman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear mgoldman666,

Thank you for your posting. We are pleased to read about the positive feedback and disappointed to hear about some negative comments in your review. Please be assured that your comments have been well noted and passed onto all those concerned for immediate action.

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This may be a little prejudiced as I received an upgrade, but the WOW factor was incredible. The staff was excellent, friendly, and helpful, location was good and my first impression was - pretty nice for the money. That was before I saw the room. Then, when I went into the room OMG, it does not get any better! Huge room, bathroom with a Jacuzzi bathtub, steam bath, one of those aqua thingies that you enclose your body in, then the hot tub in the bedroom. Pretty nice, but it got even better. Went out to the patio, nice view overlooking the pool, but what was that spiral staircase going up in the corner of the balcony. So I go up the stairs, and there is my PRIVATE pool, with a garden area, beautiful flowers, table & chairs, grill, shower, and my PRIVATE POOL I guess I had the Therapeutic Spa Room With Private Pool. All for $75/night!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colo_Spgs_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Fortina Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the complimentary upgrade given. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Wishing you a very Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

Best wishes,
Fortina Spa Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.5 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 13 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortina Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortina Spa Resort

Property: Fortina Spa Resort
Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sliema
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sliema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fortina Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in central Sliema, adjoining Malta’s trendiest shopping complex (The Point) offering the largest choice of fashion & designer outlets, the Fortina Spa Resort is Malta’s newest 17 storey 5 star hotel. The resort faces south with magnificent views of Valletta’s bastion walls across the water and is home to the World’s 1st Therapeutic Spa bedrooms. It is the ideal hotel to indulge in a numerous variety of Spa treatments, excellent cuisines from around the world and one of the best locations on the island. Restaurants :- Taste Restaurant (Vietnamese & Mediterranean Cuisine)CanThai (Chinese & Thai Cuisine)Momo’s Ristorante Tigne (Italian & Mediterranean Cuisine)Il Giardino PizzeriaSaReGaMa (Authentic Indian Cuisine)Moroboshi (Japanese Cuisine)Bars Limes Bar (indoor)Island Bar (outdoors – weather permitting)Swimming Pools :-Outdoor Garden Pool and separate Splash Pool2 Indoor Swimming PoolsSpa Centres(see descriptions below)Thalasso Spa MediterraneeSpa Sante Belle Epoque Beauty CentreHypogeum Body, Mind & Spirit CentreOther facilities Conference facilities Fully Equipped Fitness Centre 24 hour room serviceAdded Value For All Our Guests :-Cruise of Malta’s Historical Grand HarbourUnlimited access to Fortina Fitness Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fortina Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Fortina Hotel Malta
Fortina Resort
Hotel Fortina
Fortina Spa Resort Malta/Sliema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing